We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Brand new hotel by the historic Piccadilly Basin, an upcoming area, and very close to Piccadilly station so great for travelling to events, theatre etc and the airport (with good early morning rail service, its more convenient than at the airport itself)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bladeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel and that our location suited the needs of your trip. We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    706
    140
    35
    29
See reviews for
529
837
162
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel for a short stay and looking on the map found it was very close to Piccadilly Station. It is 5 minutes from the main station and so is a great location. The room was 'tired' having a large piece of plaster missing from the wall, the soap dispenser in the bath was faulty and although spoons were provided when we arrived - for the tea and coffee the following day they were missing, but they had given us two extra mugs!! interesting but no spoons. The bed was made every day, but I am not sure the room was cleaned as the towels were left exactly where I had left them. For the price of the room it was okay - if I had paid a lot (more than 29) I would have complained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on the hotel although it seems that we have failed your stay on ensuring you have a brilliant night stay.

I would like to apologise for the poor repair of your room as this certainly not what we aim for. We like to ensure that all maintenance is repaired before being released back for sale, so that you have a comfortable room to stay in. I will look into this with the team to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

We would like to see you again in the future on any return trips to Manchester and wish you all the best for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is hard to beat this hotel for its location - particularly if you are visiting Manchester by train. Out of Piccadilly station, drop your case off and within minutes you can be in the city centre, or at one of the universities. Similarly the customer service is superb, with friendly and helpful staff who make you feel genuinely welcome, and remind you of why you like coming to Manchester!

The hotel is clean and modern with large, comfortable rooms in the usual Premier Inn livery. Although I was only on the first floor, the soundproofing was excellent and I heard no noise from the railway or the busy road. I was particularly impressed by the bathroom which was decorated to a very high specification. The only slight disappointment was the bed, which I didn't find particularly comfortable and is perhaps not the the typical Hpynos bed typically found in Premier Inns?

All in all, this hotel offers great value and a warm welcome, and is now at the top of my list of places to stay in Manchester!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel.

Fantastic to see that we made your first stay to Manchester a memorable one. The team will be delighted to see your comments and a credit to work with.

The beds in the hotel are all standard Hypnos beds so apologies in advance that they didn't seem to match the usual comfort. If you would like to contact the hotel to let us know your room number we will certainly have a look to check the quality and thank you for this feedback.

We wish you all the best for 2014 and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I booked to visit Manchester for 2 nights at the end of December as we wanted to visit an exhibition at the Lowry. Having never stayed at a Premier Inn I booked it based on the TA reviews and am so glad I did. For 2 nights we were lucky to only pay £58 in total - an absolute steal!

The hotel is located about a 2 minute walk from the train station and we found it very quickly. Reception was empty when we arrived (around 4pm) and we were able to check in straight away by the extremely helpful and friendly staff. The lady (I think she was called Amy) even helped us plan our route to the Lowry (which is based near Media City) which I really appreciated being first timers to the city. We were also given the option of being on the 1st or 8th floors and we chose to be higher as thought it would be quieter.

To get to the rooms you use your room key card to open the doors which makes the hotel feel very secure and also signs asking people to think about the noise they make later in the evening. Shame some of the guests on our floor chose to ignore them and took great pleasure in letting their doors slam shut :(

The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including tea/coffee facilities, choice of pillows and a hairdryer.

The first morning we had the Premier breakfast and were greeted by super host Stevie (what an absolute gem!) and were left to help ourself to as much as we liked from the buffet. We definitely got our monies worth from the selection of cooked breakfast items, fruit, yoghurts and pastries and we filled up on the Costa coffee to set us up for the day.

Will definitely be back as we loved Manchester and loved this Premier Inn. The location is great, close to the train station with Canal Street, the shopping area and the quirky Northern Quarter (with Afflecks Palace) close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel.

Fantastic to see that we made your first stay to Manchester and Premier Inn a memorable one. The team will be delighted to see your comments and I will ensure that Amy receives your kinds words.

We wish you all the best for 2014 and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with my mum for a night and on booking explained how it was a special treat for her so if we could get our rooms earlier that would be great. We arrived at 11am and our room was ready and waiting. Very clean and comfortable. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review on the hotel.

It is great to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its value for money was appealing to you. Brilliant to read a lovely review from you and will have great delight sharing with the team.

Wishing you all the best for 2014 and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlaby
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You'll see from my other reviews that I'm a firm advocate of Premier Inns - you know what you're getting and they represent value for money. I was in Manchester for a two day course and decided to drop my case at the hotel en route to my venue around 9am. I was greeted warmly by Siobhan who said they had rooms available if I wanted to check in immediately. This was really helpful as I had a suit 'scrunched' up in my case so was able to put it on a hanger.
I resrved a table for dinner but couldn't see anything on the menu that appealed to me (purely my subjective view) so I decided to head into town. As a courtesy, I called in at the on site restaurant to let them know and it was no trouble at all. The waiter told me it was no problem and to go and have a great evening.
I have trouble sleeping generally, however slept through from 10.30pm to gone 7am - a real bonus!
I was greeted very warmly at breakfast by Cezar who clearly put's the customer at the heart of his role. He explained everything thoroughly and made me aware of items that could be cooked to order. I had the cooked breakfast buffet, which was all hot and flavoursome. A waiter let me know that fresh scrambled eggs would be out in a minute. People in these roles can make a great difference to those of us working away from home - their pleasantness, willingness to help and the quality work done by the kitchen staff can set people up for the day - and they did!

I've no hesitation in recommending this venue to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel here at Manchester Piccadilly!

It really does make the team and myself smile when they receive such brilliant comments, and I cant wait to pass them on to Siobhan and Cezar in particular, they will be delighted to hear they made your time away from home as good as it possibly could be!

I hope your course was interesting, and that you have a succesful and prosperous 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north of england
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Prem Inn Piccadilly at the end of November, we come for the Christmas markets every year, couldn't get in our usual one (Arena/Printworks) so decided on this one as we like Prem Inn. Room wasn't ready as we were early but reception staff stored our luggage, no problem. Rooms were on first floor, very nice, looked and smelled new, very comfortable and to say we were low we never heard a dicky bird all night. Had a great time round the markets, a few drinks, some nice food. Staff at the hotel very friendly and get the impression they like their job too which gives to a good atmosphere. The location, well it is good as in next to the train station, and especially if you want to dine on Canal Street, its about a 10 minute walk to the shops Arndale/Deansgate, but in all honesty we wished we were at the Arena/Printworks as it is so close to where we like to be and it was a trek back at night. Not really the hotels fault as it was an extremely cold night, and if it had been in summer it probably wouldn't have mattered that much. Was very cold in the night as we couldn't get the heating to work properly although I must say this was sorted out the next day, and with a smile. Would I stay here again? Yea of course, but only if we can't get into our favourite Arena/Printworks. Thanks again Premier Inn

Room Tip: Don't think it matters really, relatively new hotel and all rooms are pretty much the same. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your review of your stay here at Manchester Piccadilly.

Firstly I apologise that your favoured hotel down at the Printworks was unavailable, it does get busy towards the festive season so maybe next year try and book it a tad bit earlier (and get it cheaper too!!).

However the team here and myself do everything to ensure every guest has an amazing stay, and leaves feeling brilliant, and I am glad that we lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing