We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and value.”
Review of Pancho's Burritos

Pancho's Burritos
Ranked #380 of 2,275 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Panchos Burritos started out on the streets as do all good taco stands in Mexico. After living in Mexico for some years Mexico City born Enrique and his Manchester born wife Colette decided to bring the taste of Mexico back to England. They started their own Burrito stand catering for friends parties and music festivals. At one of these festivals they met German born Klaus who when seeing the burrito stand realised it was a brilliant concept. This created Panchos Burritos. Based in Manchester city centre we have two market stalls in the busy Arndale Centre market and have been going strong there since January 2010. Enrique tries to keep it real using recipes passed on by his family in Mexico City. Fresh food is cooked on the stall every morning and by lunchtime the smell of delicious tasty Mexican food wafts around the marketplace. Meats are slow roasted in the oven then added to delicious freshly made salsas to be served with rice or on a burrito.
Restaurant details
Description: Panchos Burritos started out on the streets as do all good taco stands in Mexico. After living in Mexico for some years Mexico City born Enrique and his Manchester born wife Colette decided to bring the taste of Mexico back to England. They started their own Burrito stand catering for friends parties and music festivals. At one of these festivals they met German born Klaus who when seeing the burrito stand realised it was a brilliant concept. This created Panchos Burritos. Based in Manchester city centre we have two market stalls in the busy Arndale Centre market and have been going strong there since January 2010. Enrique tries to keep it real using recipes passed on by his family in Mexico City. Fresh food is cooked on the stall every morning and by lunchtime the smell of delicious tasty Mexican food wafts around the marketplace. Meats are slow roasted in the oven then added to delicious freshly made salsas to be served with rice or on a burrito.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great quality and value.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Best, most authentic Burrito in Manchester. A couple of quaint stands in the Arndale Food Market, bursting with traditional, homemade dishes that explode with flavour. Opting for a meal deal, I had the veggie chilli burrito with hot (very hot!) sauce on a spinach tortilla and a bottle of Corona for £6.99. The burrito was stuffed full of all the usual ingredients you'd expect, but the freshness and combination of the sauces really pulls it above other similar vendors. The salsa is cool and fruity and compliments the chilli really well. If you're in the hunt for good mexican food, you have to try Panchos. It gets really busy in the food market so if you're looking to eat in make sure you get to a table fast, they go incredibly quickly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TophersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good street food.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If your looking for a quick, tasty meal without breaking the bank it doesn't get much better than this really. I had a pulled pork burrito with nacho's and beer for £6.99. The burrito was packed with meat, rice, beans, salad, guacamole, and a chili sauce with a good kick to it. The nachos were simple but a had a fresh salsa on top which was really refreshing, as a proper salsa should be. Its always great to have big flavour for a low price - especially if you compare this to similar priced fast foods like supermarket salads and McDonalds, this place shows that you don't have to mise in quality to get cheap food on the go

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magsandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Come here often as it's a Rare authentic find in Manchester.

Have tried almost everything that they do and have never been disappointed.

The chilli sauce is a bit cheeky so be careful

Helpful?
1 Thank Lolapops84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Quesadilla in town! ”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We love Panchos!! There are 2 stalls in the Arndale Market both are ace. With 6 or more choices of meat and fillings and all levels of spicy, what more could you need! If you haven't been you haven't lived! Only sad thing is the lack of seating! The food market gets real busy so can be a hustle gettin a seat for 4!

Helpful?
Thank bocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good place for quick grab”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Me and my partner decided to have quick lunch to break Boxing Day shopping madness. We arrived late around 4p.m. and most popular fillings were gone, i mean pork with cactus and chicken with chipolte. I guess it must be busy day judging by crowds in Arndale. I had pork with lime tostadas. Now, i need to say it was first time i tried mexican food and wasnt sure what it is. Staff let us try few topings if its not to spicy and it was mild. I enjoyed it a lot but quick word of warning to inexperienced that it was a bit hard to eat cause tostadas is like bigger torrtila crisp with toppings on top of it. My partner had burritos with pork with lime topping, she couldnt stop making happy noises how good it was. Overall good street food. So definitely will come back to try burritos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLuuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancho's Burritos also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pancho's Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing