We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting Galleries and Musuems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visiting Galleries and Musuems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good location - close to City Centre. The reception staff were very helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and functional. For the price paid you would be hard pushed to find anywhere else in Manchester as good.



  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 1954Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you found the hotel to be in a good location for the city centre.
It is fantastic to hear you found the staff helpful and felt the hotel was good value for money.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    516
    293
    118
    85
See reviews for
214
356
160
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here with 2 of my friends back in February. The room for 3 consisted of a double bed with a single bunk above. The room was nice and clean however very small. You could barely open the door to get in and out of the toilet and the sink/shower area was right next to the double bed. The beds were very hard which I found quite shocking as Ibis usually have an excellent standard of bedding and mattresses. For a 3 person room we were supplied with just one towel which is quite shocking as we had to have a brawl over who got to use the towel (the lady won), and me and my guy friend had to go without showering the night/morning. The hotel was very modern (nice lifts, lobby's) and the corridors reminded us of titanic, our friend Jason did a cracking re-enactment of the "get your life jackets on!" scene in the movie. "Free" wi-fi did not work which was a disappointment to us 3 students which was something that would of been beneficial for us. Can't comment on the food/breakfast as we didn't have that. Pizzas smelt quite good though on check-in. One good thing - we asked hotel to call for a taxi and it came within minutes! Overall, did the job and I would recommend it for a quick overnight stay.

Jack

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstarjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to hear you were impressed with the modern design of the hotel and found the room clean.
For future reference, we have a stock of extra towels and bedding at reception that we will happily provide for you.
The free wifi is always available, although we have had feedback that when using an iphone the set up is slightly different and you need to open it through 'safari' and enter the password provided at reception.
I am pleased you were happy with your stay overall and would recommend us to others.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

There are 5 Ibis hotels in Manchester. Compare carefully what you want. For sleeping one night and leaving next aftenoon to the aiport - this was more than ok. During our visit we just got positive and helpfull service. Look what others say about the rooms - I agree their message: new, basic but well functioning. Bed was little hard and might been better if somekind of "softer mattress cover" had been added to the bunk(?). Breakfast: cheap but more than we needed.
Loking forward this type of budget concept: New, clean, location reasonable, well known brand, but no extras, which I dodn't need when at the down town.

Room Tip: Windows are small, but i hope in every room. generally no difference in rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you very much for your feed back on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you felt the service you received was positive and friendly.
There is no difference in the size of the windows in each of the rooms, they are designed as standard.
I am glad you felt the breakfast was value for money and the hotel suited your overall needs.
I hope you will consider us again in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed with our 2 year old son (which we were not charged for), the room was wonderful, but compact (but had everything that was needed), the extra bed for a child is not suitable for under 6 (it is a high sleeper, but i guess it would depend on your child, not suitable for my 2 year old) however as we were not charged for our son, and we only stayed for 2 nights we can not complain.
We paid for the breakfast option, and it was brilliant, it was all you can eat continental, so there was pastries, toast, fruits, tea/coffee and fruit juice, all unlimited...this was wonderful for less then £5 per person per night.
The room was clean, modern, and outstanding condition for the price we paid. The hotel was across the street from the Metro/Tram link it was less then a minutes walk! The 24hour reception, and friendly staff were brilliant and we would genuinely recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for short term stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MrsKayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and compliments. It's great to hear you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the modern design features throughout.
We are very pleased the metrolink is now open, providing direct access to all areas of the city and beyond.
It is always great to hear you were impressed with the team on reception-I will pass on your compliments to them.
Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

PROS: Usually lowish prices; brand new; fairly near to the bus and train stations.

CONS: Rooms are very basic; hotel not particularly well connected by public transport and can be quite a difficult walk from the bus/train stations if you have a lot of baggage; hotel is not very far from the city centre but feels quite remote due to the surroundings; prices can hike up when Manchester is busy and it can be a bit galling to have to pay £45+ for a VERY basic room; staff don't always know what they're doing.

We booked on behalf of guests who were visiting the company where I work. I spoke to someone on the phone who said that they would arrange to take the payment in advance as the guests would not have access to our credit card. When the guests arrived, shortly before midnight, they were not allowed access to the rooms without paying for the two rooms using their own credit card upfront. Luckily they had my mobile number to call me when they realised that there was a problem as I was not in the office at midnight! When I spoke with the night manager he was extraordinarily unhelpful ("madam, it's midnight, what can I do about it?") and refused to listen to me or what I was trying to tell him about the conversation I'd had at the point of booking. He insisted that he wasn't the person I had spoken to, told me a lot of irrelevant stories about his own credit card usage, before finally saying that he couldn't do anything and he'd have to pass on my apologies to the guests in the morning as he couldn't speak to them. While he accepted that the hotel was responsible for giving me the wrong information, he did not make any attempts to solve the problem - he simply insisted that it wasn't his mistake personally and that there was nothing he can do!

I spoke to the guests and they said that the rooms were fine - very basic, but nice enough as the hotel was new.

My company won't ever book with them due to their mistake and subsequent unwillingness to even attempt to rectify their mistake. I imagine that the hotel is fine, however, if you're looking for somewhere cheap and don't plan to stay inside much, and if you're booking for your own personal use and not trying to pay on behalf of someone else. I feel like its newness is it's best attribute (it's all clean and neat) but when it's no longer new it will have little to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy_est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feed back. I was sorry to hear your guests encountered some problems at check in. I have investigated the matter and found out that your booking was done via our central reservation system and not directly with the hotel.
Please note that to comply with the company financial procedure, to be able to take payment from a credit card while the card holder is not present, we need to receive a Pre Authorisation Form via fax or email.
This is, I believe the issue you had on arrival as no authorisation form had been sent.
I am sorry this wasn't clearly explained by our central reservation team and i have now passed on your feedback to them in order to avoid any re-occurrence.
I have also discussed your comments with the Reception Team to ensure that more flexibility is given at check in, as the situation could have been sorted after your guests had checked in.
Apologies once again for the inconvenience and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here when visiting Manchester Velodrome - first impressions very clean and tidy and exceptionally welcoming staff . Went to the room which unfortunately someone had been smoking in but moved rooms with no problem - second room could have done with an airing and the TV didnt work but to be honest it was late and just wanted to sleep. Room clean and basic but fine for what we paid for it. Stairwell could have done with a hoover . Bed was very hard and it would have been nice if the bunk had been made as they knew there were three of us staying.
The lighting felt very upmarket for the room and the shower was one of the best we have used recently. Would use again when we just need a bed for the night ( and they are happy for you to bring your bike in )

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am glad you were pleased with the service you received and enjoyed your stay overall.
I'm sorry to hear you thought your triple booking had been overlooked. I can assure you this was not the case and is in fact standard procedure for all Ibis Budget Hotels to provide a linen pack for the single bunk.
I am pleased to hear you were impressed with the design features in your room and I hope you will consider us for your next trip.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I enjoyed very good service from the staff. Hotel was extremely clean, comfortable and great value. I will use this hotel again when staying in Manchester. Very convenient for the great Northern Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank treborrekool123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and were pleased with the service you received from the team.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Manchester.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing