We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arora Hotel Manchester
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location and great value!”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel was such good value, it was only £77 between two of us for a saturday night, the room was large and modern. The hotel is within walking distance of the main shops, and only a short taxi drive to the Northern quarter or Printworks if you're after the nightlife!
It also has a lovely cocktail bar attached to the hotel, a bit expensive but nice for starting the night! I will be using this hotel for my next trip to manchester!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    817
    263
    70
    42
See reviews for
278
990
112
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Many rooms have poor, erratic or non-existant mobile phone reception so we missed several important calls and texts. Broadband is fixed and relatively slow, occasionally unreliable and you have to reboot - not good for large downloads/videos etc as we were using. So if on business go somewhere the technology works and which has wifi. At £10/day broadband here is not good value.
Service variable, food orders frequently wrong and slow, particularly poor when trying to have a quick breakfast. Some delightful reception staff, some ditzy ones making mistake after mistake so again not what you need on business.
Some of our rooms were disturbed by outside noise so sleep affected

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scorecounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonDavisGM, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am writing as the General Manager of the Arora Manchester to sincerely apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay. There is no doubt that we fell below your expectations and I hope that I can answer some of your queries here.

Our broadband service in the room is as you correctly mentioned a fixed connection. Wifi is available in all our public areas and is accessible free of charge to guests who had previously connected to the network through their in room portal.

I am disappointed to learn that managing downloads was relatively slow and unreliable as our connection is monitored regularly on a remote basis by our service provider. The speeds provided should by all accounts allow for an event free download and video usage. Following your comments we have commissioned a full diagnostic test on all room ports and connection speeds and I am confident that this will allow us to address any inconsistencies that are highlighted.

The loss of mobile phone signal was something we were not aware of and appreciate your comments highlighting the erratic nature of signal you experienced. As with the broadband service we will shortly be investigating where the signal strengths are weakest and exploring possibilities of further boosting the mobile cloud in these areas.

I was also concerned to learn of the variability of staff service experienced. I have discussed your comments with the respective teams who too wish to be associated with my apologies for what would have been genuinely isolated incidents. We very much pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service and as you will be aware from Trip Advisor we in general offer an excellent experience.

Finally I would like to thank you again for your comments. Feedback is invaluable and something that we gain in many forms. I hope that I have managed to answer your areas of concern satisfactorily and if I can persuade you to return to the hotel please do contact me directly at simondavis@arorainternational.com and I will be delighted to assist.

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We visited the Arora Hotel in Manchster when I took my partner to the Old Trafford Stadium Tour this summer.

On arrival we got our room keys as soon as we checked in - even though it was before midday. We asked for some directions and the reception staff was very friendly and they made us feel very comfortable at their hotel.

we had a nice room which was clean and cosy, we had a wonderful sleep - the bed was a bit too comfy (didnt want to get up in the morning!

On check out we left out bags with the receptionist. When we returned from our Stadium Tour in the afternoon the receptionist could remember that we went to Old Trafford and asked if we enjoyed it. I thought I was very kind of her and showed that she is listening to guests and remembers probably most of the guests which is a good thing to have when you work with costumers. Unfortunately I can't remember her name.

I will book this hotel again when staying in Manchester next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Had a great stay in the arora, large bedroom and bathroom, spottlessly clean. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Manchester and easy transport links for sporting events.
The young staff team were very friendly and efficient without being intrusive and the breakfast was superb.
Booked a one night stay for a great price through RBS Royalties Travel Service who are also very efficient.
Fantastic value for the price we paid.
The only negative was that like every hotel i've ever stayed in, the room temp was far too warm.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I stayed at the Arora with my sister over the weekend and had a lovely stay could not fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I loved this Hotel. Staff competent and friendly. Food excellent. Cocktails sublime (try the Emperor's Geisha). Rooms - a comforting palette of light colours - see my photographs. I liked the way the white painted steel beams were allowed to project through the ceiling. The building is not afraid to show its structure nor is it ashamed of its workaday origins. Liked the furniture and its Japonais feel. If Hokusai had designed furniture it would have looked like this.
Try the Obsidian Restaurant. Worth visiting for the decor alone. The food is magnificent.
Simply magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novocastrian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

First time staying at this hotel. Really pleasant check-in experience, professional, courteous and explained everything. Room was very comfortable, clean and the beds were excellent.

Great business rate with good variety of restaurants nearby.
Checkout person was a credit to the hotel (30 sep 08:00)

Only niggles - breakfast was not hot enough and the fire-alarm (false alarm) going off at 02:10 ruined a badly needed nights sleep

Overall verdict - brilliant business hotel and cannot wait to bring my family

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTrip_fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Property: Arora Hotel Manchester
Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing