We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent budget option”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed in an Etap hotel before so knew what to expect from this new hotel, operating under Etap's new name. It's just north of Piccadilly station - walkable, or one stop on Metrolink - and just off the inner ring road. The immediate area is semi-industrial on the ring road, and New Islington is undergoing redevelopment, but it's pretty quiet and is well-placed for the city centre and Northern Quarter.

I had a double room, no-frills but comfy. Only complaint was the size of the toilet cubicle - but I'm a big man - and the blind on the window, which did not come the whole way down meaning I had sunlight right on my face in the morning. The bed was pretty hard, which in itself is OK, but sometimes I felt the springs. Still slept OK. Free wifi and a TV with all Freeview channels is a good touch.

As the hotel is very cheap there were a number of party groups in the hotel. I didn't hear anything, though my partner thought he could. The 5th floor was pretty quiet.

Would I stay again? Yes, especially at the price I paid.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up at the front have a good view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm very pleased to hear you felt we were in a good location and there are good transport links to the city centre.
I'm glad you were impressed with the free wifi throughout the hotel and the flat screen TV's with freeview channels.
It's good to hear that overall, you had a comfortable stay and would chose to stay with us in future. We look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    520
    299
    121
    87
See reviews for
218
361
161
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was a great choice of hotel for a one night stay in the city; good location, spotless in the room and for the price we could not have asked for more!
Only very very slight downsides were that there could have been a bath mat as the shower directly in the room and the pillows a bit thin, but apart from that we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rachelmw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay. I am really pleased you were happy with the locaiton and felt the hotel was value for money.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

New budget ibis.location 10 minutes by foot from picadilly station,that is ok.clean,new facilities,close to etihad stadium.For me it is cheap,but too much budget,no place in the room to put your things.One night,the room near there were load party at 3-4 am but no phone in the room to call management.Heating is by air conditioner,when you enter the room and switch it on it takes the time to heat.Our last night there were only hot water from the tap and no cold at all,again no phone to call,you can burn yourself.I believe that this hotel good for youngsters or those who come for 1 night to see Man City match

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuranet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry you felt the hotel was too basic, however the facilities are designed in line with the budget rates we are able to offer our guests.
I am pleased you felt the hotel was in a good location for you.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Was going out for the night in Manchester, stayed here as no public transport home after 10.30 on a Sunday, and was cheaper then a taxi. Excellent hotel, friendly staff, room and hotel very clean and modern, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would chose to stay again.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The bed is too hard to sleep on. It will be better if there is a spring bed or a softer one. Overall, the hotel experience is excellent. Important note is that when i checked in the door failed to open which minus some points.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Henry318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am sorry you the bed didn't meet your expectations. The beds provided are standard in all Ibis Budget Hotels, so unfortunately I have no control over what is installed, however I am always happy to pass on guest feed back to the relevant people.
I am sorry there was an issue with the electronic lock initially, but I am glad to hear you felt your overall experience was excellent.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Can't beat it for value. Rooms are pretty basic but more than adequate. Staff were excellent and I couldn't fault them. Breakfast pretty basic, but OK for a quick feed. Great having a coffee shop next door. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichoBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for leaving feed back on your recent stay. I'm very pleased you found the hotel good value for money. It's great to hear you would describe the team as excellent and would choose to stay with us again in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

enjoy my stay here and very likely to stay again, conveniently located near city centre, railway station and shopping centres, friendly and helpful staff, reception open 24 hours, felt safe in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Khatpandwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would chose to stay with us again.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing