We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but expensive beer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BrewDog Manchester

BrewDog Manchester
Ranked #16 of 210 Nightlife in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can look forward to vintage board games, a beer library, old school pin ball machines and a menu of epic burgers, dogs and tater tots! Along with our keen and eager counterparts on the same street, we are fronting the efforts for Peter St to put its immediate past of closed down awful bars behind it. Manchester is vibrant, enigmatic city with a burgeoning craft beer and food scene and we are pledging allegiance to the cause in our signature way. In hops we trust.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great but expensive beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This Brew Dog pub is about ten minutes walk from Manchester Oxford Rd train station

This is difficult to rate. I love the Brew Dog beer which is absolutely excellent. The food is also very good. But the BIG downside is the price: the cheapest beer is £4.05 a pint for the 3.8% abv session beer. I think the Punk IPA was £4.45 a pint
Come on guys - these prices are outrageous. It seems that Brew Dog beers increase in price the further south you go, with (I'm told) it being even more expensive in London!
The price is the reason why I've marked it down. Have a couple here then go somewhere else!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rudyardkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RubberBumpers, Manager at BrewDog Manchester, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi there! Thanks a lot for your feedback. Price is something we get a lot of questions about, and we are quite open about why we price our beers at the level we do. Check out our blog on the website for a post in October 2013.

As you can see from this, the quality and volume of ingredients and the time it takes to make our beers is vastly different to that of generic, industrially produced beers. For that reason alone, the beer costs more to make, and therefore costs more to the customer.

Many mega corporations' breweries also make their beer specifically to be drunk in vast volumes. They strip back flavour to avoid palate fatigue (which naturally occurs for hoppy bitterness) and therefore restrict flavour and cut cost to get people to buy more. That's not the way we work.

We will never cut corners or scrimp on quality to produce our beers, and our pricing will naturally reflect that. Why make an inferior beer when you can make it incredible? We'd rather offer the opportunity to sample a variety of amazing beers from around the world than stick 3 lagers with no discernible characteristics on the taps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
794 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Love the beer, loved the food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Popped in at lunch for a quick pint, knowing how good a selection and quality BrewDog has. When the menu arrived on our table we couldn't resist the tasty American style food. To sum up... I would walk back to Manchester for that burger. I last had a mac n cheese burger in Sausalito (San Fran), and this one matched it for taste. All the other food (big chicken wings, hot hot chilli, mahoosive hot dog and ribs) were also bang on.

Then we had some more beer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NinaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Manager at BrewDog Manchester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hey NinaTom! Great to hear you filled your bellys with awesome beers and our tasty food. We'll be updating our food menu in the coming weeks so be sure to keep an eye on our facebook or twitter page for more details! :)

Thanks
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great beer and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is a fantastic selection of beers in Brewdog Manchester, both Brewdog and guest beers. Was there early evening and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere. The barmaid was extremely helpful asking what my taste preferences were and letting me sample some beers before actually buying. A must for beer enthusiasts!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yipsandyeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Manager at BrewDog Manchester, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Cheers bud. You've got to try before you buy don't you! Great to hear you enjoyed your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss! awesome beer & awesome staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

When on business in Manchester I always visit this place - great beers and also really really nice, friendly, funny, interesting & interested staff! They are all 'on a mission to make people passionate about craft beer" but they are just as nice if you 'only' want a glass of white wine (even if I think people should really drink beer in this place).
The food is basic but well tasting (burgers, ribs and stuff) ,and they have a small outdoor area (that most people just visit for a smoke). Sometimes live music (really nice) - and clean toilets too :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scarlot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Manager at BrewDog Manchester, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks Scarlot, we've got live music on next Friday night. Stick it in your diary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“tasty beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A good example of brewdog chain.Floor to ceiling windows and an industrial look.Good selection of tasty brewdog beers and guests.You can try sampling trays of four 1/3 pints starting from £5.80.Decent food at the moment a BBQ menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Manager at BrewDog Manchester, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Cheers Joseph, we're updating our food menu which we'll hopefully be launching in a couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BrewDog Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to BrewDog Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing