We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not sure I will go back”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

1 LOCATION: Hotel is easy to find.... 2 BUILDING: Very big, impressive hotel. 3 WELCOME: Very average... 4 ROOMS: I had booked the best room in this hotel. The one with the private lift...I was expecting luxury....My room was cold and it remained cold all night...The place was slightly dirty.... 5 BATHROOM: Same as for room 6: DINNER: n/a 7 OVERALL: Not sure I will go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the problems you encountered. Unfortunately had these issues been raised during your stay, we would have endeavoured to put them right. As the review doesn't go into detail then I am limited to how much I can investigate and feedback.

If you would like to discuss this matter in more detail then please contact me direct at the hotel as I am always keen to put things right and regain your faith in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have used The Place for staying in nearly every week for 2 years, while working in Manchester.
I found it a great place to stay, the staff have always been really friendly and helpful.
The rooms were great, so much space and always had a upgrade which was always welcome, especially when upgrade to the penthouse.
Will definitely stay here again when in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear we are your hotel of choice for two years and hope you keep using us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed for one night for are anniversary,the penthouse appartment was more than we could ask for,very spacious and clean and great value for money.All the staff were friendly and helpful.Great location near town and bars but you dont need to go out the bar and bistro in the hotel are lovely,the food is spot on and the steak was the best we ever had,and to finish the stay of we had breakfast and there was a huge choice and agin the price was great.We carnt wait to go again and will be recommending to everyone,thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73jackie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights after Christmas for a shopping trip. Couldn't recommend highly enough, we had a one bedroom apartment which was superbly equipped, clean and spacious. We took up the offer of breakfast which was extremely good for the price too. Anyone who finds fault with The Place at the price charged needs a reality check! The staff were all so friendly and helpful - I will be recommending to anyone I know who needs to stay in Manchester!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DucatiBiposto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Such positive feedback helps inspire us to maintain these standards and I will be passing on your comments to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What a great hotel. Lovely staff, so helpful, my daughter's wedding was handled with such care and support, couldn't have wished for anywhere better. Thank you for everything that you did. Ian and Rosie Blayds and all the family x

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starstrucklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear your daughter's wedding went so well and I wish them all the best for the fututre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Good location, free wifi, nice apartments with cool details, a good welcome when checking in. I think they must have forgotten to clean our apartment however, we found food on the floor in the kitchen, broken glass in the dishwasher, hair from shaving behind the bathroom sink, etc. The shower however was the cleanest I've seen in any hotel in Britain so another option is that the maid spent all her time cleaning the shower and forgot the rest ...
Because we were there right before christmas there were a few christmas parties going on while we were there, the noise from these kept us awake. I'm not sure this is a huge problem the rest of the year but if you are, like me, sensitive to noise, you should ask if they have a quiet room.
The beds are ok, the side my husband slept on was good, the side I slept on you could feel every single spring.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was disappointed to hear of the cleanliness issues you encountered and would like to take this opportunity to apologise. I have spoken to my housekeeper and she would like to be associated with my apologies. On this occassion our rigorous checking procedures fell short.

We are currently in the middle of a program of replacing all our beds in the hotel and we have received excellent feedback on the sleep quality we provide.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and I hope to welcome you back in the future to regain your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I booked this room for a Christmas party and ended up with a two bedroomed apartment which between two guys, worked out at just over £40 each. Fully equiped kitchen which helped keep the beer and wine cool. Large bedrooms, one with en-suite and then a separate full bathroom so we had one each. Nice tolietries which ended up at home for my girlfriend. Great to have somewhere to lounge when getting ready etc and I can see if you are staying for a few days, the option of room service is a boost for an apartment hotel. Very reasonable underground parking considering its proximity to Picadilly Station.

Room Tip: The two bed apartments are ideal for a family or groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ade1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope your girlfriend enjoys the toiletries! I look forward to welcoming yoy back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 116 in Manchester
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 116 in Manchester
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing