We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good find”
Review of Princess St. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess St. Hotel
Ranked #18 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is central , clean , modern and easy to find. Its right opposite one of the art galleries if you want a bit of culture. We walked from the train station to it (under 10 mins) and it was a couple of minutes stroll to picadilly gardens where there are shops and transport to other parts of Manchester. Also not far from the canal street bars and spitting distance from china town. We booked a triple and the room was a good size. Bathroom was v modern. The downstairs cocktail bar was a great place to start and end the night and don't worry, you can't hear any of the noise from it from the foyer of the hotel never mind the rooms as its in the basement. They do 2 for 1 cocktails some nights too - bargain! There is a restaurant on site for dinner or breakfast. We skipped the hotel breakfast but had our Tea and coffee in the room then made our way to teacup on thomas street - which is just the most fantastic cafe. We could equally have picked a closer venue for breakfast - loads of choice very close to the hotel. The lifts are operated by your key card so it feels a pretty secure place to lay your head. They are able to look after your bags for no charge once you've checked out. Tremendous!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferaEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J, General Manager at Princess St. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cocktails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,759 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our favourite hotel when visiting Manchester-large, pristine, comfy rooms. Staff couldn't be more helpful - receptionist even went outside to check if any restrictions on Disabled Parking then rang me back - the young ladies serving breakfast were cheery and friendly - the breakfasts were excellent - great choice and well cooked. If I was to be picky - we booked a premier king suite - tea & coffee available but as another reviewer suggested, a few biscuits would be nice - these are usually 'as standard' in a hotel room of this quality.
Will be our first option when visiting Manchester again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We knew the area from previous visits but hadn't tried the Arora before so when we got a special deal for 4 nights we thought why not? What a find! Our bags were taken to our room as we checked in,which was quick and efficient.Our room was on a high floor and at the back as requested.We will be using this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LalaP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

One word, excellent. Arrived at half 1 for a check in at 2pm and were allowed to enter the suite rightaway. As we were part of the Romance Package, we were entitled to an upgrade, subject to availability, so were instantly told we were heading off to the premier king suite. Within seconds of arriving, there was a knock at the door and we were provided with champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. Perfection. Bathroom included a bath and luxury bath oils and fluffy towels, robes and slippers. A cool feature of the bathroom was that there were speakers in the ceiling which were connected to the TV so you could listen to the tv/radio whilst you were in the bathroom. However the staff were lovely and as we were the only one's there we felt very comfortable. The bed was kingsized and very comfortable and even though the road outside was fairly busy, there were two windows between the outside and the inside, keeping the noise out. Breakfast was included in the package and there was an option of having it in bed or down in the restaurant. We opted for the restaurant and the staff were more than attentive to our needs and the service was impeccably fast. Included in the package was late check out so we were able to mooch around Manchester before checking out. Overall this was a super weekend away and, as we went sunday - monday it was relatively good value for money. So for any chaps out there wanting to treat their ladies to a night of passion then this is the one to go for, worked for my boyfriend anyway!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HellyBelly_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stopped for two nights,the second night being Valentines night.(Ahh).The reception staff were efficient,polite,great at their job.The doorman was very helpful.The room was functional,neat & tidy.Tea & coffee,although afew biscuits wouldn't have been amiss.There was a fridge,where we kept our Champagne & a safe.Big t.v with an additional speaker in the w.c.A good selection at breakfast,with helpful staff.The bar staff were knowledgeable & helpful.We didn't use any other of the hotel facilities.Little niggles were that we couldn't get much temperature range from the heater/air con unit.The shower went hot & cold & the lack of biscuits.We would use this hotel again & reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-Kev9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner, on a weekend break to Manchester. The central location is really fantastic, and the desk was friendly when checking in. The room was a pretty standard affair as far as hotels go, nothing really special. Reminded me of Premier Inn. I liked that there was a TV speaker in the bathroom, to let you listen to the TV while bathing. Complimentary minifridge was a nice touch too. The window opened fully, which is pretty rare to find in hotels nowadays, and there was an integrated aircon!

The only downside was the bed. There were only two thin pillows on the bed waiting for us, and they weren't that comfortable. I went to the desk and asked for two extra ones, which they fetched in a few minutes! The extra pillows were much more comfortable than the ones already on the bed, so points for that! But it'd be nice to have the extra pillows already in the room.

I probably wouldn't pay full price for this hotel (I had it cheaply through laterooms.com), but would stay again. At £100 for a standard double, it was a little on the pricey side; but the central location probably makes up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Vert Nice hotel and the location was perfect! The only thing that was negativ was that we got a handicap room. But it was still a Nice room. The staff was very helpful with everything. The location was perfect, just 5min walk to picadilly and it was right by china town!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,876 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 121 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess St. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess St. Hotel

Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess St. Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess St. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing