We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, maybe should be qualified as a 4 stars....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, maybe should be qualified as a 4 stars....”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stayed two nights at Radisson Edwardian from the 9th January till the 11th January with a friend. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team that was very helpful to suggest us what to do in Manchester and where to eat. Overall the hotel looks very nice and very clean. The breakfast restaurant is maybe to small and the choice from the buffet definitely not of a 5 stars hotel but of a 4 stars. Anyway food was very good. We had a room on the 8th Floor and we had an excellent view over Manchester Central railways station and the Hilton tower. The room was very clean and also the bathroom. Bathrooms have amenities of Gilchrist and Soames that were amazing. Mini bar had a great choice and prices are ok (a coke is GBP 1,50). Room are well sized with free coffee maker. On Sunday morning at 7am we have been waked up by the fire alarm and we had to evacuate the hotel. After a wait of 20 minutes in the cold morning of Manchester we were allowed to enter in the lobby and after a wait in the lobby we were allowed to go back in our rooms (with the stairs as the hotel staff was not able to stop the fire alarm meaning that the elevators stopped). Actually we had no information from the hotel if it was a false alarm or if there was a fire, only talking with the reception desk at check out we were informed that is was a false alarm. Overall a nice experience also taking into consideration the excellent location of the hotel (in the heart of Manchester).

  • Liked — Location - Lobby
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 27 January 2009
Dear Reviewer.
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review of your recent stay, and your subsequent kind comments. We are sorry that the hotel had to be evacuated on that Sunday morning it is unfortunate for you as this has never happened before in the five years the hotel has been open. However this procedures are there to protect the safety of our guests as set our by the local fire authority.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our award winning Hotel.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,321
    1,271
    477
    227
    175
See reviews for
595
2,528
237
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed for 3 nights 9-12 Jan at this hotel. Room was spacious and very clean with a comfy king size bed. TV set a bit small but OK. I liked the idea with wet and dry zone for the bathroom along with complimentary bathrobes. Used the gym on one occasion and it was well equipped and in good shape, both machines, treadmills and free weights. The breakfast included was OK, but the hot items were a bit tired, though the service by the staff could not be faulted. Concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking. The only thing that concerned me was when the fire alarm went off early one of the mornings. Being one of the first people down to the lobby since I was on a low floor the confusion among the staff on how to deal with this situation was apparent. On a direct question they could not direct me to an assembly spot, nor were any guest lists produced to tick people off. Fortunately this was a false alarm but next time maybe it won´t be and these issues need to be adressed.

  • Liked — The general fresh feel of he hotel
  • Disliked — The view from the room (lamp post)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londdon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The staff in the hotel where exceptional and found the stay very comfortable. Was upset that the restaurant was closed and was not informed when booking the room. Hotel rooms do require a refurb as the TV's look very outdated and kept on switching off for some reason - time to get some LCD screens.

The stay was very good and would recommend that you stay at the hotel as the staff where always intrested in intercating with you and they where very sincere. The staff are a credit to the hotel and where polite and helpful for our every need.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Televisions
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sheetsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We booked a night in the hotel for some last minute Christmas shopping and to attend a concert. As it was a sunday night we got a very good deal and paid about £90 (without breakfast.)

We had a great stay and had no problem or issues. The check-in was quick and easy with friendly staff. The room was very nice and was of a good size for a city center. We were impressed by the little touches like the adjustable aircon and the wet room. We used the pool and leisure facilities before going out for the evening and these were very well maintained and relaxing. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on this.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable. The only 1 slight downside is that because of the hotels very modern design it does't feel quite as luxurious as some other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. It has all the facilites and services to make it a 5 star but is a little lacking in character and furnishing to make it perfect.

  • Liked — Good facilites and staff
  • Disliked — A little bit too modern !
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Well we dont live far from Manchester so know the area pretty well, but we do find ourselves staying there quite a bit as my wife is from the area originally!

This was our second stay at the Radisson although they have been sepearted by 18 months or so! We have been staying at the Hilton inbetween! The reason we booked the Radisson on this occasion was the rate, at £ 95 + vat for a Friday night a couple of weeks from Christmas it was to good to resist!

It has not changed much since our last visit, everything was good without being exceptional. Checkin was ok, a bit slow but nothing to bad! Room was clean, modern and nice spacious feel to it, nice views as well.

Bathrooms not so convinced about, while the wetroom idea looks good and works when having a shower, if you want to go to the toilet anytime for the next 4 hours you will get wet feet! Still
put a towel down and problem solved!

The bar is very nice, definatly the best bit of the hotel, a bit small maybe as it is very busy, but good atmosphere! Breakfast was a mixed affair really. They were very busy so opened up the main area which was good, stopped us queuing for to long! Food was pretty good as well, although my main gripe would be to only serve until 10am on a Saturday is less impressive! We didnt leave the bar the night before until the early hours!

As hotels go I can not saying anything was bad, it was all very nice, certainly hotels in Manchester have moved on in the last 5-10 years, but then they needed to! I would not say dont stay here, but if the Hilton or Lowry are as good a rate to be honest stay there instead! They also both have car parks next door, while the Hilton is the NCP it is just across the road, while the Radisson is a 3-5 minute walk! That or they may have valet parking, but wasnt offered to me. I guess the main problem was nothing grabbed us and stood out to set it apart!

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — Breafast only until 10am on Saturday! Specially with such a good bar keeping us up!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeReasonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We booked two nights at the Radisson via the laterooms website to attend my company Christmas party, which was being held nearby. We arrived at around midnight to be told that the room we'd reserved 'had gone out of service' due to a leak and that they had no more rooms left. Did we want to stay at the City Inn instead? Er, not really, no.

Instead we chose to stay at my parents house 20 miles away, having been promised that tomorrow 'we'd be looked after' and they were 'very sorry'. I can't help thinking that due to our late arrival they had simply sold our room to someone else.

We returned the next day to be given a reduced rate to £75 for that night's stay in recompense for our inconvenience the previous night. It was half what we'd been quoted on laterooms so we took it, not having the energy to grumble any further.

The booking experience aside, this is a decent hotel. It's modern, stylish and the rooms are a reasonable size with B&O TV's, wet room, power shower and nice Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. I found the bed a little soft and thin, however. Our room was on the 12th floor which gave for great views over the city. As you would expect in a hotel with windows that don't open, the adjustable air conditioning kept the room at a comfortable temperature.

Niggles? Yes, a few. Valet parking is supposedly available but wasn't forthcoming on our second check-in, meaning a fairly long walk with luggage to the Great Northern car park round the corner. We had lunch in the Opus One restaurant which is stylish but very dimly lit. Whilst this makes it moody and atmospheric at night, it does feel very dingy in the day, especially given the crisp, bright winter sunshine outside on the day we stayed. The food was decent, if unremarkable.

The breakfast room was very, very busy as the hotel was completely full but the proceedings were dealt with as well as could be expected by the staff. The food was good. Thankfully after a while the throng of guests thinned out a little and we could relax and enjoy coffee and toast with a newspaper. Be warned that if you arrive at a very busy time then your breakfast table will feel rather crowded and canteen-like.

So in summary we'd stay again, despite the mix up.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank biglad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 22 December 2008
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We do remember you well, as indeed this situation has not happened to us before. We are very sorry that we were not able to accommodate you on the 5th of December due to circumstances beyond our control. We are delighted we were able to look after you the following night.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly when you next have the occasion to stay in Manchester .

Stephen Miles

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Stayed in the Radisson Edwardian for one night. Got a great deal with the Business Class rate, breakfast included and later 4pm check out. The hotel is well maintained. Used the pool, sauna and steam room which were all really nice, clean and well maintained. The breakfast weas excellent with plenty of choice and great service. The bar in the hotel is good and busy but is expensive. Overall I will be staying here again without a doubt. The only fault I could mention were the fact their were no ice buckets for the ice machine at the end of the corridor.

  • Liked — Smart, modern, trendy design
  • Disliked — No ice buckets and cost of drink in bar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rewstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 117 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing