We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended for meetings or conferences” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not recommended for meetings or conferences”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I attended a meeting at this hotel and the experience was really poor. Problems included the following:
- no soap in the ladies toilets, despite asking at 09:30 it was still not there at 16:00
- frozen sandwiches for lunch (chicken - not good) - when reported no apology!
- coffee machine kept running out of water
- no member of staff in the conference area, despite 2 or 3 meetings happening;
- called the Reception from the conference area several times and phone not answered
- insufficient food at lunch - one bowl of fruit salad between 40
- brought out chips and onion rings after the fruit salad!

Worse than all of this is that I completed a feedback form on-line immediately afterwards, asking for a response and got nothing. I have also chased this up and still not even received an acknowledgement. I hope the organisers of my meeting didn't have to pay for this very poor service and won't use this venue again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meeting with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    677
    133
    33
    25
See reviews for
512
810
159
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

So my wife and I returned here for our anniversary last week. This is our second visit here our first being last year when it had newly opened. Last year was superb, this time unfortunately was horrendous! Long wait to check in, it was a Friday evening so this was expected! For convince and the exceptional service we had last year we decided to dine in the restaurant this however was not a similar experience. Service was slow and amature at best. My wife had scampi that was borderline cooked with old, cold, overlooked chips. My steak had gone off, being a butcher I can assure you of this! Taste and smell would make you feel poorly. The waitress assured me that her manager said it was fine. I seen this manager avoid our table for the rest of our meal which was disappointing, unsure of name but a stocky man mid thirties with a shaved head. I wasn't looking to complain but more to make him aware of his meat having gone
off!! The restaurant on our last visit had an Irish manager and a young girl with blue hair and the service was world class even though you could see training was still on going, this time was appalling as we were charged full price and not even offered our meals to be replaced! Very poor management skills. Our advice is do not eat here if you would like
to enjoy your visit and not be poorly. Will not visit again on restaurant experience alone!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnchesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay with a high level of service, through every service you come in to contact with, whether it be our welcome or restaurant service.

Myself and team sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this to you and would welcome any feedback of improvements. I will certainly look into your details and investigate any disturbances you received which will be fed back to you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back into Premier in in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

For a Premier Inn this place is very clean, quite new I think. My room on the 11th floor was very big and ideal. Restaurant service wasn't great and food is what you'd expect in such a hotel. Best eat elsewhere unless it's all fuel to you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teaSnob79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback to the hotel.

We have fantastic views from the 11th floor, on a clear day you can see as far on as the Pennines. The team work extremely hard to keep the hotel looking as fresh as it did when we opened a year ago. Great to feed this back to the team. We will certainly review your evening experience as it disappoints us when we don't deliver our highest service to every guest.

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Nice hotel, very clean with comfy beds. The breakfasts, buffet style are very good and serving Costa coffee. The Thyme restaurant very good for meals and nicely priced. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannis1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. It is lovely to see that our restaurant met your requirements and you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester on any return trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great stay but want to complain about the breakfast part in the thyme restaurant...no idea at all.. We just been to a hotel that serves eight hundred people five times a day...so standing waiting and waiting and waiting to go to a table for brek then they couldn't use the till ran out of food and it goes on....this country u just let yourselves down...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesingersinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent feedback, it is a great pleasure reading especially when there has been a great stay.

We welcome all feedback especially those were we can take back and review our service. We do try to monitor our guests at breakfast by making people aware on arrival to the hotel and with posters around the hotel to make you aware of peak times were there may be waiting times. We keep this to a minimum as much as we can control and we apologise for the inconvenience this caused you on the morning for your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Manchester on any return trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed here twice and while there's not a lot to say about the rooms - typical Premier Inn; clean, comfortable, cheap - it's worth staying here because of a) its proximity to the station and city centre and b) more importantly, the lovely, helpful, friendly staff, especially the magnificent Niall on reception! They all made us feel very welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your return visit to Piccadilly Premier Inn.

It is a pleasure to welcome returning guests to the hotel. It is fantastic to see our locality to the station helps your trips but most important that the team are supportive on your visits. I will ensure Niall receives your feedback as he will be delighted to see your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here last month for one night on a business trip. The room was very spacious and clean. Had a lovely view. The staff were very helpful and friendly and showed me how to check in on the fancy machines! It is in a fantastic location right in the centre.

The restaurant was lovely too and the staff there were super friendly.

Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianthePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you so much for you recent review on the hotel.

Great to see our location suited your needs and that the staff assisted you through your stay. We look forward to welcoming you on any future stay in Manachester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing