We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent 1 night stay for wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Recent 1 night stay for wedding”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for wedding. Initially all looked well the hotel seemed classy but by the end of our stay we walked away experiencing that it was anything but. Mostly due to the slow service and level of rudeness from staff that neither my wife or myself have experienced in any hotel. The bar service in particular was very slow, another point to note is that no draught is served only bottles. Several time throughout the night I was served over priced warm bottles of beer. I did bring this to staffs attention but got nowhere. The food was nice but again service let this down. One person at our table sent back food as it was cold mine I have to say was not which was a surprise given the time it took to get to our table. We payed extra to upgrade to a bigger room which looked stunning but to our disgust we found the walls were wafer thin and we heard every word and more of the couple in the room next to us. The light in our bathroom was not working we asked twice for this to be fixed but when we returned back to our room at night it was still not working. Checking out the following morning was simply a disaster. There was only one person on reception and we were over an hour checking out. of the small and cramped reception area. Maybe we were unlucky but speaking with other couples at the wedding Im not sure we were.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Deebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    185
    61
    44
    37
See reviews for
184
615
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed here for one night for my friends wedding, it is an amazing little hotel, staff were ever so friendly and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. The room i stayed in was excellent (21 i think) and it had everything in there that you could wish for, walk in shower, lovely bath, plenty of room and luxury furniture.

Not much more to say really apart from i would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryntphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The most beautiful venue-the hotel's photographs are accurate! Stylish,sumptuous decor throughout,beautiful rooms,and staff who made the day go without a hitch. I cannot thank everyone involved enough! We had a wonderful, unforgettable and magical day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniaf694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great John Street, Manchester - We chose this hotel because of it's ideal location and it's close proximity to The Lowry (a short taxi ride away) where we went to the Opera. Everything was just perfect; the hotel has an amazing relaxed feel, beautiful Karma and we loved the interior design. The staff were super friendly and helpful, gorgeous bedrooms - we can't wait to go back again. Next time we're booking the bedroom that has 2 baths - we were lucky enough to be given a tour of the room, it really is amazing!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the GJS for a romantic weekend and we were not disappointed.The hotel, although it is still in the city centre is tucked away in a nice quiet area of town but within easy walking distance of all the city centre attractions.
The rooms are lovely, in a very individual 'cosy' style feeling like a home from home.The bedroom is a raised mezzanine and the bathrooms are very nice, stylish and modern.The hotel is an old school and has been refurbished in a very sympathetic way to the building and felt luxurious throughout although the lift was out of order on the day we stayed. The staff were really nice and helpful and we ordered breakfast in our room which although wasnt cheap was well worth the cost, it was delivered on time and was really very nice ( would recommend the runny eggs - mmmm!!) all in all a lovely place to stay and we will definitely be back.We didnt get chance to have a drink at the bar but it was stylish and seemed to be very popular, you might also catch a glimpse of a star of Coronation Street too as the hotel is just across the road from the studio.
A couple of very small criticism's firstly thelack of mirrors - there needs to be a small make-up mirror in the bathroom and a full length mirror would be helpful and secondly the fan in the room didnt work so we had to put on the AC as the room was quite hot but did not spoil our stay at all.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here as an anniversary treat - lifts not working so got quite used to the stairs - but lovely hotel. Great room, it was on two levels so very interesting - loved our lounge area with the televsion and the upstairs bedroom with another telly! All very well equipped and very clean. Great location - quiet but walkable to shops and other attractions. My only complaint was with the room service breakfast - I ordered off the menu - and it was such a disappointment when it arrived and was £35. I immediately complained that the hotel couldn't possibly charge us that much for so little and the receptionist took the breakfast off the bill with no argument. Such a generous token. Would recommend to anyone and love to return at some point - loved the rooftop terrace and private dining room - would book that for my next birthday party - if I didn't live so far away!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have stayed here a few times , lovey place to stay cosy atmosphere friendly staff, chef very helpful and happy to cook things off the menu, expensive place but worth the cost very relaxing place, is always a treat to stay ,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAL321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing