We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, reasonably priced in the heart of Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great apartment, reasonably priced in the heart of Manchester”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment here, not knowing what to expect. After going out of their way to get us checked-in early, we stepped into a large, clean, modern apartment that was really more than we expected. Accented with brick walls and steel girders from the original building, we found this apartment to be both comfortable and well-equipped. We cooked a meal in the full kitchen. There are several grocery stores nearby, to stock-up on whatever you need. Right in the heart of downtown, there are plenty of restaurants and pubs, as well as high-end dining establishments. It's easy to catch a bus or the Metrolink from the station nearby, and the train to the airport leaves frequently. Hit the street food court nearby for lots of tasty treats, or take a cab to "the Curry Mile" for all manner of delicious food from all parts of the world. I will definitely return to this hotel whenever I'm in Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again next time you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There is nothing bad to be said about this "Place" small niggled when we wanted to order a bar meal we were told it would be an hours wait because they had a function on, when the order did come it was wrong but quickly corrected.

Praise for Charlotte on reception - exceptionally professional and friendly - a rare combination these day at a reception desk - keep up the excellent work Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I have passed on your praise to Charlotte who is delighted to hear such praise. Please accept my apologies regarding room service as this should of been handled more efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip.

The reception staff were lovely at check in & made you feel welcome & at home.

The apartment I was in was HUGE! (Maybe a little too big for 1 person- I got lost!)

The bedroom (the one I slept in) was very comfortable- loved the King size bed. It was really cold & the heater was very temperamental in the room- think the heating system needs an update (electric on the wall heater)

I had dinner in the bar both nights as didn't want to venture out in the cold & the food was really good as was the service at the Bar.
I had work to do & was able to log onto the free wifi at the bar while having my dinner.

There was a party night on one of the nights & the noise REALLY travelled on the 2nd night- I only managed to get 2hours sleep before my training course & had to switch bedrooms within the apartment during the night to try & get some sleep.

I did mention this at reception on check out & they said they had numerous complaints... didn't really help me with a full day training then a 4hr train journey to Scotland :-(

I would recommend this hotel & would stay again as it is close to the station as well as the City.
Next time I would ask for a room on a higher floor so I can't hear the noise from the lobby area.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear the apartment and food were received positively. However please accept my sincere apologies regarding the noise. We do make every effort to allocate rooms to those not attending the functions on higher floors. Unfortunately this is not always possible. I hope you will return to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 4 friends for 1 night. Reception staff were great and very helpful. The apartments itself was brilliant, had everything we could have needed. Definately would recommend for large groups !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex10007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank your for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Arrived just after 2 and had to wait 1/2 hour for room to be made available ...parked our car in secure parking ( £9.00 per day) ...apartment was spotless and spacious ...great having a kitchen as we found this very convenient , washer dryer dishwasher freezer basically everything you need
The only thing I did find was the sofa was quite uncomfortable and so was the chair...but was only sitting there for a short while so not too bothered..also think breakfast should of bin included....would recommend and return on our next trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a lower floor and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howellsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My arrival was greeted with both professionalism and friendly staff. Being visually impaired I was nervouse that I may have trouble navigating in a different country and the staff at the front desk were extremely helpful 1 even offering to show me where the shops were after she had gotten out of work. I want to say that Charlette, Natasha, Lisa, Zana, Victoria, Erica all front desk employees were simply amazing! The bar staff such as Shanon, Pete and Rob were a pleasure to deal with and the food was wonderful too. Was great going to breakfast and being greeted by Kamil who always was pleasant and smiling and a wonderful waitress Eva who always made me smile for my 8 night stay. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AND WOULD DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN :)))

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmichelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am delighted my team made such an effort to make your stay so memorable. I know you made a lasting impression on them and I hope you will make it back to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had our wedding here on the 30th Nov and it was brilliant! The staff were very organised and attentive, the Bistro looked amazing and the whole experience was first class! The wedding co ordinator (Samantha) was excellent and made sure that the day went perfectly. Will be back for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am delighted to hear we managed your special day so well. I have passed on your review to Samantha and the team as such praise only inspires them further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 117 in Manchester
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 117 in Manchester
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing