We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night out in Manchester staying in a great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Night out in Manchester staying in a great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

One night at the Radisson Blue Manchester is not enough but that’s all we had so we made the most of it. The exterior of the Hotel is very impressive and as we walked inside we were weren’t disappointed, front of house staff were courteous and helpful getting our room sorted in no time unfortunately the room we were given was near the elevators and opposite the entrance to that floor but no problem after asking we were given a room on a higher floor at the end of the corridor wonderful.

Our room was not massive but was light having large windows and very modern, clean with everything we needed for our stay the design utilized every inch of space to the maximum but was pleasing on the eye. The bathroom was like a wet room but had a bath walk-in shower and Toilet which was again designed very well.

As we checked in at 3.00pm we headed straight out into the City which was all walk able and easy to find returning later to change for a night out and meal, there are some great bars and restaurants in Manchester and we visited a few of them before returning to the Hotel where we had a nice drink in the Hotel Bar. The bed was very comfortable with luxury linen and we slept very well as the Hotel was quiet.

Next morning we were up in good time and used the pool, sauna and hot tub really relaxing and a bonus in a city centre hotel our deal did not include breakfast but I had a peak in the Restaurant and it all looked very nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor away from entrance to lifts if possible but not vital as noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Free Trade Hall, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,321
    1,271
    477
    227
    175
See reviews for
595
2,528
237
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my boyfriend after booking on hotels.com. We paid £100 a night and for this I would expect an excellent stay.

The hotel itself was beautiful, however the service really let it down. After stumbling in with all our bags, the doorman who can only be described as vacant barely gave us a second glance despite us struggling to open the door. We weren't even offered for our bags to be taken which is very disappointing.

We then stumbled to the lift and up to our room on the 9th floor, however after standing in the lift for five minutes and wondering why we weren't moving, the receptionist failed to mention you had to insert the key card to activate!

On arrival the room was beautiful but with a very ugly view. After specifically booking a double room we were greeted by two single beds! For £100 a night I expect to get the room I asked for.

Like previously stated, I feel the more vocal and boisterous of customers would benefit, being polite gets you nowhere at this hotel!

Good location, parking is a hassle and very pricey. 5 star hotel? Barely 3 star service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review following your time with us - I am sorry to hear that the reception team were not as fully attentive as they usually are during your arrival. I will look into this immediately and offer my most sincere apologies. As the leading hotel in the North West we pride ourselves on both our product and service so I can ensure measures are being taken to act on your comments. Booking via 3rd party agents is popular with all of our guests but unfortunately special requests via such parties cannot be guaranteed - the only site to guarantee room types is our own. Please remember that all Radisson hotels have a price match guarantee so if you see a rate anywhere else we will happily match the rate by booking direct and copy the terms and conditions that are offered via other sites ( as long as we can see them online at the time of booking ) . We hope that you will return to us soon dispite your inconvenience this time.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Deluxe city view room was fantastic, with all the luxury extras expected from a 5 star hotel. Very clean, spacious with quality fittings and a huge, soft bed. Although the hotel was busy, staff were very attentive, David on reception was particularly helpful. We enjoyed excellent service in the hotel's Steak and Lobster Restaurant and the hotel is perfectly situated to explore Manchester. Breakfast was great with really fresh, quality food. Can't wait to stay again.
Victoria S

Room Tip: City View Rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your luxury break. Thank you for your compliments on our service and food offerings, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a very good stay at the Radisson Blu Edwardian. The suites are spacious and comfortable, shame they don't have a better view! We had an issue with check in which could have been dealt with slightly better, however a manager did offer us some complimentary goodies which were appreciated. The hotel does have a nice feel to it, had it not been so close to home we would certainly have felt like we were on holiday.

Room Tip: The suites were smart and spacious although had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear NinaTom
Thank you for this review of your stay. I am pleased we were able to offer a little bit of luxury and hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed here a few times before and loved it and this visit didn't dissapoint!!

The staff were friendly and professional and the public areas of the hotel were immaculate.

Our room had a fantastic view of Manchester with the town hall clock in view. The room was lovely... very clean, well prepared and a cosy environment. The electric blackout blind was a great idea but it needs two panels of material at either side to block out the light because alot of light got in at the sides which is a shame cos it was great otherwise. Love the bathroom, lovely decor and nice toiletries available for use. Comfy bed, pillows not perfect would prefer a pillow menu as some hotels offer. Air conditioning worked well. Tea & coffee making facilities nice however would like a hot chocolate and biscuits as most hotels provide. We had a mishap with the ironing board which collapsed as the foot had rusted off but they replaced it straightway. As usual the minibar was extortionate so didn't buy anything (this doesn't make sense to me how expensive it is because i would use it alot if it wasn't a rip off but heyho, all hotels do it, i just think they are missing a trick)

The Opus bar was awesome!! It has always being my favourite bar in Manchester and it was fantastic once again. The staff are friendly and enthusiastic, happy to suggest drinks and put effort into the making of cocktails (i noticed they were checking the taste which was excellent, and it pays off because ye get a great cocktail every time). The young lad that served us both nights was really excellent!! I think the prices are quite reasonable in the bar considering it is a 5 star hotel despite one guest freaking out over the price of baileys... I have been in lesser hotels with higher prices... happy to pay their prices (plus it keeps the rowdy binge drinkers out)

All in all another excellent stay, Thankyou to all the staff :) I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Carrie M
Thank you for your compliments on our product and service and for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcomng you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having celabrated our daughter & son in laws wedding at this hotel, 02/08/2014 we felt we had to review this hotel, so we could share our experience.
The hotel is beautiful, ideally situated for shopping and surrounding restaurants. The rooms were immaculate and serviced by extremely helpful staff. The hotel itself as a wedding venue, deserves it's 5 star rating, from the venue to the food and again the staff who helped with the wedding a big THANK YOU. The reception staff on arrival (David), could not have helped us enough with not only our booking but other members of our family with their check in, this was all done extremely efficiently. Each member of the two families and guests have all said how much they enjoyed the wedding and complimented the helpful staff. We will certainly be returning to this hotel and can highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Al fresco rooms extremely comfortable/spacious with lovely bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Paula C
It was our pleasure to host the wedding, I am delighted that you all enjoyed the special day. Thank you for your kind compliments and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked two rooms with a view of the city (that's extra cost) and mentioned in the booking I need the rooms beside each other then when I came I was given two rooms but needed to wait for 45min. to get the rooms when I took the rooms and found out that the rooms don't have a city view, without any explanation!?! I wasn't informed nor was told by the front desk!!! so I talked to the reception and they told me that the only available rooms beside each other (no rooms looking at the city were available that are beside each other) I talked to the manager with no use at all, No apology, no compensation, no refund? I asked can we get other rooms at least for the next days ? and still the answer was NO so I don't think this is how a 5 star hotel should run (and I've been in many, and many other Radisson hotels as well) I'm so disappointed (and it was may 10 year marriage anniversary) the location is good the rooms are well designed and clean Free Wi-Fi but the staff are the downside

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EngAziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear EngAziz A
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the error with your room reservations. Thank you for speaking to our Front of House Manager following your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 117 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing