We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful combination of apartment and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #51 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here for a conference in October over 4 nights. The location is good right next to Piccadilly station and about a 10-15min walk to Manchester Central (depending on whether you are wearing heels or not!) It is a lovely converted building with exposed brickwork and the old steel columns add real character. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which 3 of us shared. Yes the layout is a little unusual with a large atrium in the centre and the apartments around the edge, which means that only one bedroom has a window to the outside. The other bedroom and the lounge area have large windows to this atrium area. However we did not find this a problem. There are blinds you can pull down over these large windows and you are generally not spending enough time in the rooms for it to be an issue. Plus there are hardly ever people walking past the window anyway.

All the rooms are spacious and the kitchen is one of the better equipped I have come across in these kind of apartments. The service was excellent, all the staff we came across were very helpful and the daily maid service was fantastic - they even cleared our plates etc away and put the dishwasher on every day. The furnishings in the lounge are not the best you would ever experience, but nothing worse than you would expect in this kind of setup.

The real bonus you get here are the 'hotel' services of a bar and dining area that you do not get in a lot of serviced apartments. We had no problem getting a drink late a night - the person covering the reception desk served us and breakfast was excellent with very good service - our drinks were served to us almost as soon as we sat down every day.

I would definitely recommend especially if you like the benefits of an apartment but would also like some of the benefits of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed here on business and was booked in to apartment by head office. On arrival was upgraded to a double apartment, although I only needed one room. It was a very disappointing room. Basic furnishing that had seen better days... shower cubicle door that didn't close, old mouldy sealant round the wash basin. The biggest problem for me was the layout of the apartment. Very back to front. Sunshine streaming in the bedrooms and yet no natural daylight coming in through the lounge which looked out on to a courtyard so all the other guests could look in at you... very odd! Milk, tea and coffee etc was welcome on arrival, although milk had gone off by day 2 - suspect fridge wasn't working. Breakfast was a comedy routine waiting to happen... no cups just saucers, half the cutlery we needed... long wait for coffee.. then when up getting breakfast, my full coffee cup had disappeared on my return! Lots of hassle every morning about whether breakfast was included or not so gave up for the last 2 days.. then on checkout was told everything was paid for in advance. Went to the bar one night at 11 to find it closed... then apparently it was open about 12 and then closed again! Had to wait ages at the bar on another night to be told no cash - only cards! Overall experience, chaos and lazy service, poor quality finish to rooms. (Bathroom layouts particularly bad - towel rail so close to loo that you can't sit down unless you do it sideways!) No way should this have 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed at the place in a family apartment on a hen do. I was very impressed and will hopefully get to stay here again. The reception staff was professional and friendly and there is a large lobby and bar area downstairs. Our apartment was large and spacious and had everything we wanted. It also worked out excellent value for a group of us. It was very clean and was a lovely option to have a kitchen and living room facilities. It was done in a very modern style which was great too. There were a few things that could have been better (like cracked floor tile in the bathroom) but this did not affect our enjoyment. A great alternative to a hotel room in a brilliant location (literally two minutes around the corner to Piccadilly station!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We checked into the apartments for one night only to celebrate my birthday around Manchester and this was the perfect place to stay,.The staff at reception are helpull and very professional. The apartments are in a great location 4-5 mins walk from piccadilly station and a 10 min walk to Chinatown.

We was staying in a 2 bed apartment. The apartment was spotlessly clean, Spacious and fully equipt with everything u needed.

The buffet breakfast is highly reccomended. Ive stayed in plenty of hotels the past few years and it is far the best selection and food i have had.

Just a word of warning £50 is deducted from your credit card as a breakage deposit but this is refunded when checking out of the apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gask007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I have stayed in this hotel on 3 occassions over the past 12 months & everytime it has been wonderful. The apartments are huge & well equiped, however no airconditioning so it can get hot. Staff are friendly & helpfull. The food is basic, I'd recommend eating out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dora_the_explorer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at The Place in June 2009 for a visit to the Old Trafford. What a wonderful experience. It's just a 3- or 4-minute walk from the Piccadilly station. We arrived around noon. Staff were most friendly, trying to arrange early checking-in, though in vain. It turned out luck was, afterall, on our side. We got an upgrade to a penthouse when we returned later in the afternoon, yippee!!!!!
The penthouse was fabulous. Almost everything was perfect. Our only suggestions for improvement are, 1) the TV needs an upgrade - you would have expected a plasma or LCD in a penthouse and 2) cleanliness - we were mildly annoyed by the dust here and there, around the edges of furniture. Breakfast was included and we quite enjoyed it. Our sons esp loved the omelette.
If you are planning for a weedend getaway at Manchester, this is THE PLACE to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoccerKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Great hotel, very close to main train and bus station (4 minutes walk). Neat and clean, great service and good breakfast. Huge apartment-style room, similar to very good hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 120 in Manchester
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £67 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing