We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel !!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor wanting somewhere to have a few days away with our brother and sister-in-law..
The rooms/apartments are wonderful big, very clean wonderful to have a sitting room and a kitchen set apart from the bedrooms.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful, especially Lauren on reception and Rob who served us with food. Breakfast was excellent as well as the lunch we had.
The Place has a very relaxed friendly feel but is quietly efficient.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world and was very impressed to have this great hotel nearly on our doorstep.
I highly recommend this hotel it's setting is good just a few hundred yards away from Piccadilly station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiMurphy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for the great review. I have passed your comments on to my team and both Rob and Lauren are delighted by your high praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    154
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had the experience of staying at the Place with my daughter sister and neice. We were there to see Beyonce.............Our overall stay was fabulous. We were so impressed with the layout, the space, the decor and the fact that care had been taken to ensure that all the customers needs had been catered for, down to something as simple as providing, tea coffee and milk. The service at reception was very accomodating, we arrived an hour earlier than the normal check in, and this was not a problem, we were given our apartment straight away which gave us the opportunity to freshen up prior to going for a pre booked meal before the Concert.............Would we stay there again? You bet.........................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockchic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for such an excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had booked a deluxe double apartment as were in Manchester for beyonce! Firstly the location is excellent..literally a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly station! When we arrived the girl at reception was very friendly and checked us in. We had also requested at 12pm check out which they accommodated. We went up to our room only to walk in on a bunch of guys...confusion occurred! They had sent us to a room people were already in! However when we went back they quickly rectified this and upgraded us to a penthouse! We really didn't mind the mistake when it was fixed so effectively!

The rooms themselves are spacious, nicely decorated and have all the necessary facilities. There is the expected 'wear and tear' and some things looked a little distressed but this is to be expected with any apartments.

The penthouse was lovely and also has a rooftop balcony which would have been fabulous had it been sunny.

When we came in at 2am our other friend wasn't with us and had the room key so the fact it is a 24 hour reception is also very helpful as the guy was able to give us a replacement key.

I would definitely recommend these apartments and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed staying in a Penthouse and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We held our wedding reception at The Place in April 2013 and from our first meeting with Jade, the service that we experienced was outstanding. We were organising our wedding from abroad and Jade's prompt and comprehensive replies to emails and willingness to meet when we were in Manchester made the organisation process much smoother!

Several of our (foreign) wedding guests booked apartments in The Place too and the staff were very accommodating of our many awkward requests, providing extra glasses, crockery and cutlery for family reunions. Even when I (the groom) caught Jade 2 days before the wedding in the lobby on her way home, she was happy to stop and chat with a smile.

The day went exactly to plan thanks to Jade and Alfie's help and all our guests agreed that the food was excellent. We chose The Place for its character and fantastic location which made logistics easier, and everyone was impressed by the great architecture inside. The wedding package which we booked was very flexible too which was exactly what we were looking for.

We also stayed in one of the penthouse suites on the top floor and were delighted to find a thoughtful surprise in the room on the wedding night. The views from the penthouses are really amazing too. The other apartments that our family stayed in were also great and the couple of maintenance issues that they reported were dealt with very promptly.

Breakfast the next morning was also very good and good value, and when we had a query over our bill on check-out it was well-managed by the reception staff.

The overall experience was just perfect and we cannot recommend The Place highly enough as a wedding venue or as a place to stay in Manchester. The staff, and Jade in particular, really made our wedding a day to remember in this special venue. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you can push your budget, the views and comfort of the penthouses are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. It was a great pleasure to host your Wedding and we wish all the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

4 of us booked to stay here as we wanted somewhere cheap, nice and near the centre of Manchester. We first looked at staying at a travel inn or premier inn but then came across The Place- and are we glad we did!! It was cheaper and you literally have an apartment to yourself. We arrived to what looked like an old mill house, as we entered the staff were friendly and first impressions of the decoration and interior was impressive- we were really excited to get to our room.

As we approached our room the entrance was impressive it was like being on holiday- with fountains inside it was really cool. As we opened the tall door to our apartment we couldn't believe it! We ran straight in very excited- each room was more impressive then the next- SO BIG!

2 double bedrooms, huge living room, contemporary kitchen and 2 bathrooms including an en suite. We didn't want to leave!

So pleased with the stay. If your looking for a long weekend or a quick getways this is perfect and the location is amazing.. right next to Piccadilly station.

They provided us with parking- which you do have to pay which is a bit annoying but worth it as it is secure underground parking in which they let us leave our car there the next day so we could venture into manchester.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 14- AMAZING and in the corner of the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farrar-Bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your week-end with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have just returned from a single night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment suit with 3 other friends. Paying £75 each ( cheaper than a travel lodge or any other budget hotel for this date) - This place was worth paying much more for! VERY IMPRESSED. Also has a double underground car park which was MUCH NEEDED for us!

This place is beautifully decorated with huge rooms that are superbly comfortable with modern decor. A beautiful building with all apartments facing an inside impressive foyer including fountains glass balconies and palm trees... We got the WOW factor walking in ! The actual apartments were huge and contained everything you needed including Tv's in every room.

A very trendy place in a superb location, 2 minuets from anything and literally right behind Manchester's Piccadilly train station.

Overall this place made our stay in manchester 100x better. We didn't want to leave! I would only stay in these again when visiting Manchester!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your terrific review. We are looking forward to welcome you again when you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Manchester isn't exactly far away from home for me (when in the UK) but we decided to go for a long weekend and do it properly as tourists..so we needed somewhere for 4 of us to sleep and rest our feet in the evenings. My wife found the Place Apartment Hotel and reserved a two bedroom apartment for us. First of all getting there - it's really easy if you get the train as its just behind Piccadilly station and just around the corner from the bus station in Piccadilly Gardens. By road its fairly easy but the last bit of one-way system can be tricky if you do not keep your eyes peeled. There is a great little car park right next to the hotel (not owned by the hotel) which only costs £4 to 6/day on week days and £2/day on weekends and you can book it online too. You can not grumble about three days parking in Manchester for less than £10.

The hotel - the interior of the hotel is a surprise with all of the apartments being arranged around a central atrium. The apartments are a good size with a combined lounge/diner/kitchen area and separate good sized bedrooms that are all finished to a good standard. The kitchen was well equipped with oven, hob, fridge, microwave, fridge, kettle, cuttlery, pans etc etc. There was even a small bottle of fresh milk ready in the fridge. Also included is tea and coffee which is great if you arrive late. The rooms were cleaned and made up each day. The rooms can get a bit warm so if you like your room cold, use the bedroom on the outer wall where you can open the windows to the fresh air.

There is a small bar area on the ground floor which we did not use but which looked OK and was certainly being enjoyed by some visitors.

Some late night partygoers returning lateish made a little noise, but a lot less than I expected for a Manchester hotel on Friday and Saturday night. Overall we all said that we would use the hotel again and that we would recommend it to others. We thought that around £30/per person/ pe night for the suite was a great price.

Staff etc were fine. We didn't use the leasure facilities.

Room Tip: Outside bedrooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himupstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 118 in Manchester
2,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing