We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Travelodge at last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #25 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having stayed at a few of these hotels, I wasn't looking foward to yet another, as others have been grubby, scruffy, hot and insecure.

But

This one has to be the best so far. It's a great location, right in the centre of the city, with all the reception etc on 1st floor (thank goodness for a lift!), just 5 - 10 mins walk from Piccadilly station and right on Piccadilly Gardens, with all the shops and restaurants. Check in was easy, quick and surprisingly friendly. I asked for a quiet room and got one on the top/5th floor. OK, so there was no view - just a central courtyard - but who wants a pretty view if you choose to stay in the city centre?! I was pleased that the window did actually open a bit to cool the room down - it was a hot few days. The room was clean, presentable and good, as was the bathroom. My only critisism was that black out curtains would have been appreciated please.

Breakfast was as advertised and just fine. Nothing fancy or special but you get what you pay for. I imagine you could go out for breakfast or find something in a local mini-supermarket if wanted.

Check out - again, quick, easy and friendly - quite a surprise for Travelodge!

Perhaps it was good because it's brand new, with great beds (at last) but I hope this higher standard is where all these chain of hotels is headed. So many of them are desparately in need of complete refurb and deep clean. Please don't let this one go that way!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably quieter but the view of the Big Wheel might have been an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernstarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, got checked in very quickly. Nice room, clean and tidy. Very comfy bed, much better than travelodge beds used to be. Great location and a bargain price for a Friday night in Manchester. Only gripe was that the room was very warm. No air con or windows that open. Apart from that it was spot on.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Johnatdriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

One of the best Travelodge's that I have ever stayed in. New, fresh and clean hotel. Large room, very comfortable beds and serviced every day. Great value for money. Central location close to shops, pubs and dinning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael-4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at other travelodges and getting this at a good price - I was sceptical - but I had no need to be! Everything was great! The staff, location and rooms! Even being close to the centre was not noisy at all - will definitely stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This Travelodge is new so is very smart and clean, very nice room. Sadly the staff are unhelpful and poorly trained. Looked like the youngest runs around doing everything and the manager hides in the office. Cosy room but come morning no hot water. Loads of complaints about the water, told to run it for ten minutes. That is just not normal. Breakfast was poor, cold and had run out of bacon and fruit. Excellent location, but needs to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is opposite Piccadilly Gardens in the heart of Manchester. Very convenient, very comfortable, very pleasant AND very inexpensive! I only dealt with two members of staff during my stay but both of them were very courteous and professional. One problem occurred, electrics tripped but was dealt with within minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here with friends as attending concert at the arena. Very good value at just £30 for the night. The hotel is very clean as just recently opened and has a modern feel inside. Room itself was a good size with a double and a single camper bed. We were unable to shut the bathroom door which was a little awkward. Although this was reported to the hotel staff, no one came to fix it whilst we were out despite this being promised when we alerted staff. Courtney on the reception desk was really helpful and welcoming during check in, and was also very apologetic for this during check out, although this wasn't her fault. Other than that, could not fault the room at all. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wh_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#35 of 120 in Manchester
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
#64 of 120 in Manchester
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: 31 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £52 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing