We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai food in Manchester!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bangkok Bar & Restaurant

The Bangkok Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1,145 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Manchester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very authentic Thai food (we knew it would be authentic when the very friendly staff spoke to each other in Thai)

My friend and I had a cocktail each, I had the Chilli Mojito while my friend had the Long Island Iced Tea. I really enjoyed the Chilli Mojito, highly recommended if you enjoy chilli! For starters, we had spicy Thai fish cakes and a Tom Yum soup, both were very delicious. I then had a Pad Thai which was fantastic. My friend found the Red Curry a little on the sweet side, but she still enjoyed it enough to want some dessert (the rice was nothing like what a previous reviewer mentioned, it was soft and delicious). A pity they didn't have any sticky rice with mango, hopefully they will have it the next time we return! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    17
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic - good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

20% off the al a carte menu and the food is gorgeous! the staff are very friendly! Definatley worth a visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Revolution121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant new gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

So happy to find this new gem of a place in Manchester - not only was the food very reasonable considering the quality, but was very authentic..YUM!! The customer service is old school, very hospitable, smiley and catering to every need - what more can you ask for? Looking forward to the Full Moon Party!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatima Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My fiancée and I ate here last night and found all aspects of the meal faultless.
From our friendly waitress's recommendations, to the owner giving us a tour after the meal, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was of a high standard - try the drunken chill or as they call it Pad Kee Mao.
They also have some good wines - try the Languedoc's 2007 Domaine d'Oustric.
We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great all-round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My partner & I went on a Tuesday evening - service was prompt & attentive and the chilli mojito was delicious. Food excellent complemented with the prawn crackers which I can thoroughly recommend. Nice surroundings too. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bangkok Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Bangkok Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing