We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Comfortable Stay at Ibis Budget Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unexpected Comfortable Stay at Ibis Budget Manchester”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at Ibis Budget Hotel in Manchester Pollard Str for business in March 2014. I chose it because it was a reasonable price in comparison to the others in the city centre location yet appeared to have a good rating from previous users.

It is different to other hotels I've stayed at because it is a "concept" type hotel. Which means that it is not the standard type of room with a standard on-suite. Instead the room is modern with a feeling of being a bit futuristic. Although the room is smallish, it looks and feels more spacious than it is because of the light walls and floors. All of the surfaces in the room look like they are some sort of washable plastic cubicle finish. Very stylish and fun looking.

The loo is en-suite and in its own standard attached room but the shower which is also en-suite is enclosed in a cubicle in the wall. also a bit like a futuristic pod. Very nice power shower with lots of space.

The bed was very impressive with good pillows and I slept well.

Hanging space was provided although not in a cupboard and it had the usual desk space and tv, etc. Altogether I felt like it was very clean and modern and well worth the price paid.

The reception staff were always attentive and helpful, even late at night. Although no dining facilities on site, except for breakfast, take out venues were nearby. Pizza shop literally around the corner from the entrance and Costa as well.

I was able to walk everywhere that I needed to be in the city centre and to the office venue for work, although there were lots of taxis around for the less mobile person.

Breakfast was fine and had a sufficient range for a continental option. I personally would have preferred a cooked option as well for the cost of the breakfast, but this was my only negative, which is down to my personal choice.

I would recommend this hotel and Central Manchester in general. It was my first time and I had heard the Manchester stereotype comments about it being a bit dubious, but I found it to be vibrant, conveniently close together for walking and lots of interesting venues for eating or drinks. Tons of shopping facilities too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay.

It's great to hear you were impressed with the Ibis Budget concept, finding your room spacious, stylish and fun. And I'm really pleased you were impressed with the bed and slept well.

I'm always thrilled to hear people are continually impressed with the level of service from the team and felt they received value for money.

Thank you for recommending us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    543
    307
    123
    86
See reviews for
224
373
164
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Its never really easy reviewing a hotel because they are used for so many occasions. We stayed here for a Manchester city break and spent 2 nights. I think the cost was around £80 for 2 people for 2 nights. This is already incredible value.

The rooms are of course basic however, they are clean, well sized, un-prison like and have quality showers. The staff were friendly and helpful, the iron was crap but still was made available to us.

Ultimately, we slept comfortably and spend minimal time in the room and were very happy with the hotel. If you are aiming for the same, this hotel is the right choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I'm thrilled to hear you felt the hotel was incredible value for money and you were impressed with the level of cleanliness and service.

The team and I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here with friends twice during the last few months and would return again and again. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and pleasant. The hotel is ideally located for most ameneties, or only a short taxi ride away. Reception can arrange a taxi for you. And when you get in late at night (or whenever) they can provide you with takeaway menus to order food to your room!

The whole hotel is light and airy, everywhere feels clean and modern. I would highly recommend staying here, not if you want to just stay in your room the whole time but a great base for going out and about.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and loyalty to the hotel.
It is fantastic to hear you have been continuously impressed with the standard of service from the team; the cleanliness and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Obviously this is avid get hotel, you get what you pay for and expect.
It's very clean, beds are unusually comfortable, all the staff we met were very nice and helpful.

The only thing I could complain about is the tea/coffee prices. £1.40 for a small cuppa seems a little excessive, but I suppose it's a hotel!

I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garethpittaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay.
I'm very pleased you had a comfortable sleep and were impressed with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great value for money, i went for a one night stay with friends, ideal location to the center 5 minutes in a taxi for around £5, you could walk but it was raining.The staff are really friendly and helpfull. i wanted an extra pillow and got one with no problems.the room is basic but very clean with air conditioning too.,no tea making facilities though but coffee machines available in the lobby.plus other snacks.would definatley be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 609lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.
It's great to hear you felt we were in a convenient location and found the staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Simply brilliant. For what we paid, we weren't expecting much whatsoever, however straight away we were greeted by a bubbly receptionist laughing and joking with us when we arrived around about 8.30, it seemed she couldn't of done more to introduce us and make us feel welcome.
We got to our rooms and they were clean, bright and warm. We'd booked four rooms next to each other (2 double and 2 triple) and having a hen party across from us and another party down the corridor made the atmosphere quite surreal.
The shower didn't seem to bother anyone in the group, it's not as if you can see anything through the frosted film anyway. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked like a dream and there was not a spec of dust to be seen.
At around 11pm the gentlemen behind the desk offered to book us a taxi to deans gate locks and was chatting to us all until it arrived.
Upon checking out, the staff were as polite as they had been throughout the stay. This is a budget hotel, no doubt about it! But it's a brilliant one at that. 10 minutes walk from Piccadilly station can't be complained at either.
Will definitely be staying here again and would reccommend others to follow suit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NDurrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and compliments.
I'm thrilled to hear you were impressed with the service you received throughout your stay and would describe us as a brilliant Budget hotel.

It's great to hear you would choose to stay with us again; the team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing