We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money (apart from the breakfast)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here when I went to a concert at the Phones 4U Arena. It's a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station and only about 20 mins walk from the Phones 4U Arena straight along Great Ancoats Street.

Staff on reception were friendly. I've stayed in Ibis hotels before in Belgium so I knew what to expect from the rooms. My 5th floor room was actually a decent size and had a double bed, although the toilet appeared as though it had been shoved into a store cupboard. And I even had a nice view over Manchester city centre and could see the Pennine hills on the horizon.

Only gripe I had was with the "continental breakfast" which cost an extra £4.95 on top of the £35 I paid for the room. Now, having just returned from Germany and Belgium I know what a proper continental breakfast should consist of. The breakfast offered by the Ibis consisted of a mini bread rolls, one type of meat, pre-wrapped sticks of cheese, croissants and cereal. I could have gone to a greasy-spoon cafe down the road and paid less for a Full-English Breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay.

I'm sorry the breakfast did not meet your expectations; however I'm pleased you found the staff friendly and were happy with the view from your room.

We hope you will consider us for future stays.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed one night last night with the hubby and daughter.. Please note this is a budget hotel so no frills.. Staff were amazing and helpful & Dumont was lovely and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him.. rooms clean and basic but as we didn't intend to stay in the hotel much that didn't matter...

Breakfast was continental but had plenty of everything..

The tram stop was across the road and this made it easy acsses to the city centre and only a few minutes ride or walking was about 15 mins.. Would be happy to stay again.. Xxxxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the service and the location of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as it was close to the Etihad Stadium. Yes this is a budget hotel and therefore no frills, if you want that don't stay here. However we found it perfect for what we wanted. The room was clean and tidy, we stayed on the 3rd floor and had no problems with noise whatsoever. Staff were friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank John and Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.
I'm thrilled to hear the hotel was perfect for what you wanted and in a good location for the Etihad.
I'm pleased you were happy with the service you received; the team and I hope to welcome you back again in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed one night for a concert at the Etihad, 12 people, 5 adults, 7 & kids in 5 rooms. Worked out at £45 per room which was fantastic value. The check in was quick and Frederick was very friendly. Rooms were basic but clean and functional. We hardly spent any time in the rooms anyway.

15 mins walk to the Etihad, very easy to find. When we returned we got drinks and sat in the reception/eating area for a while, lots of people mingling about after the concert. Expected it to be noisy with the amount of children and teenagers about but it was really quiet after midnight (when we went to bed).

Beds were comfy and no noise heard at all. Breakfast the next day was fine, everything you would expect from a breakfast buffet.

Check out was easy and once again Frederick was very helpful.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay made even better by the fab value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay.
I'm very pleased you were happy with the service you received and felt your stay was fantastic value.

We hope you will consider us again for future visits.

Kind regards
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

hotel itself was very clean and modern,however despite booking a triple room,the single bunk wasn't made up,the bedding was just in a bag for me to make up myself,and we were only given 2 towels...the shower is in the room itself(no good unless your very good friends with the people your sharing with!),which you step out of straight onto a slippy laminate floor...the bed itself was extremely hard,resulting in a poor nights sleep for both myself and my daughter.For a budget hotel,it was ok,but in my opinion,pay a bit extra and book a Premier inn

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorps1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay.
I'm sorry the Ibis Budget concept was not to your taste. It is standard across the brand for linen to be provided for the top bunk bed and two towels supplied in each room; however the reception team will be more than happy to provide any extra towels or pillows you may need 24 hours.

The design, again, is uniform for Ibis Budget hotels; however I am sorry to hear you and your daughter did not sleep well.

Many thanks once again. It is disappointing you would not choose to stay again in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at Ibis Budget Hotel in Manchester Pollard Str for business in March 2014. I chose it because it was a reasonable price in comparison to the others in the city centre location yet appeared to have a good rating from previous users.

It is different to other hotels I've stayed at because it is a "concept" type hotel. Which means that it is not the standard type of room with a standard on-suite. Instead the room is modern with a feeling of being a bit futuristic. Although the room is smallish, it looks and feels more spacious than it is because of the light walls and floors. All of the surfaces in the room look like they are some sort of washable plastic cubicle finish. Very stylish and fun looking.

The loo is en-suite and in its own standard attached room but the shower which is also en-suite is enclosed in a cubicle in the wall. also a bit like a futuristic pod. Very nice power shower with lots of space.

The bed was very impressive with good pillows and I slept well.

Hanging space was provided although not in a cupboard and it had the usual desk space and tv, etc. Altogether I felt like it was very clean and modern and well worth the price paid.

The reception staff were always attentive and helpful, even late at night. Although no dining facilities on site, except for breakfast, take out venues were nearby. Pizza shop literally around the corner from the entrance and Costa as well.

I was able to walk everywhere that I needed to be in the city centre and to the office venue for work, although there were lots of taxis around for the less mobile person.

Breakfast was fine and had a sufficient range for a continental option. I personally would have preferred a cooked option as well for the cost of the breakfast, but this was my only negative, which is down to my personal choice.

I would recommend this hotel and Central Manchester in general. It was my first time and I had heard the Manchester stereotype comments about it being a bit dubious, but I found it to be vibrant, conveniently close together for walking and lots of interesting venues for eating or drinks. Tons of shopping facilities too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay.

It's great to hear you were impressed with the Ibis Budget concept, finding your room spacious, stylish and fun. And I'm really pleased you were impressed with the bed and slept well.

I'm always thrilled to hear people are continually impressed with the level of service from the team and felt they received value for money.

Thank you for recommending us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Farida A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#63 of 121 in Manchester
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £27 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing