We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”
Review of Tango's Manchester - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tango's Manchester
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb Food”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Visited for the first time April 2013, and were both very impressed with the menu and cooking. Several fish dishes, lamb, fillet steak and one veggie option suited us fine. When we visited there was no wine list; they said they were between suppliers, but showed us 6 bottles of white, priced between £15 and £20, which you can't grumble at. I suspect some customers would want a better choice of wines, however, which is why I haven't awarded 5 stars. Also the coffee was either black or white, no espresso or cappuccino etc, though as we were not charged for it, again, can't grumble.
Excellent service both at the bar downstairs and from the owner in the restaurant upstairs. Beautifully presented tables, and interesting display of paintings (all for sale) completed the experience. I'd certainly recommend it highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank recumbentmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We visited Tango's yesterday and were very impressed. Everything we had was absolutely delicious especially the ham hock terrine and the sea bass. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening and great food”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Visited Tango's for the firt time last week with my wife and a couple of friends. The owner Simon was most attentive and helpful and my fillet steak was one of the best I have had. My wife had the haddock and she too was more than pleased with her meal. All in all an excellent evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Get out and support this great food”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited using a living social voucher so it was great value but affordable even without and would go again.
Duck and Ham Hock Terrine was relly tasty - fabulous. The black pudding looked good also.The sea bass was beautifully cooked and the lobster bisque was more than a sauce - it had more mixed seafood within - fantastic. The lamb looked almost as good. There was a shortage of house wine available when I visited but the white wine provided was an outstanding Chablis.
We were the only ones there at the time [which is why I have marked down for atmosphere] which is a shame [disheartening for the chef ] but I am sure once word gets out about the quality of the food that this restaurant will get very busy.
This would be a great place for private dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Travelzoo Bargain & £5 Cocktails”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Booked on a Travelzoo offer, just £29 for a 2 course dinner for 2 ! Real bargain and nothing off limits on the menu, both had fantastic Muscles & Black Pudding Starters and then an excellent Fillet Steak ! Could not fault the food and attentive service, reasonable drinks prices, all in all a very pleasant little restaurant and well located in the heart of the city. Very Nice..

Helpful?
Thank Scuba T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tango's Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing