We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lady gaga nite out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arora Hotel Manchester
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lady gaga nite out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Stopped one nite in the arora hotel in the center of Manchester as an early Xmas present for the mrs. Excellent location 10 mins from Piccadilly about 15 to the men arena. Hotel very stylish and clean. We were in room 218 it was excellent. Large bed ,massive bathroom big screen tv. loads of restaurants nearby(china town is bang across the road). Had cooked breakfast in morning which was great (buffet style). Only gripe was why no biscuits with the tea/coffee in the room. Overall I'd definitely recommend . Oh and yes lady gaga was brilliant

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodseatsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    808
    262
    68
    41
See reviews for
275
983
110
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here around 4 years ago and it was great. It's starting to look a wee bit tired now in places, the rooms are good but our carpet was stained. The lighting is ok but not as flexible as many new hotels. We paid top whack for one of their best rooms and it was surprisingly ordinary, the last time I stayed we got a standard room and there's barely a difference in appearance, maybe the expensive one was a tiny bit bigger. All in all, it's OK but trounced by the likes of the Lowry etc.

Room Tip: Go for a standard and save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. We were promptly checked in by the friendly staff. The room was a great size, very modern and clean. Comfortable bed, air con or heating if required, speakers in bathroom were a nice touch whilst getting ready!
The hotel isn't huge so easy to find room etc. Had a couple of drinks in the bar downstairs before our evening out. Very relaxed atmosphere and comfortable seating in there too! We had breakfast in the morning where we were greeted by a friendly staff member, there was a good selection of continental and full English. Overall very impressed with the hotel and have previously stayed in the midland and macdonald. I will choose the arora again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here last year and this September. This hotel is well-located, cosy, and well equipped, and rooms are well maintained. The best thing of this hotel is the reception staff are friendly and really assisting their guest in various situation. Their attitude to try to assist you as much as possible is one of the best I have found in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

i stayed at the arora hotel for 1 night. upon booking in me and my husband were pleased to be told by the nice gentleman kennedy that he had upgraded us to a superior room at no extra cost.the location of the hotel was perfect just a stones throw away from the italian restaurant rossos which we were attending that night .may i add that this restaurant was very chic and food fantastic . we had a full english breakfast at the hotel which was very ample lots of choice and also continental breakfast to cater for everyones taste.the staff are very welcoming and friendly ,hotel spotlessly clean and couldnt fault anything will definately book and stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
446 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

It is a very nice hotel, the location is fair not too far and also not too close. large rooms, clean rooms, large beds, nice staff.
Many restaurants nearby.

The thing i didn't like that they charge me 2.5£ for a dental kit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night over the Bank Holiday weekend; we had booked in as a last option because the DoubleTree Hilton was fully booked, so we didn't know what to expect. We looked at some reviews and knew the location was extremely central so we chose it on that basis.

We arrived prior to check-in time to see if we were able to check in early but as they were fully booked we couldn't. The staff at reception were extremely polite, friendly and helpful and we got the impression that during less busy times, early check-in was possible. They offered to let us leave any luggage there before checking-in so we didn't have to carry it around the city which was nice but as we didn't really have much we didn't take them up on it.

Check-in was fast, efficient and pleasant when we came back, no glitches or problems and the staff were totally professional. The lobby was clean and contemporary, uncluttered. The lift is a little strange in that it is operated by the card key but it wasn't really an issue.

Our room was quite cold when we got in but the climate control seemed quite effective and not like average air conditioning which feels artificial and the air recycled. The room felt fresh and had obviously been cleaned. It warmed up fairly quickly when we turned the heat up but never felt stuffy or uncomfortable, even when we left the heat on all night.

There was a large window in the room which, although overlooked, let a good amount of light in. Having stayed in the MacDonald Townhouse previously, whose windows were smaller and the room seemed darker, this is something I have come to value in a hotel, especially being used to the DoubleTree (when it was the City Inn and Mint) with it's large bright windows overlooking the city. The room itself was a good size, bigger than the MacDonald's but not massive. There was plenty of room to move around without falling over things or squeezing past furniture. Generally the room was very nice.

There were all the usual items such as hair dryer (which was actually surprisingly good), iron and ironing board (not very good at all), TV, dressing table, wardrobe, safe and mini bar. The mini bar was empty, I'm not sure if that's because we didn't request it to be stocked but my experience has always been of a full mini-bar and then you pay for what you take. It's not a problem as we didn't want it anyway but perhaps guests should be told at check-in if an empty mini-bar is standard and that it can be filled if they want it?

The tea and coffee making facilities seemed ok too, it would be nice to see biscuits come with it and on a side note, as a vegan, it would be good if a soya milk option was provided in rooms. That's more of a general comment for all hotels and in all honesty, I haven't tried contacting the hotel ahead of time and asking if they are happy to accommodate me so perhaps I will in future.

The bathroom was spotless (as were the bedsheets, towels, etc) and there were some free toiletries which came in very handy as we had forgotten shampoo and shower gel. I was thrilled to find that there was a bath with shower overhead, many hotels I have been to are shower only. After a night out it was nice to come back and lie in the bath at 2am! I also tried the shower and found it really good, it can be lowered on the holder right down to the bath so makes washing hair over the bath much easier than having to hold a detached shower head. Water pressure and temperature were excellent.

We slept exceptionally well, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we weren't disturbed once. The whole hotel seemed quiet, especially if it was fully booked. We had the sense of being the only people there, even though we saw other guests. It was great to go on a busy bank holiday weekend and not be disturbed by the noise of other guests or cleaners.

The restaurant downstairs was very nice and the cocktail bar looked like it was too (they had offers on such as 2 cocktails for £10, not bad but we didn't try it this time). We ordered a few nibbles; houmous and pitta, chips, salad, nothing too daring. I think they could do more vegan food (we couldn't have ordered from the set menu as nothing was vegan) but the menu was reasonably priced and at least had some options. The staff were professional and polite and our food came quickly, which we would have expected as the restaurant was otherwise empty. The food was very nice (I would worry if they could go wrong with such a simple order) and if I have one criticism it would be that the waitress was a bit over-eager to take our plates when we had finished; I was still chewing my last bite.

Check-out was as swift and easy as check-in and staff were as pleasant and professional as they had been throughout our stay. I really can't say a bad word against them, along with the staff at the DoubleTree (when it was Mint and City Inn) they are the best I have encountered in any hotel or indeed any section of the service industry. My partner and I look much younger than we are (we're in our late 20s and run our own company but we look about 17!) and sometimes people patronise us or don't take us seriously, this was certainly not the case here. Staff treated us the same as they would any guest and we felt like valued customers. We'll certainly be returning for a longer stay in future and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Property: Arora Hotel Manchester
Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing