We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arora Hotel Manchester
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Stayed for 1 night on Sunday 1 November 2009. The trip was a weekend getaway and we had stayed at the ABode Manchester on Saturday night. Both hotels had good reviews and the ABode was cheaper on Saturday night while the Arora had a better rate for Sunday night ; that's why we spent 1 night in each!

Reserved the Arora room on their web site 2 months before, paying 64 GBP (without breakfast)

The room was nice, bed was good, but the mini-fridge was not functioning. The bathroom was OK, clean but with an old shower mat and tiny washbasin. Have a look at the 3 uploaded photos.

We preferred the ABode because of its nicer bathroom, better location and more stylish design.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    834
    266
    71
    43
See reviews for
290
1,008
118
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

WE travellled to go to the MEN which is only a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and could not do enough. Having booked it over the internet I contacted the hotel to clarify the location before booking and the response I got was amazing. Even on the phone, they could not do enough. This very much set the scene for the visit. The double double room was large, clean and contempory in design. Breakfast was very good and I would thouroughly recommend it for anyone staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTubbyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tees valley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

As with most hotels there was good and bad about the Arora. First the good - the bed was great, nice and big and comfy. The room itself was ok, a decent size, with everything we could need, along with a modern looking bathroom.
The hotel is also handily placed with Chinatown, the shops, city centre pubs/bars, etc, all within a short walking distance.
Now the bad - the room took ages to warm up even with the hot air blowers on full. Admittedly it was one of the coldest nights of the year outside, but it wasnt the warm, cosy room we had hoped for. The shower also had an alarming habit of switching from cold to very hot and not just for a few seconds either.
The staff on reception weren't particularly friendly and the guy looked down his nose at me when my card inexplicably failed when paying the bill. Luckily my girlfriend stepped in with her plastic! The card was working when I tried it the next day for some reason, so i can assure them I had the cash to pay!
More generally, why don't more hotels have 11am check-out times? 10am is too early especially on a Sunday morning!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Every year my husband and I go on a shopping trip to Manchester without kids and stay over, this year we tried arora as it was recommended to us. It was very average looked like more classy travellodge inside . The staff were very pleasant but we got our breakfast refunded because nothing was out at the same time so by the time we managed to get our food it had all gone cold very bad service in breakfast restaurant. All in all we wouldnt stay again as we have stayed at some much plusher hotels for the same money, the only real pro was the location which was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Stayed here for one night recently. First time in this hotel and very impressed.

Managed to get a great deal for a Sunday night stay £56 room only and a room upgrade to the 6th floor. Hotel is centrally located on Princess Street, very close to Christmas markets. Beds are supremely comfortable and fitted out with quality furniture. Spacious enough bathroom (over bath shower) with range of Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Reception polite and efficient. Didn't sample breakfast the following morning so can't comment on this.

Overall would have no hesitation in staying here again. No issues with aircon suffered with other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Stayed here twice now, the beds are amazingly comfortable and the staff are friendly.

Breakfast was great and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. They don't rip you off like some other Mcr hotels and have pitched themselves just right. Room service is also reasonably priced.

Cannot fault it at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippaxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night, it was OK, but not great.

Pros:
*excellent city centre location at the top of Princess Street, just behind the Town Hall (which is looking lovely with the Christmas lights and market)
* good comfortable bed
* windows that open
* reasonable bar and room services prices, particularly considering the central location

Not so good:
* Wifi is too expensive
* room was oddly arranged - not enough surfaces, particularly in the shower-room, and the TV was at an awkward angle from the bed
* but worst of all was really, really loud aircon noise (even when the aircon was turned off). Reading other reviews, I think this is a bit of pot luck about which room you get. I was on the top floor at the front of the hotel, with aircon outlets just outside, and it was annoying.

Would I stay here again? It was far from terrible, so it wouldn't be the end of the world, but I think I'll give somewhere else a try next time I'm in Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Property: Arora Hotel Manchester
Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing