We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A really good budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is one of the Accor Hotel chain's new budget hotels.

They describe their rooms as 'pods', which seems to mean that rather than a separate en suite, the shower and sink are integrated into the bedroom space - although the toilet is in its own cubicle!

The furnishings are spartan but you have everything you need: bed, desk, TV, good lighting, mirrors and space for hanging your clothes. The bed wasn't all that comfortable so I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel for a long stay. But if you are in Manchester overnight for business or clubbing, it would serve its purpose.

I was offered a quiet room, on the top floor so it was away from the noise of the busy road that runs by. Staff also try to ensure the clubbers and the business people are suitably spaced out to minimise possible disturbance, and that courtesy was really appreciated.

On the plus side, a room booked in advance was just pennies over £30 with breakfast. It was also impressively clean and the staff were very friendly. On the down side, the lack of carpet and a single slim duvet doesn't make for a cosy room in a rainy city like Manchester.

Hopefully the hotel will think about addressing that. Then I would have no problem rating this hotel 5-star.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room as the hotel is on a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay. I'm very pleased you were happy with your room allocation and you found everything you needed.
The bedding and flooring is standard within all new Ibis Budgets and something beyond my control unfortunately. However I always endeavour to pass on any feedback to the relevant departments.
I'm really glad you felt your overall stay was value for money and hopefully you will consider us again for future visits.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    543
    307
    123
    86
See reviews for
224
373
164
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room was spotless, but rather stark in design.
The only thing missing was a kettle!
The shower was in the room, but powerful and spacious.
Handy for the station, but the area around the hotel is a work in progress.
All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms are not included in the budget package, but are available 24 hours from the lounge area downstairs.
I am very pleased you felt your overall stay was value for money and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

When you book an Ibis or Ibis Budget you know what to expect and most times you won't be dissapointed. But there is one that messes with my head: why their rules regarding internet and lockers change so often? Been to there hotels in UK, FR, BR and sometimes the internet is free, sometimes not, sometimes the lockers are free, sometimes they aren't.
But ok, we can deal with that. Regarding this specific hotel now. New and quite interesting building, rooms as expected and hey, a CHROMOTHERAPY shower! It looked quite cheesy to have colour LEDs on your shower but they actually are relaxing and fun. Try it with the lights out.
The bad part of this hotel is the location. As a budget traveller who will do anything but get in a cab, I walked with my girlfriend from the coach station to the hotel at around 19 pm in the summer. It was an AWKWARD ride through Adair St. where we saw prostitutes, possible clients and nothing else - other than us with our cabin sized luggage. So the tip is: either get the Metrolink, a cab or if you wanna walk, head to Great Ancoats St. with any street other than Adair.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeAppolinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

As with any big city, there will be some streets/routes that are deemed less attractive.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the centre, but offers a number of direct routes to chose from.
The reception team will happily provide you with a city map, and/or route maps for the direct transport available from the door step of the hotel into the heart of the centre.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed the mood lighting in the showers and hope that you will consider us for future visits to Manchester.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

If you can find a fault with this hotel you need your head checking, I paid £42 a night for city centre accommodation inc breakfast, per room an absolute bargain!

The rooms are clean and spacious, and have everything you'd want inc air con and an ace shower that glows bright green (the shower is in the room with the bedroom) plenty of plus sockets and comfy but firm beds!

The hotel itself is spacious, modern and clean

The breakfast is continental with a vast selection plus all the hot drinks & fruit juices you can drink!

The manager Frederic (I think that's his name) is a credit to the hotel, he's friendly, funny and helped me learn French :D

I could not find one fault, this is described as a budget hotel but I genuinely don't think it is, it's better than Travelodges & Premier Inns!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dothecharchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and features within the room.
I'm also glad you were pleased with the unlimited buffet breakfast and would recommend us as a 'good value' choice. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

(Heureux d'avoir ete votre source d'inspiration francaise durant votre sejour!)

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing