We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!!!”
Review of Pie & Ale

Pie & Ale
Ranked #315 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night with friends. Had the horse meat pie, it was delicious! £12 with mash and gravy is a bit expensive, but it was worth it for a treat! Will be back as there were lots of interesting specials!

Helpful?
Thank Holly Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    79
    31
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Are you kid-ding!?”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

First visit and looking beyond the stale decor things looked hopeful.

I had the goat pie from the "specials" board. Mash and gravy were great but £12 for a pie with 3 small pieces of meat in it is inexcusable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wow I ate kangaroo pie”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we visited our son in Manchester he took us to this restaurant it was brill, I had kangaroo pie my son had horse and his girlfriend and my husband had bison .we all enjoyed our meal it is well worth a visit you wont be disappointed great to experience of tastes give it a go

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianek19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After hearing so much about this place I finally made the visit and was amazing, good beer and very good food. Something slightly different for the NQ. That good it gives mate chronic indigestion. Quality all round

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabletenniswithbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Pie & Rubbish Ale”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was in Manchester on business, I thought I'd pop on to Pie & Ale as I had seen it's presence on social media, it looked cool.

Called in there was no food on offer due to a kitchen re-fit, although this had not been stated anywhere online. There was also a really limited choice of ales, considering the great craft beers on the market from the likes of Kernal, 5 Points, Camden ect.

I also noticed it is quite expensive for food (when available)

I had a pint of D.N.A it was poor to be honest.

The fit out looks like it has been done on a budget.

Not a great experience guys....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wbebb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pie & Ale also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pie & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing