We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stopped here for two nights in a two bedded room. The rooms were large and yet cosy. It was great having a lounge were we could be together in the evening instead of retreating and spending the evening alone in our bedroom. It is great access to Piccadilly Station and also quite near the center of town. There is secure car parking and at £9 per day doesn't break the bank. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was divine. The service was great and the waiters efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you think we are a great place to stay. We are very proud of our friendly team and will pass on your kind comments about the great service you received. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    390
    154
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was a lovely place to stay, even just for an overnight. The rooms were large, cosy and welcoming with everything you could want at your fingertips. It was nice to know you didn't need to pack an iron or hairdryer. Virtually next door to Manchester Piccadilly station it was ideal. The whole ambience of the place was excellent. The staff were pleasant and polite. nothing was too much trouble. We ate both evening meals and breakfast, both of which were excellent value for money.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend to anyone staying in Manchester

Room Tip: We were in room 210. Fabulous comfy beds and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giddykipper157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is rewarding for the whole team to receive feedback like this. Thank you. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your kind comments to everyone at the hotel. We look forward to extending another warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Four of us shared an apartment in The Place. It is well situated on Picadilly close to lots of good restaurants. It has a secure car park at £9 per day/night. Ours was a two bedroom apartment with one having ensuite shower room. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Heating was easy to control. It was good to have a living room where we as two couples could meet without having to go down to the bar. We were able to make our own breakfast with a couple of small supermarkets close by (M&S Food being one).
The apartment was serviced each day.
The only real negative was the furniture in the apartment looked tired. Even though ours was a non-smoking apartment the dining table had burn marks on it. One of the orators in the kitchen had been burnt by too hot a pan. So the place could do with some TLC.
We didn't use the on site restaurant as there were so many good quality eateries nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is good to read that you all enjoyed staying with us and your 2 bedroom apartment was comfortable and offered convenience & good value. We have an ideal central position, close to transport links, lots of restaurants and shops. We have noted your additional points and will take action to replace or restore any damaged furniture. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to warmly welcome you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, what a fantastic experience. The service, room and staff made it a great place to stay. Located in the centre of a great town, directly next to main train stati

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic experience from the moment you arrived. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Five Oak Green
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you're in Manchester for a trade show or similar with a few co workers I think this works really well. A large lounge/kitchenette/dining room but separate bed rooms and bathrooms give the feeling of a home away from home. You get the privacy that you would get from your own hotel room but without the feeling of being as couped up. Breakfast was well worth the £8 price tag too..... Great value, a double luxury apartment was way cheaper than 2 rooms in the Premier Inn next door

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and offer us some feedback. We are delighted to read your comments and hope to extend a warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a weekend and what a venue we had for my sisters hen. Found this little beaut of a hotel through trip advisor and booked direct on their website in advance to get the best deal. We had 3 appartments for 14 of us, 1 standard 2 bed, 1 deluxe 2 bed with 2 extra beds to sleep 6 and another deluxe 2 bed -to party!

Great location as only a 5 minute walk from the station. We used the biggest room as our base- we had room 501 and it was fab. Beds were huge and very comfy, bathrooms whilst a little tired were roomy with fresh towels. Main lounge was so big the furniture looked a little out of place! It had everything you needed to stay for any length of time. Washing machine, microwave, full cooker and dishwasher- maybe an extra frying pan would have been useful but plenty of glasses/ plates/ cutlery etc.

A slight problem with check-in where they tried to charge me for the extra beds again, however this was cleared up in a few minutes. Rooms were ready when we went to drop bags at 1.30 which was great, all of us were really impressed with the rooms and only wished we had a little extra time for chilling!

We cannot comment on the food as we had a tesco home shopping delivery so did all our own breakfast and went out for lunch and dinners. On our second night we had pre-drinks and games in our room and there was plenty of space and with 2 toilets it suited us perfectly.

My only regret was not checking the room properly before we left as I lost a very expensive earring in my room. I called and spoke to housekeeping the next day but she said, as I expected, it was probably hoovered up- my silly fault :(

It would have been nice to have the option of a pool, however we did not venture to find the gym. I would certainly recommend this hotel, and hope to return in the future with my family :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank The_Ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and your feedback. Really pleased to read that your sister’s hen weekend went so well and that you all enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return to stay with us again when you next visit the city. Please accept our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived by train and found that the hotel is really close to Picadilly Station and a short walk from the shops.
Check in was quick and friendly.
Our room 207, was pleasantly spacious and the kitchen had Bosch appliances and even included a washing machine, the furniture and carpets were poor quality though and decor was ready for refreshing.
Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment.
Would stay again at the right price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree that our central location is perfect for exploring the city. It is good to read that you found our apartments pleasantly spacious and well equipped. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us when you next visit Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 118 in Manchester
2,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#61 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing