We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Manchester Music Tours
Ranked #5 of 32 Tours in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Music themed guided tours around Manchester that include walking, driving, scheduled, private bespoke, bus tours, general and band/genre specific tours, such as; The Smiths/Morrissey, Joy Division, The Hollies, Oasis, Factory Records, Happy Mondays and The Stone Roses, tours led by Inspiral Carpets drummer and Manchester Music veteran Craig Gill.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was really looking forward to having a private tour of Manchester for months. Craig said he was going to pick us up for the tour. Apparently he arrived before we did and left shortly thereafter. He never responded to phone calls, texts, emails, tweets, anything we could think of. Waste of a trip and a lot of money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank danielxjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig G, Owner at Manchester Music Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Amy,

You emailed me the morning of the tour asking to be picked up at 12.30 pm (an hour earlier than had been previously been arranged). I replied to confirm.

I was at Piccadilly Station at 12.30 pm as you requested.

I then emailed you giving my exact location.

I left the station at 1.10 pm after waiting 40 minutes for you to arrive.

A later message was received at 2.42 pm which claimed of train delays, after recently looking at train timetables, I noted your train (without delays) was not due into Manchester until 1.10 pm, why then was I asked to pick you up at 12.30 pm? When quizzed about this you have tried to confuse the issue by saying you thought 12.30 was a meeting time and 1.30 was the start time?

The only mistake I made was that I never took your mobile number when booking, I normally do, however you had my mobile number on all correspondence, why did you not try ring me earlier, surely it must have been apparent that you had given me the wrong information before I left the station and was then driving home unable to take calls.


Apart from the other two negative reviews from your group, they are all flawless, proving there aren't usually any such issues with pick up's.

I am also sorry and disapointed that the tour did not go ahead as planned, but you have to accept some responsibility, the point remains that had you not changed the original plans from 1.30 to 12.30 that you would have been able to get to the correct meeting place in plenty of time, you should have pre-warned me of any delays or incorrect information given, the tour would have then gone ahead as planned.

I have offered a full refund for the price of the tour.

Kind regards,
Craig Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    7
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smiths Tour 31st May 2014”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is something I've been wanting to do for years and years, having read the excellent Morrissey's Manchester tour book in the past. If you're a fan of The Smiths, you absolutely have to do this tour when you visit Manchester-it's the only reason I made the trip but I built plenty of other stuff around it.

I won't spoil any of the surprises of the tour but, as others have said, the Salford Lads Club is worth the money alone. An inspirational story behind the building and the now renowned Smiths Room can keep you occupied for hours.

Craig is a fantastic guide - funny, friendly, down-to-earth and happy to chat about any Manchester music you decide to bring into conversation. The fact he was part of the 'Madchester' scene of the early 90's means his anecdotes carry more resonance. He was just as friendly in advance when I said I was travelling up on a Friday and could he recommend any good 'Manchester' music bars. He gave three recommendations, one of which had their monthly 'Forever Manchester' night, which was simply awesome.

I'm going to come back and do the Oasis tour in a couple of months time and will probably do the Roses and Joy Division tours in the future too. The experience was fantastic, I can't recommend it enough.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Oasis Tour”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This tour is a must if you are a fan of anything Gallagher related. Craig is a musician who knows the Gallaghers personally therefore it was genuine. He is an understated guy who does a very good job of telling you what you want to know. A comfortable Minibus, good length tour and very highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 377Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're a Manchester music fan, do this now!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm not much of a tour person. I only like to take them if it's too difficult to get around as an independent traveler OR if I can see the place through my own lens. I've been a Smiths fan since the 80s, so seeing Manchester - and the places mentioned in the songs - through this lens was a perfect way to see a slice of the city. You do spend a lot of time at the Salford Lads Club, so if you're not a hardcore fan, it may get boring. But, if you're a devotee, it will be one of the highlights of your trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Smiths/Mozza tour”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic tour of the best music city in the world with a guy who is part of the scene and knows it inside out. The Salford Lads a Club is an absolute credit to those who created it and have run it for over 100 years. And to have been taken around a town I know well but had it brought alive to the lyrics of the genius that is Morrisey was inspiring. I will definitely be doing the rest of Craig's tours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manchester Music Tours also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Music Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing