We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for our wedding ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here for our wedding ”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stay here for our wedding on the 18 to the 21/09/13 it was ok on check in but was we told them about noise in the night from other in the hotel they said they would let the boss know and was we ask if the heater working in the room they said it be out for the last week they did say they will get someone to look at it but it never happen so I don't know if we come back

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gareth200913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you experienced noise from other (inconsiderate) guests.
We have security and a sound censor in reception to prevent this, however unfortunately this seemed to have been an exceptional case.
The heating system was not faulty for a week, but there were a few rooms affected for a short period. If it could not be fixed by our maintenance team, a portable heater was provided at reception.

I am sorry to hear you will not be staying with us again in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    527
    302
    121
    87
See reviews for
219
363
162
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

During this visit I also stayed at Ibis Budget Manchester Salford Quays to compare them, so this review should be read in conjunction with that one.
This hotel has only just opened (and still smelt new which i liked!) and as such is the very latest Ibis Budget design, offering many improvements over the previous version as used at Salford Quays, the best of which for me was the automatic 'light-on' when you opened the Toilet Door! This makes such a difference and its so nice not to have to fumble for the light switch in the dark - big improvment!
There are funky LED lights in the room (although the room is normal Etap size) a larger shower cubicle than previous design and a very nice double-height Reception and Breakfast area, and they even sell items such as Burgers which you can heat up which is handy if you are stuck late at night and want something hot to eat - Although its budget it feels a bit higher spec!
However for me there are 2 major drawbacks. The first of which is for reasons best known to the architect, each room only has very narrow windows, like the 'slits' that you get in castles and prisons! This was a big disappointment to me as it was hard to see much and it made a small room seem even smaller! What were Accor thinking when they agreed to this??
The second one is that the immediate area around the hotel is fairly dead. This is a developing part of Manchester so this will probably change in time, and i didn't explore as much as i intended to, but i didn't see much and you would have to go into the Centre for food and attractions, unlike Salford Quays you can't just stay local.
In conclusion i would say that it depends what you will be doing. If you need to be based close to Piccadilly then stay here, only one stop on the Tram, and walkable if you've got good shoes! I like the fact that it's bang up-to-date, but those horrible small windows and lack of local facilities puts me off. I would go back, but would probably veer towards the Salford Quays branch despite the older room design, given the bigger windows and better locale.

Room Tip: Again partly overlooks a main road so try a higher floor. I think all rooms have those narrow window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time write such a detailed review of your stay.
I'm really pleased you feel the Ibis Budget design is a noticeable improvement on the previous model.

It's great to hear the modern touches in the rooms make an impact on so many of our guests and we are extremely proud of our purpose built reception/dining area.

You were correct in saying the surrounding area is currently undergoing a huge transformation, with plans from highly regarded designers already in place for a unique urban overhaul along the canal bank.

You may have seen the outstanding 'Chips' building already finished and home to young professionals; along with the ever expanding metrolink service running frequently through the city and beyond every 12 minutes.

Our building is part of the plan; a brand new modern complex home to Costa, Dominos and stylish office block. We are excited to be a part of the community; however it is for this reason I am unable to comment on the design of the windows. I am sorry they were not to your taste.

We do not have a group of restaurants across the road from us as the city centre is a 10 minute walk or 5 minute tram journey and is bursting with shops, bars and restaurants to choose from.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope you will consider us for your next trip.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was looking for a hotel for two nights to attend a business conference. The room although basic was clean and modern and had all I could need. Wifi was easily accessible though could be slow on occasions. The bed was rather firm which I liked bit might not suit some people. Overall, for the money, it can't be faulted. I would definitely stay here again for a conference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drchrispo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I'm thrilled to hear you could not fault the hotel for the price you paid and felt it was value for money.

It's great to hear you would choose to stay with us in future; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice now and have been happy both times. We had rooms on the 3rd and 2nd floors and there was no issue with noise. Extra towels and pillows were given on request and the room was very clean. I liked the light up shower however the clear door and mirror placed opposite meant I could see everything in the shower when I was in bed. The breakfast was pretty over priced, around £5 and there was no cooked food, mostly cereal and croissants. Overall a very reasonable hotel and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay.
I am very happy to hear the hotel is maintaining the standard you expect from us and we provided everything you required.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you will consider us again for future visits to Manchester.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Contrary to what others have said I found the staff at this hotel to be very friendly. They moved our booking (due to match change) even though it was booked on a promotional / non change rate.

Rooms are small but functional. I'd already stayed in the Belfast one so knew about the shower in the room. This could be tricky for groups of bashful friends. Worth noting that the toilet is in a separate room.

Prices do get inflated on big match days so book early.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark_NIron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I'm thrilled to hear you were happy with the service you received from the team and we were able to rearrange your booking.
Although we cannot cancel or refund the booking we do try to move the reservation to another date (subject to availability) but please note that if the new date is a higher rate, the extra amount is required and if lower, a refund cannot be made.

We appreciate your continued loyalty to the Ibis Budget brand and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was surprised at the cost of the hotel when I booked, at 75 GBP for 1 person for 2 nights, but it was for a function that was taking place nearby. The function was cancelled and I attempted to to cancel the reservation.
I tried calling the hotel but the phone line was busy the first 10 or 15 times I rang. Eventually someone answered and rudely informed me that I had booked under a special promotion and was unable to cancel the booking. I am sure this was written in the fine print., but I did not see it. If it was a promotion I would have expected a cheaper price.
I would not deal with these guys again and certainly not recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraceODonovan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback; I do sympathise and understand your circumstances were unforseen, however the terms and conditions of the reservation state that the booking option you chose was non-cancellable and non-refundable.

For future reference, there is the option of the flexible rate which allows you to cancel any time before 2pm on the day arrival.

I am sorry to hear you will not choose to stay with us again on this basis.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 116 in Manchester
1,626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.8 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing