We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas in Manchester”
Review of Bar San Juan

Bar San Juan
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 7/24
20:00
Ranked #22 of 2,502 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hola! FOR BOOKINGS PLEASE VIST OUR WEBSITE: barsanjuan.info We are a Tapas Bar and Restaurant located in the beautiful South Manchester suburb of Chorlton. ​We aim to provide a little piece of Spain in Manchester. Feel the real flavour from Spain.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

First time I went here I enjoyed it but I only gave it 4 stars as some of the dishes I ordered I felt weren't as good as at other places I had been. However, I visited again recently and it was truly excellent. The pulpo (octopus) in particular, was a delight! Highly recommend this very authentic feeling tapas bar. You can't book and you can always expect a wait but don't be put off, just grab a drink and you'll be sat down before you know it.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 398 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

When you search for restaurants in Manchester, Bar San Juan pops up as one of the best restaurant and for good reason; the food is amazing, the staff is friendly and the ambiance is fantastic! On sunny days, most people stay outside and enjoy a beer in the sun and there's always a very welcoming vibe to the place. My only advice is, if you are extremely hungry, you should probably have a quick pick-me-up another place first as you most likely will have to wait quite a bit. However it is definitely worth the wait, so as long as you're not starving, grab a beer and enjoy your company!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank kristinmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Ive been here a few times with my partner but haven't managed to leave any reviews. The food is always spot on and fairly priced dishes compared to other city centre tapas bars. I would highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Delicious, tasty and well presented tapas. Attentive staff, and a beautiful environment that takes you immediately to a trip to Spain. Lovely place. Everything offered on the menu is completely great. Keep up the good work chicos, qué buen sitio! Gracias!

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Vivi6vivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This tiny little unassuming tapas restaurant in the middle of Chorlton has to be the best tapas I have eaten outside of Spain.

Yes, we had to wait about 30 minutes to get a table to eat but it was well worth the wait, we sat outside with a beer and they came to get us as soon as our table was ready.

Do not take any note of the bad reviews I have read them and they are nonsense and written by 'fun sponges', they just don't get it !! The reason there is a long wait and that the waiters don't have much time for a lot of chat is because they are getting the delicious food orders out from the kitchen. Still, I would say the service was bang on with the atmosphere was class.

The food..........oh the FOOD !! Some of the finest most succulent beef cheeks I have ever eaten. King prawns wrapped in ham with a mouth watering crust to die for. Olives that tasted out of this world (what on earth did they season them with?). I would chop off a limb for the recipe of the pork ribs and Bechamel Croquettes. As a group of friends we ordered about 15 dishes and they were all divine, I cannot knock any of the dishes.

Bar San Juan, keep up the good work. I will be visiting again very soon!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DidsburyDweller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar San Juan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bar San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.