We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A lot better than expected”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stopped here as we were going to the Ethiad stadium to watch MUSE. The staff were superb the rooms superb, what let it down were the thin walls where every noise was heard,
As you expect on a concert night there were going to be some rowdys in the hotel. The hotel has to have a zero tolerance policy after midnight or it will not work as a base to stop. We wont stop again for that reason there were four of us and we all agreed no point in getting a bed if you cant sleep? Such a shame as everything else was perfect.

I travel a lot in Europe they have this zero tolerance policy in a lot of hotels you get warned once, second time they pack your bags the rest of the hotel sleeps.

Such a shame because everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TrevK437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for leaving feed back on your stay. I am very pleased you described the hotel and staff as superb, but sorry to hear you felt the walls were too thin.
We endeavour to deal with any cases of excessive noise as quickly as possible and have measures in place to control this, including issuing warnings and/or eviction if necessary.
Many thanks once again, I am pleased the hotel exceeded your expectations..
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    527
    302
    121
    87
See reviews for
219
363
162
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I wasn't exactly over impressed with this hotel, however, I didn't expect much anyway as it was reasonably cheap at short notice. The room was surprisingly large, but I think this was mainly due to the minimalistic furniture inside! There was one double bed, with a single bunk above it. Way over in the corner there was a tiny desk mounted to the wall with a small tv above. The sink was beside the bed, with the shower just behind separated by a glass door. Very strange layout, however I wasn't bothered as it was only for one night anyway!
As others have mentioned, the location of the hotel is very good.
Free wifi was good, not super fast, but certainly adequate. Especially as it is free!
Hair dryer was available for £10, which I got back in full when I returned it the next day.
Probably wouldn't stay again, but I think it would be a great choice for backpackers travelling as a pair or in a group!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feed back about your recent stay. I am pleased you were pleasantly surprised with the size of your room and you were happy with the location.
I am also glad you made good use of the free wifi available throughout the hotel.
Toiletries not present in the room are available to hire or purchase from reception 24 hours and an ironing room is also located in reception for guests to use at their leisure.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stopped for 2 nights to see Muse at The Etihad. Check in very efficient & was advised where to park (no customer car park) for £2 a day. Paid £30 a night 6 months in advance & at that price you can't go wrong. My tip is to read Trip Advisor on what is included! No kettle in the room - no probs I took a travel one with me & some coffee etc. Only 2 medium towels so brought our own. No shower gel or shampoo... No worries bring your own! For the price you pay if you research then the hotel is a bargain. Pure & simple!
Etihad is a 10 minute walk & so is the City Centre!
Breakfast is continental so if your not struck on toast, pastries, cereal etc then walk the 10 minutes into the City Centre.
Flat screen tv mounted on the wall with free view channels & although the room is compact it's not too small... Remember you're paying £30.
If you're stopping in a room with someone that you don't feel comfortable with when naked then the shower is a problem, as its inside the bedroom (no joke) although the toilet is separate.
The security guard is a lovely bloke & he actually wants to help you when questions are posed & it makes for a secure building. Also Nick (Nik) on the front desk is a wealth of knowledge on the area so seek him out to answer any questions you have. Bed slightly firm but didn't disturb my nights sleep, hotel very modern & was very clean.
I have only 1 negative comment but it doesn't effect my score... When you put the Do Not Disturb sign on your bedroom door that means Do Not Disturb... We were disturbed twice!

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle, coffee, towel & shower gel/shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean00_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is advertised as a budget hotel so I will let issues such as the comfiness of the beds slide (although providing more than two hand towels for a three bedroom room might be advisable) there are many things that not even the budget label can cover.

For a start the toilets are of a preposterously small size, something Ibis have decided to compensate for my cutting the bottoms off the door as sliding your shoes underneath is a necessity if you own feet. Wiping of areas after a certain toilet activity also becomes a problem as there's not enough room within the cupboard provided to get the angle to wipe.

Now while the toilet provided was inadequate, what was most peculiar was how it was not part of a bathroom, in the Ibis they have decided that a shower should be a cubicle within the main bedroom area, which while a clever space saving idea, would be a lot more effective if it actually had a door that wasn't almost completely transparent, and while the LED colour changing lights in the shower are flashy, all they do is change the slight tint of your friends testicles you are forced to watch while trying not to in your bed, if you're wondering why you have to, it's because the conveniently placed mirrors mean that even when you don't want to, you have a perfectly good view of whoever is in the shower.

But the biggest problem, past that of having to become incredibly intimate with people with who it's not appropriate and not being able to deficate without a foot amputation is there was no kettle provided in the room and after a long journey many of the hotel's customers would appreciate a nice cup of tea, without paying for it from reception!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLight L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Had a great weekend - the hotel was great. Very easy to get to from Piccadilly station. Ideally positioned to get into centre of Manchester with buses and Metrolink station very close, and walking distance from the Etihad stadium.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm very pleased you found the transport links efficient and felt the hotel was in a good location for venues within the city.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I would definitely stay here again. Not far from Manchester city centre and the Ethiad stadium, just what we needed for the magic weekend! Room was great and we got extra pillows when asked for them so good service too. Rooms are basic but have everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PERKS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm very pleased you felt the hotel was in a good location and you were happy with the service you received.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Really good value for money. Short walk to Piccadilly. Twin rooms are cosy. We got taxi's in and out of town as we were going to Printworks...wearing heels, and it was only a few pounds. Staff very helpful and polite. Really clean. Costa right there too, very handy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kimmyb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review, I'm very pleased to hear you were happy with the service you received and had a good overall stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 116 in Manchester
1,626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing