We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed at the Radisson on May 24th because we had tickets for a concert which was supposed to be a special treat for our teenage son. We chose this hotel mainly because of its history (Free Trade Hall), location and good reviews on Tripadvisor.

When we arrived, there was no bed for our son but since it was in the afternoon we expected that this would be arranged later. On our return shortly after midnight, there was still no bed ready. We pulled out the sofa bed only to find that there was no bedding. We called reception and eventually someone came and made our son’s bed.

It was only the next morning that we noticed that they had given our son a duvet WITHOUT a cover, and the duvet had some nasty stains on it. There were no towels for our son either so he had to use our towels. To top it all, the hair dryer did not work properly.

When we checked out, we told the receptionist about the “bed incident”. Her reply was: “I will tell housekeeping about it”. No apology. We did not want to make a big fuss whilst checking out because we did not want to spoil what had been a great weekend in Manchester – especially for our son – but I am truly appalled, so much so that I signed up on Tripadvisor to let other people know about our experience. Something like this has never happened to us before, and I never thought it would happen in a five star hotel which some people describe as the best hotel in Manchester.
The positives: There were two complementary bottles of water in the room. Our son had room service after midnight, which arrived quickly and was nice. We also enjoyed the bar before the concert. The overall impression though is disappointment.
We paid £175 for that room – without breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden-Goose-Legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
Dear Reviewer.

We are very sorry that your sofa bed was not arranged as requested. We can assure this is not our normal houskeeping standard.

Thank you though for your very kind comments regarding the rest of your stay.


Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,288
    1,260
    471
    226
    174
See reviews for
587
2,498
237
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2009

The Radisson Edwardian is a hotel where anybody and everybody will feel comfortable. The staff are very helpful while also being very professional, and the rooms and lobby are very comfortable and clean. The two restaurants cater to all tastes. This hotel would suit all types of travellers for all types of travel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modest_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager. at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
I was very pleasing to read your comments regarding your stay with us.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed in the Radisson Edwardian based on the reviews on Trip Adviser - which suggested that it was a great hotel. It was clean enough and the room was ok, but certainly nothing special, in fact fairly basic.

The main issue was the quality of the mattress, one of the worst we have slept on - or should that be "tried to sleep on". While we can accept that some people like soft mattresses I am sure no-one likes soft lumpy mattresses where you can feel all of the springs. When we complained in the morning the manager, who was very friendly and helpful, said that we should have said something the night before and they would have moved us to another room - obviously not something we wanted to do in the middle of the night. As compensation she said they would offer us a good deal the next time we stay there together with a complimentary upgrade, but we will not be staying there again.

Another issue was the shower. The showers in this hotel are wet room style, which is fine but as the drain in ours was slightly blocked the water didn't drain away very well and it ended up soaking the rest of the bathroom, including the mat - be warned.....don't leave anything on the floor outside the shower area.

The manager then offered us a complimentary breakfast, which we accepted. Other writers have commented about the poor standard of this and they are spot on, no-one was clearing the tables, the service was miserable, the juice wasn't fresh and the food was bland - not five star.

We have stayed in many, many hotels and this is nothing like a five star hotel, probably an average three star apart from it having leisure facilities............certainly not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsFozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 8 June 2009
Dear reviewer.


Thank you taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay.

We are sorry that you did not ike our beds or enjoy your breakfast . Would you contact me directly so i can speak to you regarding these matters.
Stephen Miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Stayed here for my hens, perfect staff, rooms and location. They couldn't do enough for me. I would definitely stay again.

What an amazing hotel x

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinBridezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 6 June 2009
We are delighted you enjoyed your hen party.

Thank you for you comments.
Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2009

great location fab views from high rooms and v helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmetzstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 June 2009
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucern
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The hotel is centrally located never the less it is quiet at night but just a few hundred yards hits night life and on4e can find lots of restaurants. The rooms are very modern and stylish and the service is very good. But the most outstanding point is how clean the rooms are. Due to all that the value one gets for the price is very good. The only weak point is the service at the bar which could be a little bit friendlier

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 10 June 2009
Many Thanks for you very kind comments.

Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed at the Radisson Manchester for one evening on 31st may 2009. Excellent serive from reception staff, we arrived early so room not ready but no problems leaving luggage with conceirge. Excellent location meant retail therapy easily available.

Room still not available at 4pm, "servicing problem" sited as reason. Moved to alternative room without further delay. On arrival in room loud "air con" type noise from outside meant immediate return to reception where we recived apologies and accompanied to second room, which was superb and quiet. (Suggest light sleepers ask for room on GMex side of hotel - more likely to be quieter).

Liked the room very much, superb bed (2 singles togther, made as one double, meant stacks of room and comfort), en-suite with shower room and air con as standard. Usual TV, mini bar and tea making facilities.

Breakfast excellent following morning, superb choice and service. Lunch there later in day provided a very tough sirloin steak which was replaced without question and apologies received.


Amenities were very good, but due to our short stay were unable to use them all.

Best of all we liked the professionalism of staff, luxury standards and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Some rooms can be noisy, so ask if you are a light sleeper.

Easy access to rail and bus services. Town centre and attractions a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmadeusManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenMiles, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, responded to this review, 4 June 2009
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

A point to note about your comments regarding the bed. The Double bed mattresses in all our rooms sit on a bed base which can fold. This may give the impression that it is two twin beds pushed together when infact they are not.
Stephen Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Address: Peter Street, Manchester M2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manchester
#2 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Radisson Blu Edwardian Free Trade Hall Manchester features 263 bedrooms, in addition to a number of meeting and event rooms, within a luxury 5* gold award property. The hotel also caters to your every culinary need, from Steak & Lobster at Alto, to the glamorous Opus One Restaurant and Bar featuring the finest locally sourced British food. Sienna Spa & Health Club comes complete with swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam/sauna. The hotel holds the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold Award. Throughout the hotel is complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Manchester Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing