We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Defo recommend!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

stayed at apartments for 2 nights over the weekend and have to stay i would and will def return. The room we had was huuuuge!! 2 bed apartment on the 4th floor and we couldnt fault it. We had a corner suite which meant a different view out of every window and more space than we needed. The reception staff etc where all very friendly and helped with directions and menus for takeaways!! is def a great alternative to hotel and the location is also a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Place Apartment hotel in Manchester just rose to the top of my favourite hotels of all time list. There is so much to love about it. First, location, location, location. The Place is literally steps away from Picadilly train station (the main station) with connections to trains all over the UK, including a train that takes you directly to the airport (a 15 minute ride for £4). Easy peasy. Second, the size of the apartments. I have lived in apartments that are smaller than these! I could live for months at a time in these apartments. We asked for a one bedroom apartment but (for reasons not clear) got a two bedroom. So, there were two bedrooms with really comfortable beds, two bathrooms (yay, I got a bathroom to myself!), a fully equipped kitchen (with nice touches such as a bottle of real milk in the fridge, a washer/dryer, dishwasher, nice wine glasses), a sitting area with comfy couch and chair and a dining set. All the comforts and conveniences, including toiletries, hair dryer, robes, slippers, nice big fluffy towels, good linens and windows that open. Third, aesthetics. It’s a converted industrial building and it retains many of the original architectural features. We found this to be very cool. Urban chic. Modern and clean. Fourth, the service was exceptionally friendly and professional. More than polite. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and attended to our every need and desire. Fifth, the breakfast. We only had it once, the day we were leaving (see fully equipped kitchen above), and it was pricey at £8.95, but it was excellent. Buffet style with loads of fresh fruit and nice breads and pastries, cereal, yogurts, juices, cold meats and cheeses, and then the full English hot breakfast. If preferred, you can also order off the menu. The breakfast is served in the bistro, which is garishly decorated and a bit loud with the unnecessary music playing; however, that’s a small complaint. In all, we left The Place reluctantly and we’ll definitely stay there again. Good value for the money in every respect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your superb review! I am glad to hear that we are on top of your favourite hotels of all-time list! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again when you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding for the weekend - great location, easy to get to by public transport or by car.
Check in was supposed to be from 3pm, we arrived from down south 3 hours early thinking we wouldn't be able to get in, so went in to ask if we could at least park the car - the receptionist checked to see if our room was ready, which it was, so let us check in!
This gave us more time to shop in Picadilly which is minutes away :)
Hotel itself is beautiful, apartments are massive, clean, tidy, with everything we needed for our stay.
Staff were amazing - everyone was really helpful and genuinely friendly, even in the early hours when we all had a few small sherries on board!!!!
Food can be ordered for room service, didn't try this but did eat in the hotel restaurant - again, couldn't fault this.
This will definitely be my hotel of choice whenever I am in Manchester - so long as they don't allow any of their staff to ever leave :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hshabsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear we are your hotel of choice and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very nice 4* . We had a 2 bed apart with atrium view. Large clean practical and good central location. Ensuite, tv, kitchen, dishwasher. Evena washing machine. Great alalternative to a pokey hotel with an extra bed cramped in. Fully recommend for families. We paid 87 per night for 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikidee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some quality time with your family and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinbugh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had the most wonderful experience staying at the place apart hotel , two beautiful bedrooms adjoining , amazing lounge kitchen . We were on the 6th floor top of building our apartment had the benefit of high ceiling and skylight which added the brightness of the room. We got breakfast served in the apartment both mornings full works , we couldn't fault anything , staff were helpful and friendly . We will defiantly be back .

Room Tip: Ask for room 606 it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

First the positives, very friendly & helpful staff, excellent location, good layout of well-equipped apartments with plenty of space. Negatives, everything a bit 'tired' - chipped & worn furniture, dated fittings in the bathrooms, microwave/kettle/toaster all seen better days. Totally bizarre placement of electric sockets - one of the bedrooms only had one socket whilst the other had six!
All in all, the positives outweigh the negatives and considering the price it represents value for money, but I personally won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We have taken your comments on board and hope to welcome you again when you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very nice old building, really good location with nice and very spacious, clean but slightly impersonal apartments. Friendly staff. There are btw spots without carpets, which is unusual for the UK :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you found staff members were friendly and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 116 in Manchester
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 116 in Manchester
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing