We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 29 June 2013

When I searched for a hotel at the last minute for a brief stay in Manchester the ibis budget was one of the cheapest and seemed decent but with knowledge that it was a 'budget' hotel my expectations were pretty average. As soon as I walked in to the reception area I was amazed by how modern and inviting it was. The woman who was working at the check in desk gave me a very friendly welcome, went through amenieties, the times of breakfast and made sure to tell me that if I had any questions or requests someone would always be on the desk 24/7.
After the welcoming check in I was surprised again by how nice the room was compared to a Travelodge which was more expensive. The best way to describe is to liken it to very expensive student accomodation. There was a normal double bed with a tiny desk and stool in the corner with a flat screen television. There is only a seperate tiny room for the toilet that I would not reccomend for people who are claustraphobic. The sink is in the main room as is the shower only seperated by a frosted door (only get a double room if you are with someone you are comfortable being naked around as it would be awkward otherwise :p) Although the room was basic which is what I expected, it was again very modern and very clean as well which I was impressed with.
A great random feature is that the shower lights up different colours (which is great for people like me that are amused by small things). My only gripe was that the bed wasn't the most comfortable that I have slept on with only one pillow for each person however it is still sleepable. The location whilst not be the most attractive it is quite convenient with only being a 10-15 min walk to the city centre with a metro link station and bus links on the door step. I cannot comment on the food as I did not eat breakfast there but I thought £4.95 was definitely a decent price (less than the Travelodge and Premier Inn).
Overall I would reccomend this hotel if the price was under £50, depending on what day you stay there (I paied £39), the staff were very friendly giving me extra towels and glasses when I asked for them straight away. If you want a cheap place to stay in Manchester and are on a budget this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxstubearxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay. I am extremely pleased you were impressed with the service you received upon arrival and throughout the duration of your stay. It's great to hear your overall stay exceeded your expectations and you felt the transport links were convenient.
The team and I hope you will consider us for future bookings.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Location is good - 10 mins walk from Piccadilly station. The hotel was clean and the rooms had everything you'd expect for £33 a night - bed, tv, shower, toilet, towels and air con. Hair dryer was available to rent from reception for £10 deposit which was returned when you handed back the hair dryer. Hotel was safe and secure - someone on reception 24 hours a day and you needed a room key card to activate the lift. You could purchase pizza and drinks from reception. Definately value for money and more than you'd expect from a budget hotel. Staff were also helpful and friendly. I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay and for your kind comments.
It's great to hear you were happy with the facilities and the price you paid and you were also satisfied with the service you recieved from the team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I booked this hotel when I booked my Robbie Williams tickets way back in November 2012 and for £28 for 2 people we had reservations about what I would get for the low price but we were not disappointed. I read on the website that they don't provide tea & coffee facilities in the room so I 'cadged' a travel kettle from a colleague (and glad I did as I Sunday morning I certainly needed a caffine boost after the night before!) When we arrive Saturday we were greeted by Frederic Dumont the manager who couldn't have been more helpful. When we got to the room we were very happy with what was provided, we were on the 6th floor. The room was more than we expected and was very clean and I loved the rope lights round the room. The noise was minimal apart from a few doors banging. The only downside was that the bed was hard (but can be expected for a budget hotel) but after the night we had as soon as our heads hit the pillow we were asleep!! Would certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and compliments. I am very pleased you were happy with your stay and felt it was value for money.
It's great to hear you were happy with the service and I hope you enjoyed the concert.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jojol90
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hudson35
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The checkin was quick and easy and the staff on reception were very helpful. The room was nice but as most other reviews state the bed was a bit hard but other than that everything else was fine. Breakfast the next morning was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSpalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay. I'm very pleased to hear you found the staff helpful and you were pleased with your room and breakfast.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £29 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing