We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #60 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel with friendly staff. A short walk from the city centre & main train station and there was a tram stop just 200 yards or so from the front door. Facilities were good and was more than satisfied with what we got for price paid. Had to stay a 2nd night due to the weather though and we were charged £59 when it was advertising as £33 on the front of the building!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, I'm very happy to hear the location was convenient, you found the staff friendly and the hotel clean.
The advert on the board is to inform people that rooms can be booked for as little as £33 subject to occupancy levels and time of booking.

I hope you had a safe journey back the following day and you will think of us again when planning future visits.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    516
    293
    118
    85
See reviews for
214
356
160
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Close to city centre and clean are the best things I can say about this hotel. My friend and I spent one night in a twin room, it was nicely decorated but neither of us slept at all due mainly to the rock hard beds which were the width of a child's bed and not the usual size for a twin-bedded room.

The pillow (I stress pillow) was so thin that I resorted to folding it in half to bulk it up.

The toilet cubicle was so small that even I at 4ft 10in had very little space.

No tea/coffee making facilities, which we have always had in previous stays at other Ibis hotels.

Breakfast was really disappointing, as we were not told when we paid for it that it was continental breakfast only. No hot food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay.

It is standard for the Ibis Budget brand to offer tea and coffee in the reception area 24 hours and to provide 2 pillows per 2 people. However should you require any extra linen i.e towels/pillows they are available to collect from reception 24 hours.

The Ibis (red) hotels are the 2 star brand offering extra amenities (tea and coffee in room/restaurant) for a higher room rate.

I am sorry to hear the beds and the lay out of the room did not suit your requirements; however I am glad you were satisfied with the location and cleanliness of the hotel.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I randomly decided to book a night in this hotel, after staying in the Ibis in Liverpool, and really enjoying it.
However, it REALLY is extremely budget. I guess its like staying in a hostel.

When I got into bed, I noticed black streaks all over the white sheets. I went downstairs and complained, and a lady came up with fresh sheets, which she explained I would have to change myself.
I showed her the marks, and she said she thinks they were pressed into the sheets during cleaning- I could understand this, however whoever made this bed would have seen this, and should have replaced the sheets??

When I took the sheets off to change, a saw a number of different hairs embedded in the mattress. I was utterly disgusted, it was very off putting. I literally curled up into the smallest ball, and slept in the corner of the bed, as I did not want to be on the filthy mattress. I felt like being sick!

After my horrifying experience, I did write an email to the hotel complaining. I received a response from a Mr Frederic Dumont. He offered a 20% discount on my next stay, however I explained that I live in London and only randomly decided to go to Manchester for the night, and would not be returning. So asked if there was anything else he could do.
I was ignored, and did not receive any other response.

I would warn anyone contemplating this place, to not go!
ps. I could only upload 3 photos, however I have many more on my phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I booked the Ibis because I left it too late and there was not much choice in this price range. I paid £49 which wasn't too bad. Good things about the hotel: room was very clean, comfy bed, good air con, 20min walk from town centre. Bad things: toilet a bit claustrophobic, no kettle in the room and lack of bath mat so when I was having a shower floor got a bit wet (since the shower is in the actual bedroom). In general, I was quite happy with the room, my boyfriend wasn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay.
I'm pleased you were satisfied with your overall stay and felt the hotel was in a good location for the city centre. For future reference, if you do need any extra towels or a bath mat for the floor please come and see one of the receptionists who will happily provide those for you.

I'm sorry to hear your boyfriend was not happy with the room but we do hope you will consider us again for future visits.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel staff were attentive, bearing in mind this is a budget hotel I didn't expect them to be so customer focused. Room was clean, location was spot on and the drinks were reasonably priced. Would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Many thanks for leaving feedback on your stay.
I am very pleased to hear you were pleasantly surprised by the level of service you received and felt the hotel was in a good location.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#80 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing