We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better places for lunch in Manchester”
Review of Aubaine - CLOSED

Aubaine
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the better places for lunch in Manchester”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This restaurant is one of the best in Manchester I have been to. Positive features are its huge glass wall which lets in lots of light (good for a gloomy day in the 'desolate north west'), and the uncluttered space and pale furniture also make it seem light and overall a very pleasant to spend a lunchtime in. The food was very good - I would go back just for their cauliflower soup which was amazing - and with portions about the right size. Only criticisms are (1) salt on the side salad (does anyone really think salad leaves taste nice with salt on them....?!) and (2) the bread they brought at the beginning with our drinks was stale. Service was good and food arrived quickly, but it was virtually empty when we were there so I would expect that. There is a lack of decent places to eat in central Manchester so I would definitely go back here, and would probably have the cauliflower soup every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Food is excellent. Service is a little slow”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The food there is very tasty. Recommend lobster. But the service is a little slow. The staffs are friendly. Nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber_Xd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fine for a Slightly Up-Market Lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The basement version of this restaurant (which we had visited before) now no longer does food, so we decided to try the posher upstairs site. Some of the less involved dishes that used to be in the bistro are now offered upstairs (salads, sandwiches, etc.).

Though prices are slightly on the high side for Manchester, we still rate it a good place for a civilised, relaxed lunch. It is spacious, service is good, there is something of a view (well, for Manchester anyway) and the food itself is as good as could be expected. As usual, French-style cooking is overly generous with the salt, but other than this we found no fault.

There are few decent lunching places in this shopping area blighted by the vast Arndale Centre, so we will happily visit Aubaine again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice environment”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I came here for a working lunch with 2 collegues. We had the lobster spaghetti, burger and mussels. All the food was very good, especially the lobster spaghetti. The service was good but a little slow at times. The selection of desserts were nice for the afternoon and they tempt you by showing you a board with the selection. The view from this resturant is nice wherever you are seated and the atmoshere is relaxed and slightly romantic. I would definitely come again when Im in Manchester !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l_keikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“5 Star food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Best fillet steaks ever
Matured for 35 days.
Wonderful bearnaise sauce .
Treat yourself.You will not be disappointed.
Great view of Manchester
From 2nd floor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orissa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aubaine also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing