We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous for the price!”
Review of New Hong Kong - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous for the price!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A colleague with offices on Mosely Street suggested a quick bite to eat in China Town so we took "pot luck" and chose the New Hong Kong at random. It had been a favourite in my student days, but had not visited in more years than I care to mention! I wish I hadn't stayed away so long!
OK, so the atmosphere isn't exactly electric and the decor is tired at best, but the food more than makes up for these shortcomings.
We opted for Dim Sum and were delighted to see that, during the week, these are half price.
The Su Mai were delicious, the Beef & Ginger dumplings a joy and the pork buns soft with the requesit gooey filling.
We finished off with the little custard tarts.
All of this, with tea thrown in cost just over £12. You'd be hard-pushed to get coffee & a sandwich for two in the cty centre for that price.
The service was good - nothing special, but then when you're just pooping in for an hour, what you want most is quick attentive staff and they were certainly that.
Would I make the trip into town for a meal in the evening? Probably not, it's not that special. But if you find yourself in that part of town, its definitely worth a visit - I'll certainly be back next time I'm in Manchester.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great price and food”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday afternoon after shopping in town, we chose crispy duck for a starter (lush) and mixed meat noodles and sweet and sour chicken both off the value menu for £5.95 each, they both were huge and tasted fab! We would definitely visit again if going back into Manchester!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarehoward11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Waiters need more sleep”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Went for dim sum which was good enough but the waiters must be moonlighting at other jobs because these guys were TIRED
They were almost dragging the used dim sum baskets off the table.
After asking for the bill I finally had to go up to the cashier to pay because I was tired of waiting.
Maybe they were working at half the speed because we were there when prices were 50% off ...

Helpful?
Thank mauikeiki65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Can't Keep Away when in Manchester.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Another fine meal in a family favourite.After a remarkable day at the game a great meal was called for.New Hong Kong never fails us & again family & friends {who were visting for the 1st time} were all agreed.Half had the banquet option whilst the rest ordered individually.We had travelled over 400 miles & it was interesting to see some neighbours at another table {another good sign}.The flavours are all wonderful & choices available must suit even the most discerning palate.Can't wait till next season to return again.The only slight criticism was that our service was unusually slow, with our meal taking just taking over 3 hours.Whilst enjoying the craic it was a a late night & we were all very tired after a long day at the theatre of dreams.Every-one left very happy though having enjoyed some wonderful cooking.Food & Drinks very reasonable for such quality cuisine.Thoroughly recommended.!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best dim sum in Manchester”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have been going here for around 3 years. Everyday their dim sum is half price until 5pm which is an absolute bargain. Each dim sum comes hot and sometimes all of them separately. Not like other places, which bring 5 dishes at once, half hot, half cold.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thevman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Hong Kong also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing