We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but could have been better”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had booked a four night stay during the Boxing Day sale and, on the advice of the web site, had made four individual reservations to get the sale price for each night. On arrival we were checked in and the staff member assured me that we were down for a four night stay. When we returned to the hotel during the afternoon of the second day we found that our room key was no longer working. We went down to reception and a new key was cut for us.

When we returned to the room in the afternoon of the third day we found that our room key was again no longer working. Again we returned to reception where the staff member confirmed with us that we had made multiple reservations said that he would check us out and check us in again and once again cut us a new key.

During the fourth day I ensured that the room key was not near anything in my pocket that would corrupt just in case it was our fault but, once again, when my fiancée returned to the hotel she found that the key did not work. Having returned to reception to have a fourth key cut she received only a one word apology and the staff member did not seem to have any understanding of the inconvenience caused.

The only other minor points we found - as mentioned in previous reviews - are that the toilet door does not even close on a latch, let alone have a lock and there is no way of getting fresh air into a hot stuffy room.

Having said all that, the location of the hotel is excellent being right in front of the wheel, a 10 minute walk from the station and 5 minutes from the Arndale Centre and Printworks. We would definitely stay again if we were in Manchester.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wickesy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    380
    130
    48
    41
See reviews for
197
422
104
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I just come back from having amazing 2 days in Manchester with a friend, the room was amazing, nothing wrong, we had problems with the key but they were helpful and the problem was dealt with very quickly, the lady who help us (9.5.14) was very kind and knew how to make us laugh.. We had excellent customer service from them. Must stay there and I know well be back :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stacey Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for four days whilst working in manchester. When I arrived to check in the guy on the desk seemed most put out that I had dragged him from his conversation with another member of staff. I explained I had paid extra for breakfast and dinner and asked for details, he couldn't really give any. Room was clean, breakfast was appalling! Dinner was worse there was a female member of staff whom was trying to do everything (she did manage to find someone to help her eventually and proceeded to have a full on argument in front of the dinners) over cooked chicken burger served with cold fries and sour coleslaw. A new hotel with a company of which has a good reputation left me very disappointed!! (It wasn't cheap)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangar
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is my second travelodge stay, being in Bethnal Greene Travelodge last month.
Just like my review on the last travelodge, i think this local hotel is heading towards the right direction.
The check in and out was a breeze, room though basic, was clean and quite spacious.
Location, being immediately in front of Piccadily Garden and walking distance from Manchester Piccadily Station is perfect.
The new discovery is the internet connection in travelodge.
I noticed that it was handled by Arqiva and requires only your email and password to register.
I transfer from Travelodge Piccadily Manchester and checked in into another travelodge in London an noticed that i can still use the wifi plan in another travelodge.
Thats mean, if you're staying in multiple travelodges within a week, rather than buying daily plan, might as well go for a cheaper weekly plan.
I think this is a marvelous facility provided by Travelodge (Arqiva).
- its a good selling point for them to ensure although their customer moves from 1 city to another,they can still stay at travelodges. Excellent idea..!!
..
Oh...the bed and pillows....PERFECT..!!...So comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stay there for 2 nights. New hotel with I think 3 months old! The room condition was superb, large enough for us to put our luggages. Electric kettle, coffee, cup, spoons are ready. Bathroom are clean, everything in perfect condition. We were staying at first floor, same floor with reception & cafe and the free Wifi connection can reach us, cool! Location is good, around 15 mins walk from the Piccadilly train station, tram stations are just few steps away. Not to mention many shops around, everything you need, like Primark, Arndale, etc. Definitely will recommend friend to stay there.

Room Tip: Room at the same floor with Cafe/reception for free Wifi access :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room was ok, came to have shower and no hot water. Had to argue with staff for a room change, which we eventually got. Not enough storage space in room , no shower cubicle shelf for soap etc so kept on soaking bathroom floor reaching out for shampoo etc. No phones in rooms so have to trek up and down to second floor reception. Staff are so un proffessional , when checking out there was no reception staff to be found so was checked out by either a cook or a cleaner.Also they have security staff on front door on a weekend, so if you go outside for anything they will not let you in without them checking your room no and name against their lists which can be annoying when there is a dozen people in front of you who have just been out for a smoke. On first night got back to hotel room about 130 been in 5 min and a knock on the door ,it was the night porter i think asking us to keep the noise down from the tv , i could not believe it ,he must have been listening at the door because it was only on low. for gods sake were both 60 ,not as if we were partying

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend and was a bit apprehensive due to the hen and stag parties. My concerns were totally unfounded, we were not disturbed once.Even though we were on the 1st floor, the triple glazing took care of any outside noise and we slept really well. The bed was large and very comfortable.The staff were really friendly, especially in the bar, which was open until 5 a.m.! Would not hesitate to stay here again, unbeatable location and price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#37 of 116 in Manchester
1,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: 31 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing