We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 11 August 2014

These apartments are really very nice indeed and the staff lovely! Stayed with friends at the beginning of August and will most certainly stay again. Very secure underground parking at a reasonable £9 per night. In walking distance of town/bar areas etc. Everything you could need at hand here and ideal if travelling by tritan as minutes form Piccadilly station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on 4th August with my two daughters as a birthday / shopping treat. Dropped our bags off and went to get some lunch as check in wasn't till 3pm.On checking in we were told we had been given a free upgrade, however on reaching the apartment it was exactly what I had booked, 2beds 2bathrooms. At first glance the apartment was spacious and well laid out, but we soon noticed how grubby everything was. All the wooden floors were unswept and had several sticky patches and bits of food left on. Most of the equipment was dirty or mouldy like around the shower and the fridge door.As we had removed our shoes (so as not to make a noise on the wooden floors) we got very dirty feet!! Had a nasty shock in the morning when we attempted to make breakfast as the oven was filthy inside with crumbs and burned on food. Oh and the complimentary bathrobes were hard and stiff. My daughters begged me not to complain and make a fuss so I endured the state of the apartment . I think the housekeeping needs some serious improvement before I would be tempted to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jansunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We always listen carefully to guest feedback and apologise that your experience didn’t match that of our other generally positive comments and feedback. We will share all points with our housekeeping team and look into this matter further. Please be assured of our best intensions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a fab place this is. A great conversion & an excellent way of retaining an old building.

We had everything we needed for a girls weekend away.

The only down side was it was very hot inside the apartment, fortunately there were fans available.

We ate in the Pennine suite which was quite soul less although if there were more than our group of nine in it it may have been better.

Food was good & not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your ‘girls weekend’ with us and also share our enthusiasm for the conversion of this unique industrial heritage building. We think it’s ‘fab’ too and hope to extend another friendly welcome to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with other half in July and was pleasantly suprised, on arrival was a wedding reception so was a little worried of noise etc, but had a great nights sleep due to bedroom being at the back of apartment. On entering was shocked how spacious the rooms were, fully fitted with all mod cons and bath/shower. Only let down was no view due to all windows being onto the inside balcony, a little strange to begin with but got used to it. Staff friendly and very clean. Cost us 115 pound for a Friday night and found it well worth the value. Stayed in many apart hotels and this was one of the nicer rooms. Definitely recommend this to all age groups as is in the heart of town and only a stone throw from train station and a short walk to bars, pubs and restaurants.will be staying here again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the apartment this weekend and were very excited to come after seeing the photos online! However, we had only just got in the room and put out bags down when one of the housekeepers just came barging in the apartment and took the bottle of wine and rack of nibbles and her attitude wasn't the best! I have stayed in hotels a lot cheaper and had complimentary nibbles and tea/coffee!! We did all think that the apartment was lovely and between four of us was great value but after the housekeeper left I took out some glasses to pour us all a drink and the glasses were filthy. After cooking, I took out a knife and that too was dirty with bits of hard food on it & there was grease on the metal pillar by the work surface!! In the en suite the shower door wouldn't close either (luckily we had a bath in the separate bathroom). Other than that, we had a lovely stay, we found the apartment very spacious and fab for the girls getting ready in! The staff were also very nice other than that housekeeper! It hasn't put any of us off wanting to stay again though as we did think the apartment was really nice and it was in a great place, right by the train station and not too far from the pubs and shopping centre!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina_xOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for any issue you had, but are glad to hear your enjoyed stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was really looking forward to my stay here, it looked great, but I can honestly say it was the worst hotel experience I've had. We paid around £160 for a room (room 115), and were under the impression we would be provided with balconies and sleeping arrangements for at least 3. It was what we had booked. On arrival we were told that it was one double bed to sleep two (no balcony for smoking either) and that they could not budge whatsoever on this because they couldn't have 3 sleeping in the room and were otherwise fully booked.
This left a good friend of mine forking out a great deal of money to get a last minute hotel.
Besides being down a hundred pounds for another hotel room, the room was incredibly uncomfortable. The A/C didn't work and so we were left in a brick sweat-box that we were barely able to get to sleep in. We asked reception about this and they offered no help at all and were quite rude, although the lady in question did seem rather rushed.
We had arranged late checkout too, but were told at 11.30 that they had not been told anything about it and so we had to leave immediately.
We sat to have a coffee and found the milk was 2 days past expiry. Salt in the wounds there.
Only things I can compliment are that the barman was quite friendly (although he had to be charging me 10.50 for two ciders) and the complimentary bottle of Shiraz was rather tasty.
All in all it was a pretty bad experience. I am back in Manchester this Saturday and will definitely try to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JasperAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Sadly, we have no record of anyone staying in room 115 under this name or place of origin. The only booking it could possibly be paid £145 and booked a one bed to sleep 2 people through booking.com. This is clearly stated on the website and these rooms cannot accommodate 3 people. The hotel does not have air con in the rooms and again this is clear on booking.com website. We provide fans in the rooms. Similarly, only Penthouses have balconies, which is again mentioned on booking.com. Check out is 11am and we do not offer a guaranteed late check out. There is a request button on booking.com to request a late check out but this clearly states this is subject to availability. We apologise for any inconveniences, but if you could get in touch with us and can confirm your stay, we would like to follow this up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's a converted warehouse, or mill, or something like that, and that's how it felt to us. That said the apartments are spacious (maybe too spacious - there is a lot of wasted space, which I don't often say about hotels) and well equipped for self catering. Downside was the musty smell in the bathroom, yecch, and the red brick everywhere which I guess was cheaper than plastering the walls. It was very hot and there is no AC, so we had to leave the windows open and listen to a rowdy party from downstairs that seemed to have spilled out to the street, until very late. Also I had real trouble parking my car. I paid £9 for the privilege of squeezing into a spot so small I had to climb out of the passenger side door, and repeat the process the next day. So all in all, pretty average, although it's very central if you like the centre of Manchester.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for any issues you had during your stay, and have taken your comments on board, as we are always looking to improve our services. We wish you all the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 120 in Manchester
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £705 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing