We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Granada Studios

Granada Studios
Ranked #18 of 174 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quick Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself enjoyed our corrie tour however as some people have said the tour is 50 min inside not 1hr30. I do think £16 is slightly over priced to walk through the set also. Having said this it was great to look round and find out how it is all really filmed! Some really old equipment / buildings! The £7 photograph was extremely expensive in my opinion! A good one off experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    87
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolute must see but could improve the tour and shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I really enjoyed my tour of the studios and Coronation Street itself. Brilliant to see the street itself and all of its iconic glory. When on the street you can take photos and wander round wherever you like. They have a few of the back yards open and you can go down the ginnel as well as the smoking area in the Rovers and David Platts backgarden, where you can see Annas and Sallys gardens too. Its open all the way through Rosamund Street to Victoria street too.

The actual tour before you go onto the street is quite interesting but its clear the tour guides have simply memorised a script like the Streets actors. Because there is a tour approx every 5 mins there is always another group hot on your heels and as such you cannot ask questions on the way round. It felt a bit like school where if you asked a question you would be disrupting the class. The most major downside on this for me is that we couldnt take any pictures of the internal sets. Im not sure of the exact reason for this but I suspect its so you dont hold the group up (God forbid) and so they can take your photo in the Rovers set and charge you £7.50 for it.

The sets were very good to see and I was amazed how small they actually are. But while I realise they are using most of the sets at Media City now, most of the sets they do have are really old. Such as Carlas flat which from what I can remember she sold years ago and the barge Ken had an affair on, again ages ago.

Going onto the actual Street is definatly the highlight of this tour and you can spend as much time as you like on the Street. The shop at the end isnt much good, it doesnt have much anyone would want to buy. Who in thier right mind would want a shopping bag with a huge picture of Anthony Cotton on it??

The last thing I will say about this, is your ticket will say arrive half an hour early. My advice is dont. There is no reason to other than they want you to go in the cafe. Which is well overpriced. It took less than 3 mins to go through the ticket checks and enter the site. So then you have no choice but to go into the cafe as there isnt anything else there. Just arrive 5 mins early and save yourself a fortune.

Overall it was a good day out and worth the ticket price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The tour of the old Coronation Street set was amazing. Definitely recommended for any
Corrie fans. To walk the famous cobbles, sit in the actual Rovers and soak up the history is something I will not forget for a long time.
A disappointment was the ban on photography inside the studios and a very small not very well stocked souvenir shop which I think is a missed trick to the organisers. The tour guide we had was very knowledgable and kept on offering bits of trivia and information throughout.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We visited here today (17th April 2014), the tours are very interesting and factual bursting full of history and entertainment, the street is fabulous and very detailed and quite surreal to be actually walking on, on the street you are allowed to have numerous photos however in the studios and on sets, personal photography is strictly un-permitted, also foods, drinks, merchandise and souvenirs are very expensive and over priced. Overall though if you're a fan or interested in coronation street or media it is well worth a visit and would recommend to anyone!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Far to Expensive!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Far to Expensive!!!
Make sure it's going to be a nice day because apart from a cafe there isn't anywhere to shelter pre tour and there is only one bench which holds four persons. For your £16 fee you get dragged around a portion of the indoor set for 50 minutes, you are told NOT to ask any questions. You can have your photo took behind the Rovers Bar at a cost of £7.50 but don't blink because you wont get a second chance!!! YOU CANNOT TAKE PHOTOS ON THE GUIDED TOUR. Your group is eventually released like a pack of Greyhounds onto the Street which is great to see of course but when you look up at some of the windows you get the impression that this place has been deserted for some 25 years with filthy windows and disgusting net curtains. Make sure you have sturdy footwear should you wish the tread on the very uneven and misshaped man-made cobbles, the person/s who laid them should have been sacked!
Its a 2/5 from us, if the charge would have been in the region of £5-7 it would have got 4/5.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CABar_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granada Studios also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Granada Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing