We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but sorry to say we stayed in better for the same rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. We received a complimentary upgrade (to Room 20), which was nice.
Room 20 (along with many others we gathered) had a quirky mezzanine floor which made the sleeping area a little claustraphobic. Also, only a double bed, we would have expected a king size. The air conditioning not working either - so we told reception. On our return from a meal out, a letter had been pushed under the door saying the unit needed a new part and if we needed help opening the windows (one small 1 ftx1ft) or operating the fan, they would help. Having read similar reviews, I think the air conditioning was already broken before we arrived, but I hope I am just being cynical. The room was very warm and the window offered little relief, so not the most comfortable of nights.
We could here every word and the TV from our neighbours...shan't go into detail! So much so, I had to wear ear plugs! But I am a light sleeper, but the walls seemed very thin.
The roof top bar was also closed because of a private party - which was a real shame and spoilt the visit a bit (we had been looking forward to enjoying the views).
The room bar was extortionate in price. Half a bottle of medicore wine over £11 and bottled water £5.50 a bottle.
Breakfast was also on the pricey side £16.95 for a full english breakfast. We felt this was a bit on the steep side, with continental breakfast nearly £15.
Service was very good, all staff were very welcoming. The food we did have was nice.
Overall, a nice enough hotel in a quiet location, but we have stayed in better quality for less. We left feeling a bit let down, and a felt the whole place was a little claustraphobic (clearly they cannot change the size of the building!), but it felt cramped.
We had high hopes for this hotel, but we felt it lacked the finesse we had anticpated. However, if you are looking for quirky with attentive, then this is your place, but we think with a few changes it could be so much better for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jocham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

A lovely boutique hotel over looking the coronation set, you can see Devs off licence from the roof top, where you can use the hot tub or just sit and have a drink. It is an old school and they have retained lots of origional features and there are pictures of the children back in the 1930's.

Room Tip: we had room 39 which was nice with an upstairs bathroom with claw foot bath and temple spa products
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Surprised by its position of hotels in manchester and can only assume it is due to numbers as opposed to facts as this is a small hotel. this is the best in manchester in my view and i have stayed at a lot here in my home town!!

Lets have it right, This hotel should be 5* for the quality of the rooms, service etc and i am sure it would be 5* if it had the room/ facilities of a larger hotel has such as a large hotel like a big gym and a swimming pool, but this is an old school building and only has the room that the victorians gave it!!.. But this is what is so great about it! the celings are very high indeed and as a result they have been able to build very roomy 2 tear bedrooms.

All top quality furnishings and pure quality!!

Top quality room, quality hotel, quiet part of town..(but still in the centre)

If you take your other half there as a surprise, he/she will be very impressed indeed and i would definately reccommend it!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howardmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I knew my partner had booked a nights stay in a Manchester hotel but he had kept it a surprise. When I opened the door to our room, I was shocked at how beautiful it was. The room was amazing and had a small stairway leading to the bathtub and separate shower/ toilet. Our one night stay there was so peaceful and by far the most romantic nights stay we've ever had. We will be going back and I would and have recommended this hotel to my friends. We did get peckish at about 11pm night so we ordered some sandwiches- they were delicious but overly priced, though our waiter did knock off the second tray charge when we ordered more. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. The only problem we had was the parking so I would advise you to not park in front of the hotel but in a nearby Car park. We loved the hotel and can't wait to visit there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyliving27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stunning hotel. The beautiful twin claw baths on the Mezanine
floor was nice, and the home made chocs mmmm.... We had heard that the hotel looked over the set of Coronation St set and this was a bit of an overstatement but we did not care. Really enjoyed our night there and will def be back. I thought the £25 for parking could be justfied but the extra £10 for wi-fi was over the top considering the cost for the room was already £260. Still I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded which they advised us of via email the day prior to our arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I booked myself and my partner in this hotel for his 21st Birthday, it was amazing! The room was gorgeous and the bed was heaven! The room was split into 2 levels with twin baths next to each other, seperate shower cubicle and the room looked over onto coronation street. The bar area was suberb and had such a great and cosy atmosphere. Perfect location- not far from the centre but yet you would never know as it is still tucked away. The roof terrace is the place to be on a summer's evening, we were the only one's up there and it was so lovely! This place made my partner's 21st perfect! Once we had checked out he was already planning when we were going to come back!! Which we will be without a doubt! Thank you so much Tiffany for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Unique position (opposite Granada Studios so expect to see Autograph hunters). Rooms are beautifully presented in a 'shabby chic' style, more emphasis on chic than shabby. A few tweaks could take it from good to great. Will come back. Sister hotel in Didsbury was also lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T444NJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £117 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing