We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good honest wholehearty grub”
Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
Ranked #150 of 2,330 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
Reviewed 27 May 2014

popped in today, opted for one of the specials of the day - roast pork, mash, mushy peas, chips, carrots, gravy, apple sauce. a really really well put togther meal. you'll look again at the price list and wonder how they've put all that together for just £3.95. if they could just get a few more tables in there and take down that team poster i'd declare my unwavering love for this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smile4ages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for the honest review and we are pleased you enjoyed one of our most favourite specials of the day - roast pork, mash, mushy peas, chips, carrots, gravy, apple sauce.

We too wonder how we manage to put our meals together at the prices we do, but we do because we value our customers hard earned money so we work hard at keeping our prices as competitive as possible

We are pleased to hear you would like to get a few more tables in our little café because it sounds like you want to bring a crowd with you next time and if we could fit more tables in we certainly would do.

As for your declaration of unwavering love for our café dependent on the team poster coming dow is best summed up by the phrase, "you can't have everything in life".

Brilliant review, just what our café prides itself on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Linda's Pantry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

First time in Manchester. Came up on the early train with my umbrella because I heard it always rains up here. That was wrong for a start because it turned out to be the warmest/sunniest day of the year. Wanted a proper breakfast so start my day. Not Costa, Greggs, Subway or some other rubbish. We are talking PROPER breakfast cooked how I like it and served with a smile. That's what you get here folks. This is Man City stronghold but they made this old Arsenal fan feel welcome - that's what you call hospitality and proper good manners.

Come here, eat the lovely food, and give them some of your money (not much), and go on your way feeling the better for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ActonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

If ever there was a review to close the North-South divide this is it!

Thank you ever so much for the review and we are delighted you took the time to tell us you were pleased with your proper breakfast that started your day off well.

The service with a smile line also brought a smile to our faces especially the line about our café being a Man City stronghold because no matter what the football persuasion of our customers we do pride ourselves on our hospitality and proper good manners, as you stated.

Absolute pleasure to send you this review, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed over night in Manchester recently and had read reviews about this place. How lucky were we to discover that we were staying just round the corner! We went for tea and it was honestly THE nicest home cooked food ever! We had homemade pie and the homemade chips were delicious! And with 2 cups of tea, all for just under a tenner!!!! The owners were so very friendly, they gave us a map and showed us where we needed to go that night. Very, very nice, down to earth people. Needless to say, we visited the morning after, with thick heads....this was soon sorted out with 2 mega breakfasts and 2 cups of tea....again all for under a tenner! The mega breakfast was just that....HUGE! Everything was piping hot and really tasty. If you're around Piccadilly area, or anywhere Manchester make sure you hunt this little place out for some good old fashioned grub. You won't be sorry!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank jazzsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Our morning after antidote, the all day big breakfast has been known to cure even the worst of hangovers. We really appreciate your opinion of our homemade food which we have attempted to price as reasonably as possible.

We are proud to read you think our homemade food is THE nicest home cooked food ever!

Our homemade pie and the homemade chips, cups of tea, all for under a tenner are what we are about and much more, Homemade lasagne, cheese and onion pie, Shepherds Pie, Home made curry and home made cakes also appear to be a winner with our homemade loving customers!!

We also know it is more than just providing a food service, we feel it is so important to provide a quality information service as well, especially if you want to know where to go in the city to meet your particular needs.

We really do hope you come back soon and thanks again for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Heads up to anyone expecting fancy, hip or trendy, it's not, but what it is, is honest very reasonably priced food. It bucks the trend and provides an honest well portioned meal. £5 for most expensive traditionally English meal. Which by the way is surprisingly hard to find in england, as the food scene is all American or Italian. Yes it might be stuck in the 1980's with the layout and food but who cares. I even managed to overlook that the ladies seemed to support Man City

2  Thank Tom_Saliba88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Now that's what I call an honest review, much appreciated. Fancy, hip or trendy we certainly are not and we do pride ourselves on being honest, very reasonably priced, offering well portioned food that meets the hungriest of appetites.

All this and we can't believe you had to overlook the ladies supported Manchester City after all you were in Manchester!!

Thank you ever so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Linda's Pantry is a very short walk from Piccadilly station along Ducie Street. It is more than worth the extra walk from the main thoroughfare as the food is fantastic! Linda's is a small cafe with some seating and a toilet upstairs. The menu is extensive and really well priced!

My wife had chips, peas and gravy while I had a chip butty. Together they cost about 6 pounds but were very filling and very tasty. For a 'greasy spoon' type cafe the food is very good quality. The chips were golden brown and crispy and the gravy topped everything off!

The staff were really friendly and helpful too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank coyotes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for the review much appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing exactly what you have stated in your review, Food for all times of the day, with an all day breakfast for all. The homemade chips and gravy which are hand cooked are one of our best sellers.

We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing