We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just stayed here , couldn't fault the hotel. Clean , tidy , quiet , close enough to the centre of Manchester. Parking opposite the hotel which was cheap for a whole weekend.
The room was a good size , comfy bed , clean bathroom with a good shower.
The only thing that I can fault is that I checked in online , was told that I could collect my key from the auto kiosk or just quickly from the desk. Problem was that all 3 auto kiosk were broken and there was a bit of a queue for reception. Very minor fault but one that should be looked at.
All in all I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Go for as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the hotel. Myself and the team are delighted in our contribution on your stay in Manchester. However, I would like to apologise for the kiosk being off line. We have just had a new telephone system installed that has affected our kiosk server. We have found a temporary fix and working on the severs working together.

Thank you for your comments and rest assured we are working quickly on solutions. We hope to see you in Manchester soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    672
    133
    33
    25
See reviews for
512
804
158
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We just spent the weekend here and it was fantastic! The staff were really friendly and was able to get us a room on the top floor so the view of the city was amazing. (We phoned them the day before to request it) We had dinner at their restaurant, the food was nice and the staff were very polite. The room is well equipped with tea, coffee hair and body wash. The only downside is wifi is limited to 30 minutes but other than that will definitely stay again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephsmef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. Myself and the team are delighted so have contributed to your excellant stay. The views are specatcualar espcially in the spring weather.

We hope you choose us again in the future on any return trips to Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here because it's pretty central and you can't go wrong with a known chain. Or so we thought.
First night ok.
Second night awful. The air conditioning unit fan was on constant even though it was turned off. Phoned reception and they turned it off. Ten minutes later it was back on. Phoned again and she turned it off again. Said to mention it at check out and we would get our money back. This continued all night. But when phoning reception back we were getting ignored. Eventually went down to reception where the receptionist admitted she couldn't turn the air con off.
Lots of frustration could have been saved if when I phoned up for the second time she told me the truth. So to sum it up. Yes we will get a refund but had no sleep. Why do you go to a hotel. To get some sleep.
The breakfast was great. Lovely helpful staff. Room was 102. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazbrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Premier Inns and this is one of the best we have stayed at. The bedroom was well equipped with extras - hairdryer, kettle, coffee etc. My husband found the bed too soft for him tho it was fine for me. The reception area, bar and restaurant are far superior to other Premier Inns we have stayed at. We ate here for our evening meal and breakfast which was plain food but cooked and presented well and of good quality. The service from all staff was extremely courteous and friendly - made us feel most welcome. The location is in a quiet back street overlooking the former canal basin and in close proximity to Piccadilly Station -very convenient but well sound-proofed so no noise disturbance. We will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mgttwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback to the hotel.

The team would be delighted on your feedback and we are happy that our location helped support the needs of your trip. I will certainly make sure that the team are aware of your comments. We hope to see you again in Manchester soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a 2 night weekend stay (meant to be for football but game was cancelled) and the hotel location is excellent - near Piccadilly Station (15-20 mins direct on train from airport).
Taxi rank round the corner and 5 min walk from Piccadilly Gardens where we took express bus to the Trafford Centre.
We checked in online and arrived late so no interaction with staff on arrival, however they were extremely helpful & friendly during our stay.
Breakfast was the usual Premier Inn standard, basic but good value for money (more so if you have kids who eat free). The restaurant ladies were lovely :-)
Personally we found the beds/pillows to be on the hard side for our liking, but we've experienced this problem before in the newer Premier Inns.
The hotel is what you expect from a budget city centre hotel, good value & clean and within walking distance of all city centre attractions/shopping. We felt very secure in the hotel and heard no external noise.
Our luggage was stored no problem all day and a taxi was organised for us by reception (approx £22 taxi fare to airport).
We would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balgownie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your recent feedback to the hotel.

Brilliant to see the team supporting your journey at the hotel with there friendly manner. The location of the hotel is fantastic espcially for the football, so next time you come to Manchester for a game we hope to see you.

I see you had some concerns around the pillow comfort in your room whilst with us which we apologise for as we like to ensure you have a brilliant night sleep. We do have two pillow choices in the room two firm and two soft which we hope would meet every guest needs. I will certainly ensure the quality is checked over the next couple of weeks to make sure that does not repaet in the future.

Thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

this is an excellent premier inn less than 5 mins from piccadilly station, staff friendly and helpful and knew the area well. We stayed here overnight for a concert at the Phones 4 u arena which is within easy wlking distance. The food in the restraunt was excellent the breakfast too. The beds give a great nights sleep and the sofa bed for teenager was again excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback in Manchester.

It is brilliant you found us a great place to stay and our location suited the needs of your trip. We wish to see you again on any concerts in the future or returning to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Yes, the hotel is clean, central and quiet. However I did not get it cheap, it was still over £100 per night per person and would expect a few more comforts in the room at that price as it is not really much cheaper than a non budget hotel. For eg docking station for an i pod/i pad, water or drinks in the room. The bed was hard, but had a good nights sleep as it was quiet. The bed linen was beginning to look and feel a little tired.

If I had paid £25-£40 per night I would have been delighted.

The Bar was ok, but no atmosphere and the bar lady kept throwing bottles into the bin making a big clanking noise whenever she did this.

Staff on front desk very helpful re directions etc....

Overall a good stay and good for purpose but not a room I would want to relax in for the price paid.

Room Tip: get it cheaper than I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOANNA P, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on Manchester Piccadilly Premier Inn.

We appreciate your comments to us and we do hope to see you again in Manchester soon. We do have competative prices online for the budget chain through out Manchester on premierinn.co.uk.

We glad you enjoyed your experience in Manchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Address: 72 Dale Street, Manchester M1 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short wheelie-suitcase trundle from Manchester's main transport hub, Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Picadilly) brags a whole floor of meeting and conference facilities, puts you in prime position whether you're seeing the sights or visiting for business. Explore the bars and restaurants of Canal Street and the Northern Quarter. Catch the big live events at the Arena, Old Trafford or Etihad Stadium. Seek out the season's must-haves in the Arndale Centre. Then nip back to enjoy a great night's rest with our contemporary restaurant, spacious rooms and huge, comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing