We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”
Review of Baekdu - CLOSED

Baekdu
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lunchtime today was probably the twelth time I have visited Baekdu and the second time this week. On Monday I had the pajeon (seafood pancake) followed by the chicken dolsot bibimbap and today I had just the yuk-hoe (raw beef, with raw egg yolk seasoned over sliced pear) as I was having lunch alone, and although it is in the starters section, it is big enough as a meal for one. All three were fantastic as usual. The decor isn't an issue as the seats are comfortable and the tables are clean. Perhaps the only downside is it could be seen as a little expensive (the green pear juice drink was tiny but cost c.£2), but the portion sizes are very good and the food always tastes and looks fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DJLamatage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Korean food at its best”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A very good friend of mine lives in Korea and on her last day in Manchester while I was at work she told me she tried Baekdu and it was amazing.

So I thought to go check it out myself and man, this place is truly great! I went twice so far, the first time I was with a friend and we ordered a big selection of various food from the menu: the fried meat dumplings, the potato pancake and the mixed tempura from the starters, the Jabche from the noodle dishes section and the Kimchi bokkeumbap from the rice dishes selection. We got happier and happier with every dish that was served, everything tasted amazing, we were very full after the meal!

The second time I was alone, and for a change I ordered the Nokdu Bindaeddeok pancake and the Yaki Soba noodle with seafood. I have to say the noodles were alright, but the Nokdu conquered me after the first bite, I basically dream about it in my sleep now! It's an amazing kind of pancake, crispy on the outside and melt in the mouth on the inside, with mung beans, pork and kimchi. I could have eaten it all day long, as I write this I am already craving some more!

The inside is not pretentious at all, it looks more like a school cafeteria, the kitchen is "open" in the sense that you can see the chefs cooking, and the waitress is also the owner, I believe. Very friendly and discreet.

I loved the fact that a lot of Korean-Asian people eat there on a regular basis, it sure means it's good, authentic food! If you love Asian food but are tired of the usual Chinese, then try this, you will not be disappointed!

Not the cheapest place I've had a solo lunch at, but very satisfying for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabster1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the Premier Apartments in Manchester, directly opposite Baekdu, we love Asian food, but are always disappointed by Chinese restaurants these days. Food covered in bright coloured slime and always feeling ill a few hours after eating! Not to at Baekdu, the food is fresh, no horrendous additives, and the service is simple and friendly. We hadn't eaten true Korean food before, so needed some guidance with the menu; our waitress was very helpful and we had a really tasty meal.
We wanted to return the following evening, but the place was packed unsurprisingly, so sadly we had to fin find an alternative.
I would highly recommend eating here, just sad we don't have something similar where we live.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckles001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food, service and prices”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The four of us found Baekdu to be a really enjoyable experience. The waitress was really helpful with the many questions we had about the menu and recommended a couple of things. Prices were extrememly reasonable and the food really good, we also tried the Korean beer which we again enjoyed finding it nice and light.
We will defintely be returning.
Many thanks Baekdu!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small, informal, but great Korean food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I'd like to first add that some of the bad reviews about decor and such, while some others might prefer each restaurant they visit to be professional decorated, I personally don't mind,and the restaurant has a 5* rating from the Food Standards Agency - so no problems there.

The restaurant is small,and informal. They are clearly understaffed with just the owner lady tending to everybody. However the food is great, you can see the chefs cooking it from behind the counter. You get decent portions for the price you pay. No it's not the cheapest place but there aren't many Korean places in Manchester to choose from.

You will notice a lot of other Chinese/Koreans coming through the door here too - obviously a good sign!

My last visit was today, however been on 2 other occasions. Never any problems.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RigaFanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baekdu also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing