We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous room in chic surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous room in chic surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a King mezzanine room.
The room was just stunning with a roll top bath in the room and a great 'wet room' bathroom.
We had drinks and nibbles in the bar which were pricey but pleasant and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    174
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
164
592
25
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We travel regularly to Manchester to visit family and friends and have therefore stayed and sampled the majority of hotels in central Manchester. There are undoubtedly some nice good quality hotels there and we’ve never had anything to complain about but after staying at Great John Street Hotel we won't be staying anywhere else in Manchester in the future!!!!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights at Eastser. THIS HOTEL IS OUTSTANDING AND IN A CLASS OF ITS OWN. We had the most awesome time. The rooms are to die for with stand free baths and over large beds with boutique style décor – they really are gorgeous!!! We were given handmade biscuits in our room which were delicious and our room had its own lounge area where we could relax and watch tv, read or listen to the radio.

The hotel bed was by far the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in!!!!

We had afternoon tea in the roof top lounge with friends and spread was exceptionally impressive, mini hot cross buns, macaroons, fairy cakes, scones - all home made and they tasted fantastic. The atmosphere in the roof top lounge was relaxing and comfortable and the waiting staff were extremely attentive - what a wonderful way to spend time chatting to friends!!

One of our friends in Manchester has just had a baby so we are due to go back up again in a few weeks……….I will write a further review after this stay as we did not get a chance to eat dinner in the restaurant or drink in the bar in the evening. Am also hoping to sit outside next time on the roof top and might even get a chance to try the hot tub! (weather permitting)

Can't wait for our next vist!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute as we were visiting Manchester. We don't live far away but we were off to Theatre (Rocky Horror) and decided to have a last minute night away. We were not disappointed!! This hotel was a fraction of the cost than usual and well worth the price. To be honest we wouldn't have paid the full amount as we couldn't justify spending the usual amount when we don't live far. However if travelling into Manchester for a special treat and you don't live here it is a true treat. The staff were helpful, friendly and informative. We stayed in room 27 and the room was of an excellent standard and on two levels. Large free standing bath, separate shower and great styling in bathroom, the style of the hotel was just our cup of tea. Modern boutique hotel with good standard, close to Opera House, Spinningfields, bars and restaurants. The hotel bar was relaxed, if a little expensive £12.00 for glass champagne, but worth the treat. The hotel had a nice relaxed quiet feel to it and it was great as not too loud, considering this is a city centre hotel. All in all would go again, wouldn't pay the usual price as we live too close but would recommend if you want to splash out!! by the way it has a roof top terrace and apparently a hot tub up there, unfortunately we didn't get chance to take a look.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I wanted to treat a very caring helpful friend to afternoon tea in Manchester and chose the Great John Street Hotel above the corporate Hotels - It really is a hidden gem - tucked away off Quay Street facing Granada Studios - being a Boutique Hotel it is cosy and intimate - the staff on arrival greetd us and took us to the Oyster Lounge and comy sofa seating. I had chosen one champagne afternoon tea and one afternoon - and the champagne was served quickly along with a huge pot of tea. Sandwiches were served similarly - egg mayonnaise, ham and mustard, beef and horseradish and smoked salmon and were very fresh - a cake stand had beautifully presented cakes - too many although we managed all - it was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours and was very relaxed with fresh tea provided on request. I will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzylinzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a fantastic overnight stay in the Great John Street hotel. All staff we encountered were excellent, very professional and welcoming. They had gone to the trouble of leaving a specially personalised dessert in our room to help us celebrate my husband's 40th birthday, a really nice and appreciated touch. We stayed in an Eclectic Grand room and were super impressed. Beautiful (and huge!) bed, lounge area, tall and beautifully dressed windows (with good black out curtains) and fresh milk for tea making facilities, much nicer than the UHT cartons. But the real star of the show was the bathroom. Set on its own mezzanine level it had side by side roll top baths, double sink and huge walk-in shower cubicle. Lovely toiletries and robes gave the room a little bit of a spa feel!
Just off the beaten track (but only just) which meant it was nice and quiet for a city centre hotel.
Would definitely recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday 30th March, after watching Michael Jackson circ de soleil.

we dropped out luggage off about 2pm and arrived back at the hotel about 5pm.

The room was gorgeous, we had already added the "gluttony" package which included breakfast, champagne and a spa set - the room had classic fm on as we arrived, i thought this was a lovely touch.

Only downside was no agreement with any local NCP parking, and valet parking was £25.00.
The hotel was always extremely hot. our air con didn't seam to work, so we had to use the fan during the night.

We cocktail cocktails in the bar upstairs which were out of this world.

Breakfast was gorgeous.

I cant wait to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were out to watch the Lion King (which was brill) and celebrate my fiances birthday, we were going to drive but decided to have a couple of drinks so booked spur of the moment, the hotel was recommended at the restaurant where we had our lunch and we booked on a special deal. We paid extra for parking, when we arrived our car was taken care of, the room was fabulous, there were home made cookies in the room and a special birthday plate of chocs for my fiance, the bed was very comfy, the staff and hotel were exceptional. Even tho we had a busy day out and didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, it was a wonderful experience and breakfast was fab, a nice choice of full / irish / pancakes / eggs benedict etc and the normal continental with fresh watermelon, berries etc,. We will definately be returning on our next visits to Manchester and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing