We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest cinema in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AMC Cinema

AMC Cinema
Ranked #17 of 53 Fun & Games in Manchester
Attraction details
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cheapest cinema in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Cheap in comparison to all other chains. Was very quiet but it was the england game on tv the night we went. Comfortable seats, good size screen. Cant fault it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeniseE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    12
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer Service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Trying to escape the football i decided to pop to my local cinema AMC Manchester, on arrival after purchasing my ticket i was made aware by the ticket collector that beer is not permitted but he 'wasn't sure' so he said he would check with the manager, i explained that it was fine and i just wouldn't drink my 4 x 330ml heinken, i approached the service counter and purchased some popcorn to be interrupted by the 'Manager' Collin, he stated that i couldn't even take the alcohol into the cinema as its not even allowed on site, now i understand that in life there are rules but its all about delivery of this information that was given to me, i think that the manner that i was spoken to was designed to make me feel very very stupid and uncomfortable, in fact it just made me inquire where these policies were stated so i asked with the conversation ending line of ''i don't have that information'' after some waiting i receive a refund although it was made very clear that AMC don't make refunds for popcorn! over all it was a very easy problem to resolve made horrendously bad by very poor communication and customer service. I'd invite AMC Manchester to respond but i wont hold my breathe

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Cinema in the City Centre (basically a lot better than Printworks)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just as the previous reviewer says - cheaper and quieter (less annoying people hanging around and causing a fuss in the showings) than the Printworks. I think the location helps a lot, out of the way, almost hidden in the Great Northern building. Especially quiet if you go at midday/early evening 2-3pm, where as the Printworks always seems busy, and more expensive!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RigaFanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheaper than odeon and less chavy ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

There are less drunk orange teenagers here which is a good start.

It's also cheaper than odeon!!

Rarely technical faults etc.

Doesn't have the class of odeon a gold class experience though.


Food and drinks expensive, but you knew that!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank happycoupletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AMC better and cheaper then ODEON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

All movies before 12pm, £4.50, Day and evening tickets £6.80 weekend after 11pm Tickets £4.50 Kids tickets £1.50
Comfortable seats, big screens, Staff should smile more but they are nice. popcorn and snacs also cheaper then Odeon. I will no longer go to Odeon after finding AMC. Good Experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calipolkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AMC Cinema also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to AMC Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing