We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay here and easily found the hotel just a few minutes walk from Piccadilly Station. Was within very easy walking distance of the city too. Good security in that you had to swipe your room key to access the stairs/lifts and corridor doors to bedrooms. We were on the 8th floor and didn't hear any traffic noise. Didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice décor-wise and there was a nice seating area in the foyer. We paid £42 for the one night stay, very good value. Based on previous Trip Advisor reviews we took the 5 min stroll to Linda's pantry for our breakfast and a take-away sandwich for our lunch, and we are so glad that we did. Would certainly stay at this hotel again if visiting Manchester again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRFCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for your five star review to us after your recent stay with us.

Great to see our location suited the needs of your stay, we like to ensure our guests and team safety come first and there are many security points been installed to ensure you feel comfortable throughout your stay including our swipe access system.

Great to see that you chose us from our trip advisor reviews and that you will come back to us in the near future. We look forward to seeing you on any return trip to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    718
    142
    37
    29
See reviews for
532
847
167
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel matched up to its excellent reviews on this site, even down to the minor points. Barely a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly station so perfect with suitcases in tow. The shopping area no more than 10 minutes away and a metro stop in the station made it easy to explore the city and further out. The hotel room was basically, but smartly, well appointed - but like others I wish the rooms had safes. We were on the first floor, canal side, overlooking a side street and suffered no noise other than a few muffled cars passing (it was mid week though). While beds were made up for three, towels were only put out each day for two - odd I think, and reception, whilst incredibly friendly and helpful, did not always answer external or internal calls The help yourself breakfast buffet was excellent value - but it's a pity that Premier Inn hasn't yet realised that having Gluten Free bread available in the freezer is a good customer plus point - I think the estimate is that 1 in 10 probably have a wheat intolerance or worse a gluten allergy. The evening meals were amazingly good, lots - and the house slaw delicious! As with reception, who gave us excellent advice on where to find a late lunch, the waiting staff were welcoming and friendly. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Canal side seemed quiet to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamb00zled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel and that your research through trip advisor matched up to your expectation. We really care on every review that we have made every guest feel brilliant through a great night sleep and it's great feedback to myself and the team that we deliver this.

Prior to opening we did complete out some research that showed our guests did have a need for us to install safes although we did have this on our plans to install it was an idea removed. We do have in house safes for the hotel which we will happy store for you any personal belongings in a safety bag as every Premier Inn will offer for you.

In terms of gluten bread we also will supply this but need prior notice to the hotel so that we can get this in from our suppliers. We like to keep products fresh for consumption, so again please contact us prior to arrival and we will be more than happy accommodate your dietary requirements.

I will ensure I pass your feedback to the team regarding there friendliness and helpfulness through out your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back on any return trip to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before, we most certainly will in the future. Excellent checking in process with the cheerful Niall who also helped us with his explanations of how to get around Manchester to see the sights. Impressive security (you must have key to access lifts to rooms). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and for £39.00 per night what can you say? We were really impressed with the Thyme restaurant on site. Friendly service from Michael, nice setting and good food. All in all, there is nothing we did not like!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Wow fantastic, thank you so much for your brilliant experience review. I look forward to sharing this with the team especially to Niall and Michael.

It's a great pleasure giving this feedback to the team and rewarding to see we have made your first stay with Premier Inn a memorable one.

We look forward to seeing you use the brand again in the future and see you on any return trips to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Premier Inn, Piccadilly, Manchester for 2 nights at the end of October, 2013. I can't recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were bright, clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, with just a short walk to the Arndale Centre and to the train and tram stations. The main attraction for this hotel is it's brilliant staff. I could not say enough about how helpful and kind they are. We were travelling with our two small boys and the staff at reception and in the restaurant were as kind and helpful to them as they were to us. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, especially those with children.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel and great feedback to the team. They will be absolutely delighted with your comments.

Lovely to see that our location was suitable for you and your family and we accommodated a comfortable stay, the team work really hard to ensure you feel brilliant through a great stay with us. It is very pleasing to read your feedback.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again on any return trip to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Standard quality Premier Inn but seriously silly parking arrangements. Park free on road overnight if you arrive after car park opposite closes. Must move car off street by 8am, so move a few yards into the car park, paying the Premier Inn special rate. Have breakfast, go about your day, then return to hear you shouldn't have moved your car and to come back in you should pay the special rate again. None of this comparable to other Premier Inn arrangements, nor limits made known when booking. Very disappointing and messes up the whole weekend. Sort this, Whitbread, or lose regular custom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the hotel and confusion surrounding car parking arrangements.

We don't have a car park unfortunately but have worked closely with local car parks to get a discounted deals for our guests. We advertise the following through our website." Car parking is available close to the hotel at either Tariff Street Multi Storey - postcode M1 2JF or Dale Street car park (open until 6.30pm)- postcode M1 2HG. Both car parks are operated by Town Centre Car Parks and discounted rates are available for guests. Car park tickets can be validated at hotel reception for discount". These car parks work the same operation as majority parking facilities that is pay on entry and any revisits would be charged.

The city of Manchester streets is optional after 8pm to park free but at drivers own risk and then the street opens for charges again from 8am. We apologise that on this occasion this has caused you discomfort.
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights end of October and I think this is probably the best Premier Inn we have stayed in, all in all it was a very nice experience the reception staff are all very friendly and helpful the rooms are clean and comfortable as you would expect from a Premier Inn, the breakfasts we had were excellent and the bar is very nice to sit and have a drink in. One of the nights there we paid £39 which is an absolute bargain given the location and quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your great hotel review on your recent stay with us.

Brilliant to see you enjoyed our facilities and the staff accommodated a comfortable stay for your bargain value stay.

We hope to see you in Manchester soon and look forward to a return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed here once before, this time was better. The locatation is very convenient for the train. The good points are the price, the windows open and the room and bathroom are smart. The continental breakfast (which you don't book in advance) is good. I had a top floor room but it was nosey if the window was opened. This didn't happen last time, there were noisey trucks in the early hours on Monday morning. This might only happen if you stay a Sunday night.

The heating is hot air blown from near the ceiling, I planned to turn it off and ask for extra blankets but it turned out to be a warm night so this wasn't a problem. The real problem was the bed, a rock hard mattress on top of a solid wooden box. It looked all right but it's not really a bed and very uncomfortable unless you happen to be quite obese. For this reason I wouldn't stay again, Holiday Inn can do proper comfortable beds at this price point so I don't see why Premier Inn can't.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your return visit to the hotel, great to see our location suits your needs and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering which can be pre booked through arrival or to leave your options open can be booked when going through for breakfast.

Apologies for some discomfort in your bed. We work with a fantastic supplier called Hypnos. Hypnos, the award winning makers of hand crafted beds, have been practising and perfecting the art of making bespoke, made to measure beds since Edwardian days - these British luxury beds can be found in the finest homes, palaces and hotels around the world including Holiday Inn, Marriot and boutique hotels around the uk. It is always great to here feedback on the quality so we can observe any product issues and address this. At this stage we should not be receiving comments of discomfort so we will certainly look into this for you.

I look forward to seeing you on return trips to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing