We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a Slightly Up-Market Lunch”
Review of Aubaine - CLOSED

Aubaine
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fine for a Slightly Up-Market Lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The basement version of this restaurant (which we had visited before) now no longer does food, so we decided to try the posher upstairs site. Some of the less involved dishes that used to be in the bistro are now offered upstairs (salads, sandwiches, etc.).

Though prices are slightly on the high side for Manchester, we still rate it a good place for a civilised, relaxed lunch. It is spacious, service is good, there is something of a view (well, for Manchester anyway) and the food itself is as good as could be expected. As usual, French-style cooking is overly generous with the salt, but other than this we found no fault.

There are few decent lunching places in this shopping area blighted by the vast Arndale Centre, so we will happily visit Aubaine again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice environment”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I came here for a working lunch with 2 collegues. We had the lobster spaghetti, burger and mussels. All the food was very good, especially the lobster spaghetti. The service was good but a little slow at times. The selection of desserts were nice for the afternoon and they tempt you by showing you a board with the selection. The view from this resturant is nice wherever you are seated and the atmoshere is relaxed and slightly romantic. I would definitely come again when Im in Manchester !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l_keikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“5 Star food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Best fillet steaks ever
Matured for 35 days.
Wonderful bearnaise sauce .
Treat yourself.You will not be disappointed.
Great view of Manchester
From 2nd floor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orissa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast. Yum!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My daughters and I had breakfast at Aubaine. It turned out to be really enjoyable. Nice seating area with nice view, very good service and delicious food.

Because I don't eat pork, when I made a booking I wrote down if they could replace pork with something else such as turkey, chicken or mushrooms.
On arrival, the staff awared about my note on the booking, he told us that the chef would replace pork with mushrooms for my Croque Madame. They used mix exotic mushrooms that I liked so much.

Certainly we will return.
Thank you Aubaine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Karlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectation”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Great French food in a relaxed, contemporary space. Fantastic view over the city centre and attentive service. Menu included classic combinations with seasonal ingredients and impressive individuality to most dishes. Food was cooked to perfection but perhaps a bit pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aubaine also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing