We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a wedding! Manchester's best hotel by miles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We got married at GJS mid-September and would recommend GJS to anyone looking to get married in Manchester.

Having stayed in some of the best hotels the world has to offer we’re not easy to please but GJS and its staff surpassed our expectations.

The hotel is beautiful and everything that a ‘boutique’ hotel should be. We stayed for two nights in one of the Eclectic Grand suites and because the room was so big it was the ideal space for me and my bridesmaids to use to get ready. Breakfast was included in our package and was fantastic – we couldn’t fault it. I had a perfect night’s sleep on the eve of the wedding and I think the luscious blackout curtains played a huge part in that.

Our wedding coordinator Bronwen was always available and nothing was ever too much trouble. As we are based in London we weren’t always on hand to advise on matters in person but this was never an issue and we felt able to trust Bronwen to assist with our decisions.

On the day our event co-ordinator David made sure everything ran perfectly and things that before the wedding day I thought I was going to have to co-ordinate myself seemed to happen as if by magic. We had full use of the Playground and Rooftop terrace and somehow the staff managed to turn the room around from the ceremony, to the wedding breakfast and the evening do without anyone noticing it happening. Everything was laid out impeccably and professionally.
None of our guests had visited GJS before and many of them said that once they stepped through the front door they no-longer felt they were in Manchester; more like a New York loft space (despite the Manchester rain!).

The wedding breakfast was wonderful; we couldn’t fault the food or the service and all of our guests commented on the quality of the food. In the evening we opted for midnight munchies followed by Bailey’s and cookies and the service was wonderful – the staff were attentive without being overbearing our evening guests especially loved the chip cones!

The next morning all of our belongings, left over cake and lost cards were waiting for us – at some point between 2am and 8am the staff had collected together everything left over from our wedding (even including our table confetti!) and boxed it up ready for us to take home.

I would recommend GJS to anyone looking to hold an event or stay at a true 5* hotel in Manchester city centre. I can’t wait to return to GJS.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_KTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We had our wedding here on the 21st September and stayed over both Thursday and Friday night. The only slight downside is that it was a bit noisy at night - however there was an element of pre-wedding nerves which probably wasn't conducive to a great nights sleep! That said, the team were fantastic and, in the best way possible, we forgot they were there! The service from start to finish was great and the whole day went exactly how we wanted it to, a relaxed celebration. Our wedding was on the playground and the team were excellent at seamlessly turning the room around. The BBQ was fantastic and there seemed to be a endless supply of canapes and midnight munchies! Bronwen was so helpful during the planning process and Dave was fantastic on the day at calming any last minute nerves and making sure everything ran smoothly. We, and all of our guests had a fantastic day - great venue, great service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My daughter had her wedding here on Saturday 22nd and it was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.
Believe me we are a very fussy Mother and Daughter and everything was top class.
We had the Playground, it was perfect. The staff were so attentive, topping up our glasses with lots of champagne etc. The wedding breakfast was so yummy, the staff turned the room around from the initial ceremony, the wedding breakfast and the evening shin dig in the most amazing time, with the tables laid out impeccably.
We stayed on the Friday evening before and this bedroom and the one we were transferred to on the Saturday were excellent, no squeaky floorboards etc etc. The beds were sooooo comfortable, I nearly overslept on Sunday for my delicious breakfast.
All the staff were fantastic, with a special mention to Bronwen, Dave, Gary and all the staff who waited on the wedding tables.
My daughter was in tears because she didn't want it to end and wanted to do it all again on Sunday.
We would have no hesitation in repeating our experience at The Great John Street Hotel.
We are hoping to return for the 1st Anniversary of the wedding.
Thank you all at Great John Street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonesy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Squeaky flooboards, long hairs found on chair so room clearly hadn't been cleaned properly, no complimentary biscuits with teas/coffee and no breakfast included in price which is £16+.

Looks like this hotel like to take shortcuts, cut back which takes out the glamour it is meant to create and just ruins the stay.

Stayed in a lot of places in Manchester and even tho Man Utd used this place for their Christmas Party, sadly it's the last time I will ever visit it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tariq_Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsEclectic, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay. We have struggled to locate your reservatlion but would like to address the 4 issues that you have raised.

We apologise for any shortcomings with regard to finding some strands of hair on the chair. Our housekeeper has been made fully aware of your comments and retraining has already taken place.

Our hotel does not supply pre packed biscuits within our in room tea and coffee facilities nor do we have any plans at present to do so. A simple request for such could have been made to our reception team during your stay and we would have been more than happy to arrange a plate of home cooked biscuits for you in your room. Similarly you may have noticed we only use fresh milk located in the fridge for our tea and coffee facilities and not UHT milk that many establishments tend to use .


With regard to your view on breakfast being included within the rate. Like ourselves this option is very rarely offered within the 4 and 5 star hotels within Manchester or the budget hotels A perusal of Late Rooms on any night (except Sunday) will show you that it is not on general offer. Our web site rates are clear that our rate do not include breakfast and guests are made fully aware of such in the reservation confirmation letter which I am sure you were in receipt

Great John Street Hotel is a Grade II listed building and sits within a converted Victorian School House and constructed under the watchful eye of English Heritage. Unlike modern purpose build hotels Great John Street does have bags of character as well as the odd creek which you mention

I am disappointed that you have made the decision not to return to our hotel and once again please accept my apologies for our housekeeper over site during your stay.


Thank you for your feedback

Richard Kwiecien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We booked the hotel for a Company Summer Do on 7th September 2012. We've been here before as everything is always spot on. It's a very well presented Boutique Hotel and a little bit quirky.

We were not disappointed! Everything was fab, the food choice, staff, DJ etc. Everyone had such a brilliant time.

The bedrooms are lovely and the full English breakfast was totally delicious, even with a sore head!

Roll on the next one, thanks to Jenni for all your help and to Tiff as always..

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but go for a suite for something extra special if you have the cash, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

For anyone looking at venues for their wedding then look no further, the GJS hotel has everything you need for your big day. From the start of the process when we met the wedding co-ordinator Browen we knew we had made a great choice. She was very friendly, attentive and always happy to look in to any specific requests we had. During the 12 month run up to the wedding the hotel kept in regular contact with us and we had around three meetings during the year just keeping in touch in order to make sure all the plans were coming together correctly. Bronwen was always on hand to help and very easily contactable by phone or email which was great. All the planning resulted in a fantastic wedding day for us this September.

We had our ceremony on the top floor (terrace) and the room looked fantastic and very well set up. Following this we had our drinks reception on the terrace whilst the room was being prepared for the meal. This ran smoothly and the staff made the change over look effortless. The food was excellent, people commented that it was the nicest steak they had ever had and definitely the best wedding food they had eaten. The staff are very attentive and friendly without being too overbearing and were always on hand when needed. We really couldn't fault the meal at all or the service the hotel gave throughout the entire day. Everyone was polite and most importantly friendly which made all the difference for us and our guests.

It’s also worth pointing out that you have a manager on hand throughout the day who basically makes sure everything runs smoothly. We had a really nice guy called David overseeing the day and it was great to know there was a main point of contact who was there if you needed anything or just wanted to check everything was running to plan. To be honest he was always one step ahead of us and any questions we asked he had already taken care. He had a really calm manner which made the whole day feel relaxed and in turn made our guests feel the day was running to plan.

The hotel rooms are luxurious, the breakfast the next day was lovely and the after service was excellent too. For example the hotel are happy to store and look after items you want to leave and collect at a later date or to leave in order for another company to come and collect if you have hired something in particular.

I could keep writing all day about how good the GJS is but for us the best compliment we could give the hotel was that all of our guests said on the day and after the wedding that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. At first you think people are just being polite and would say that anyway, but the number of our guests that keep re-iterating how good it was has made us feel that they are being genuine and that people did have the most amazing day.

A huge thanks to Bronwen, David and the rest of the team at the GJS!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PS247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked this place for our enagement party and the service was amazing!

From start to finish everything was spot on. The rooftop terrace was such an exclusive venue and all of our guests commented how awesome it was.

We didnt have any food or stay in the hotel rooms so could not comment.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeNSazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,797 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £123 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing