We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Iom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was different and more cosy than big hotels. Comfy beds and separate living rooms. Within walking distance of shops and bars. Rooms were a bit stuffy and hot. Staff very helpful. Only downside breakfast expensive, mini bar and drinks expensive. Not very good view from room overlooking scaffolding and apartments, very close you could see inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    178
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
174
598
25
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I'm not a big hotel person so the GJS is the best. Every room has a clawed bath tub and all the electronic goodies to make a stay great. The breakfast is wonderful and the service great. It can be a bit noisy at times but nothing terrible. The rooftop hot tub is always great as are martinis in the lobby. This is always a better deal that the miserably big and monolithic Lowry...and it's essentially within a 10 minute walk of cafes, restaurants and some very nice bars...can't say another hotel in Manchester compares.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great clawed bath tub...go for an upgrade - just a bit more space - but all are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteburgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Fantastic little hotel, good location, rooms fab! Nothing like I have stayed in before... Will stay here again! Only negative thing is the sound proofing you hear a lot of noise from the rooms around!
Bed very comfy! Separate sitting area made if feel like you were at home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aold04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Love this small hotel. The interior is so nice and makes you feel at home. Great breakfast and fantastic bar. Needs a little improvement on internet connection but the general experience makes up for that!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We recently had afternoon tea at GJS to celebrate my parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary and it was delightful. The sandwiches were delicious, the tea/coffee never-ending and the cakes to die for - all topped of with a glass of bubbly. The staff made us feel so welcome and were very attentive - my 12 year old son was supplied constantly with lemonade instead of the bubbles. We relaxed for a good couple of hours and when we asked for a brochure, we were given a tour of the hotel instead - by a very informative and amusing member of staff. If you are looking for somewhere to escape from the city centre hustle and bustle and relax whilst your every need is taken care of for a couple of hours, then look no further.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarsKrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I recently took my parents for afternoon tea at GJS Hotel and it was fabulous!!! After mulling over all the other hotels in Manchester offering this service I was very pleased with my final choice. The service was fantastic, the hotel beautiful and the cakes and sandwiches were to die for. A fabulous couple of hours spent in a beautiful ambient setting. Will definitely be going back and would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Can't recommend the Great John Street hotel enough!

We held an afternoon get together to celebrate my Husband's 40th birthday. Ruth and the team went a out of their way to make it special and run like clockwork. We used the library which was beautifully lit with candles and the terrace outside was heated and had candles too.

The canapés were fabulous and service prompt and efficient but without being intrusive.

An easy stress free afternoon.

Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing