We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hen weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing hen weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a weekend and what a venue we had for my sisters hen. Found this little beaut of a hotel through trip advisor and booked direct on their website in advance to get the best deal. We had 3 appartments for 14 of us, 1 standard 2 bed, 1 deluxe 2 bed with 2 extra beds to sleep 6 and another deluxe 2 bed -to party!

Great location as only a 5 minute walk from the station. We used the biggest room as our base- we had room 501 and it was fab. Beds were huge and very comfy, bathrooms whilst a little tired were roomy with fresh towels. Main lounge was so big the furniture looked a little out of place! It had everything you needed to stay for any length of time. Washing machine, microwave, full cooker and dishwasher- maybe an extra frying pan would have been useful but plenty of glasses/ plates/ cutlery etc.

A slight problem with check-in where they tried to charge me for the extra beds again, however this was cleared up in a few minutes. Rooms were ready when we went to drop bags at 1.30 which was great, all of us were really impressed with the rooms and only wished we had a little extra time for chilling!

We cannot comment on the food as we had a tesco home shopping delivery so did all our own breakfast and went out for lunch and dinners. On our second night we had pre-drinks and games in our room and there was plenty of space and with 2 toilets it suited us perfectly.

My only regret was not checking the room properly before we left as I lost a very expensive earring in my room. I called and spoke to housekeeping the next day but she said, as I expected, it was probably hoovered up- my silly fault :(

It would have been nice to have the option of a pool, however we did not venture to find the gym. I would certainly recommend this hotel, and hope to return in the future with my family :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank The_Ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and your feedback. Really pleased to read that your sister’s hen weekend went so well and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return to stay with us again when you next visit the city. Please accept our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    384
    152
    63
    39
See reviews for
262
213
22
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived by train and found that the hotel is really close to Picadilly Station and a short walk from the shops.
Check in was quick and friendly.
Our room 207, was pleasantly spacious and the kitchen had Bosch appliances and even included a washing machine, the furniture and carpets were poor quality though and decor was ready for refreshing.
Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment.
Would stay again at the right price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree that our central location is perfect for exploring the city. It is good to read that you found our apartments pleasantly spacious and well equipped. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us when you next visit Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Place is a great idea, convert a massive industrial building (warehouse ?) into an apart hotel but it's looking distinctly tired. Rooms are big but uninspiring and it's a cavernous, dark and soulless place. The best thing about it is the location - next to Picadilly station, walking distance from City and turn right out of the door and within 100 yards you're running/walking along a fabulous canal. Breakfasts in the restaurant attached are fine, overall though, it feels more like an institution than a hotel.

Room Tip: Great place to go running from, turn right out the door and within 100 yards you're on a fabulou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us, and that you found our central location convenient for accessing all areas of the city. As the review below indicates, most guests ‘Love’ our spacious apartments and think that they are amazing – so we are a little unsure why you felt differently. We appreciate your feedback and hope to extend a warm welcome to you when you next visit Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here in November for a family gathering. We all booked into apartments in the hotel separately and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw how amazing the place was! Staff were so helpful and accommodating - we arrived very early for checkin and they took our bags so we could go out in the city. When we came back just after lunch we were able to checkin and loved the rooms! Quite spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. The rooms allowed us to entertain during our stay so that the family could mix together. Ordered room service whilst there and thought the food was lovely. One night we are in the restaurant, our large party was very well catered for and my aunt had a fantastic birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Delighted to read how much you all enjoyed your stay with us for your family gathering. Thank you for sharing your experience. We will pass on your kind comments directly to the team. We hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great location but unfortunately that was about it.

It's an interesting building but the layout of the apartment was very strange (a massive lounge and hallway but a really cramped bedroom that made the place feel like a badly thought through conversion).

We had a one bed apt for 2 nights and on the second night, asked if a friend could join us, as they had unexpectedly come to Manchester for the night. The best offer they could make was to upgrade to a two bedroom apartment for £200+. Considering we spoke to them at around 6pm on Saturday, I can't quite see how the cost of an upgrade ( cleaning 2 rooms instead of one) could justify such a large amount. They would not allow out friend to stay on our sofa (even for a contribution ) and wanted to charge £125 for a one bedroom apartment.

There was a party in the function room downstairs which was pretty noisy (and kept my partner awake until after 1). I appreciate it's Saturday night but considering we were on the 5th floor, I felt sorry for anyone lower down.

The kitchen area was really well appointed (including plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits) but then there wasn't even a small bar of soap in the bathroom (which had loose tiles without grout).

I really wanted it like these apartments, as the concept is great and the styling well executed but an disinterested receptionist during checkout just left us feeling a tad let down and deciding we won't ever be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Our prime central position is greatly valued and we are pleased you also agree that our location is great. The one bedroom apartment that you reserved wasn’t a suitable size for additional, unexpected guests. Our reception team did find and offer alternative accommodation options for you all. Unfortunately, despite all of our efforts to accommodate your unexpected guests, we were unable to please you. Please be assured of our very best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I made this booking nearly 6 months ago in conjuction with a Michael Buble concert in the city (the concert was fantastic by the way!) in March 2014. I booked it through another website based on price with the view that after the concert we just wanted a bed for the night. I wasn't sure what we'd find in an 'apartment hotel' but we were both very pleasantly surprised.

The building itself is quite old. It was formerly a warehouse. However, it has been very tastefully converted and modernised for it's current purpose. Good things happened fromthe time we arrived. For the first time in my life I had been our lives we'd been upgraded, from a double room to a family room with loads of extra space. Sadly it was a bit wasted on just the two of us, but the room was very luxurious.

Everywhere is clean, tidy and up-to-date. There is a bistro which we used prior to the concert and happy to say that our meals were excellent value. The food itself was very well presented and we both enjoyed our meals. Service was excellent throughout.

One of the reasons I chose this hotel was the parking. The Place has a secure underground car park (though spaces are a little limited) with a 24 hour charge of £9 which I think is reasonable for the convenience and peace of mind. An added bonus was that although we checked out mid-morning we were able to leave the car and walk a few hundred yards into the shopping area for a mooch round. We would have been able to leave the car at The Place until mid-afternoon if we had wished, allowing plenty of time to shop and eat.

It was my partner's first trip to the city and my first for nearly 30 years. We both liked what we saw and we both liked The Place. We are likely to return to Manchester and would be very disappointed if we could not stay here again.

Well done and thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It is rewarding for the whole team to receive feedback like this. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind comments which we will pass directly on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for one night, upgraded to a penthouse room. Worth the upgrade, based over 2 floors, ground floor two bedrooms, both with en suite, leading to a massive outside patio area, with comfy chilling furniture. Upstairs very spacious, open plan fully equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge, Leading out to a shared veranda. The rooms were spotless and the beds were lovely and comfy. Service was good, there does seem to be a lot of weddings going on, but that didn't bother us. Underground park £9 for 24hrs is good value in Manchester. The location is ideal for a night out in the northern quarter. Defo go again. Only slight gripe was that an alarm kept going off in our room, turned out to be the dishwasher door open.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CHILLOUT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback following your recent stay in our Penthouse Apartment. We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#47 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing