We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These Pies are great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie & Ale

Pie & Ale
Ranked #288 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“These Pies are great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Look if you want run of the mill pies go to Pieminster around the corner these aren't manufactured in a factory there are often strange meats and mixtures available, like crocodile or rabbit, you can even get two pints for a fiver before 7 some nights, and its hidden behind the Bakerie near Kraak gallery. Good beer selection well amazing selection really, take your boyfriend he would love it, its also a quiet place to chill some nights after work. Having two sections bar and a little quiet booth section.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glider2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    76
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
256 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Having had a good early evening drink here we came back for food on a works night out.
Pies were disappointing. Pastry was too thick and like cardboard. Mash and peas average.
The place promised a lot but just didn't deliver.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Pre-booked food order due to large party, with the promise of being able to change order if there was something else we wanted from the specials board. As soon as we were seated the waitress checked if everyone was happy with their choice and brought drinks through and food followed very quickly. Delicious pies for main course. Would visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 565BenJd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noerresundby, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wauw...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I went to Manchester for four days and ate twice at Pie & Ale.
I am so glad I found this place because the pies were so good, and I can without doubt say that they are the best pies I have ever tasted!
One minus is the waiting. It's a bit like the rest of England, a bit slow and you sometimes have to remind the waiters that you are actually there.

They have a huge range of beers as well.

It's definitely a place you should go to if you come to Manchester.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilialarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“lovely veggy pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We came here on Saturday lunch and had two vegetarian pies - a Morrocan veg pie and a mushroom straganoff pie. I loved how there was a variety of mushrooms in the mushroom pie. Beautifully presented on white plates with smooth mash on top of the pie and sat in a sea of gravy. Cost us £20, which we thought was all right, as the food was so yummy. Staff were lovely. Just lacking atmosphere. We were the only customers! Loved the decor there, with all the ale bottles on display. Also liked how there was reading material available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pie & Ale also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pie & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing